We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at Georgia Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Athens
NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience at Georgia Center”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed at the Georgia Center last week for Fall Graduation. The Georgia Center was incredibly convenient for fall graduation ( we just walked across the street to the stadium ) and the staff could not have been more attentive. The room we had was quite large with 2 double beds ( we did pass by other rooms which did look smaller ) and everything was very clean. We were assisted a number of times by the concierge desk ! We asked what the best way was to get to the bookstore and the friendly concierge said he would be glad to take us on their shuttle and pick us up when we were done! He could not have been nicer ( think his name was Eric? ) Price was great and more than fair for graduation weekend! ..

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor.. ask for one of the larger rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    84
    55
    12
    4
See reviews for
74
16
9
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The rooms are small and basic. Our door handle and card key entry was only intermittently functional. The staff came up and looked at it, but did eventually get it to work, so didn't offer us another room. It may be that all the rooms have similar problems.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindencraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I travel a considerable amount and was surprised to see how small the rooms were. The photo on the website indicated a nice sized, attractively appointed room. Well, that was not what I got in room 513 of this hotel. Paper thin walls, noise from the elevator all night (you can walk right out of the elevator into the room. I personally have never seen this in a hotel where the door was directly in front of the elevator), air conditioning which consistent rumbles, and water flow which is less than appropriate for brushing teeth. Oh and yeah, you can not adjust the temperature. The shower seems fine, but as you shower there amoements when the water stops and starts (sort of like someone flushing the toilet in the old movies). To top it off, all the towels and wash clothes were dingy with spotty stains on everything. Not waht I was expecting from the UGA Conference center. All-in-all a poor hotel. Oh and they charge you $10 a day for parking when the parking is free on the weekends. WOW! Staff was nice though.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tjrusure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experiences at our hotel. We constantly strive to provide outstanding accommodations and service for our guests and it is obvious that we did not meet this standard during your stay with us.

As a historic hotel located on the campus of the University of Georgia, we have a mixture of room types and sizes. Our classic rooms, constructed in the 1950’s, are designed to offer cozy, comfortable accommodations for one or two guests; our Select rooms and suites, added to our facility in the 1980’s, are very spacious offering accommodations for up 4 guests. All of our rooms have recently been renovated and have the amenities that you would expect to find in any national, upscale hotel.

Parking is provided to our guests by The University in the deck next to our hotel; The University does charge a fee for use of this deck. Although you do have the option of using The University’s restricted surface lots during evenings and weekends, free of charge.

As mentioned, your experience did not meet the expectation we have for our guests and we are grateful you brought these experiences to our attention. The issues you described are unacceptable and I apologize. I can assure you that this is not the norm and that we will correct these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Nice room. Very clean and comfy. Staff are very attentive. -- many of them are UGA students.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Every year or two I attend the Municipal Clerks Conference which is held at the Georgia Center.
Since the last time I went, rooms have been refurbished very comfortable and attractively. The additon of a microwave and mini-fridge is especially appreciated to add to the comfort of City employees travelling on a budget. Meeting rooms are pleasant and staff is very good indeed. In difficult economic times, getting good value for money spent on travel and training is a priority, and the Georgia Center comes through.

Room Tip: Singles actually have two full-size beds, and very comfortable. - do you really need a queen or kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.1 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel

Property: University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel
Address: 1197 S Lumpkin St, Athens, GA 30602 (Formerly UGA Hotel & Conference Center at The Georgia Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): RM438 - RM902
Hotel Class:3 star — University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beautiful, historic campus of the University of Georgia in Athens, the UGA Hotel and Conference Center includes a 200-room hotel, four onsite dining options, banquet areas, conference rooms, auditoriums, a fitness center, and a computer lab — all under one roof. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your University of Georgia Center for Continuing Education & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Hotel Athens
The Georgia Center - The University Of Georgia`s Conference Center And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing