We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but.....”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #150 of 434 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The staff was friendly but the food could improve. It's been years since we've eaten at a Sonny's but we had fond memories so we thought we'd try it again. I had the salad bar with smoked turkey. Hubby had the sampler. The cornbread is sweet. (Eww!)

Overall the food wasn't as good as we remembered. The staff is friendly but that doesn't make up for mediocrity of the food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your visit, Carla M. Can you email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with these details, location you visited, and your contact information so we can look into this for you and help?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We don't get out to Athens often. It was good to see a Sonny's there since we don't have one where we live we stopped. It was well worth it, the food was good and we had plenty to eat. Planning on coming back next time we are in Athens.

Thank JimPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

We're happy to hear it, JimPatrick! Thanks for stoppin' by and we can't wait to see you again next time you're in Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stopped by the drive thru to pickup a couple of pork BBQ sandwiches on our way home. I wasn't able to eat all of my sandwich because the pork tasted old. My husband ate his sandwich, but wasn't impressed with the pork or the garlic bread. We used to eat at Sonny's BBQ a good bit. We hadn't eaten at Sonny's in years and now we remember why. Too bad the quality isn't what it used to be.

There are several places to buy BBQ in Athens, GA. To be competitive Sonny's has to improve their quality!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thebirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

We’re very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. We’d like to try to make things better—please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, your contact information, and the location you were at. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to ensure that you have a better experience during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

I usually love a chance to stop by Sonny's BBQ. Our last trip was unpleasant. The restrooms had an unbearable sewer odor, which unfortunately drifted into the dining room, creating a miserable dining experience. We ordered sliced pork, which is usually nicely sliced meat. This time there was more fat and scraps than slices. The only plus was a friendly server, and the food getting to us quickly so we could get out of there fast. I don't know if they are having sewer issues or not, but there is no excuse for the dining area, of all places, to smell like that. At least put folks as far from the restrooms as possible.

Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, PizzaAndBeerLovr. We take these matters very seriously, and we're sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your visit. Please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, along with your contact information and the location you were at. We do appreciate your feedback, and we’d like to make sure your next visit is better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Had dinner with coworkers here. It was around 8 PM. There were a few things that was ordered that we were told that they were out of when the food came out. Server wasn't apologetic. No Mac and cheese for the ultimate sandwich so they sent it out without making it a regular sandwich

Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Sorry for any frustration you experienced, Brian. If you'd like to talk to us more about your visit, please email the details, location, and your contact information to Social@SonnysBBQ.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing