We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for their happy hour drinks and reasonably priced fresh fish dishes.”
Review of Down The Hatch

Down The Hatch
Ranked #80 of 1,020 Restaurants in Maui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Description: Now serving Breakfast, Lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner, & Late Night! Featuring locally sourced Fresh Fish, we pride ourselves on our Fish n' Chips, Mahi Mahi Tacos, and Ahi dishes. We add our flair of Southern Aloha with our Chicken & Waffles and Shrimp Po'Boy, yet have a variety of Hawaiian Island favorites like our Local Style Plates, Lobster & Crab Grilled Cheese, Calamari and more! Down the Hatch was established in 2015 by three childhood friends from Georgia. After years of living in Maui, and working in the service industry, Javier, Dave, & Julian decided to open a restaurant/bar catering to the community and guests of this beautiful island with their own unique style of Southern Aloha!
Restaurant details
Description: Now serving Breakfast, Lunch, Happy Hour, Dinner, & Late Night! Featuring locally sourced Fresh Fish, we pride ourselves on our Fish n' Chips, Mahi Mahi Tacos, and Ahi dishes. We add our flair of Southern Aloha with our Chicken & Waffles and Shrimp Po'Boy, yet have a variety of Hawaiian Island favorites like our Local Style Plates, Lobster & Crab Grilled Cheese, Calamari and more! Down the Hatch was established in 2015 by three childhood friends from Georgia. After years of living in Maui, and working in the service industry, Javier, Dave, & Julian decided to open a restaurant/bar catering to the community and guests of this beautiful island with their own unique style of Southern Aloha!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Second time to Lahaina, second time we've come to DTH for their happy hour and dinner. Drinks and food are ordered up front but find your self-seating first. Service was pretty quick, the drinks on HH tropical and tasty, and the fish dishes we ordered (ono tacos, grilled mahi-mahi) were well prepared and generous. Very casual atmosphere, a fun place to eat. Don't miss the nearby shave ice (owned by the same outfit) where the dessert is fluffy and the service great.

Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Jim T, thanks for the great shout out! We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed the place. Hopefully you guys will make it down a third time before you take off. We'd love to have you back. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We stumbled along this place after the place we had reservations seemed sketch. We had grilled tacos, Po’ Boy, Burger, and chicken strips. Everyone in the family liked their meal. Try the tacos they were my favorite.

Thank lovethebeach048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi lovethebeach048, thanks for taking the time to let us know what you thought of our little joint. We're happy that you didn't find us as sketchy as your previous option. We're totally not sketchy. Shady....maybe. But sketchy? No way Jose. Thanks for coming down and hopefully you and your family will come see us again before you take off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Finally got into this place early one afternoon when not so packed. Wanted to try thy lobster and crab grilled cheese Instead of scrimping they give you a lot of lobster and crab. Counter ordering was not an issue and they brought our food very quickly. Do yourself a favor when on Maui and stop in here in Lahaina. Promise we will be back

1  Thank grh812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi grh812, thanks for the awesome review! We really appreciate you coming down and taking the time to let us know what you thought. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We were looking for something different to enjoy in the rain and were not disappointed.
I had Aunties Omelet and it was awesome with my side of potatoes.
The POG Mimosas was great as well.
The outside atmosphere and staff were fun!

1  Thank Kam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Kam H, thanks for coming down! We're glad to hear you enjoyed it despite the rain. Sometimes it can be a little tricky since we don't have a roof. Thank you for bearing with us and hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We started walking down Front Street after going Whale Watching and stumbled down the stairs to find a counter busy with patrons and decided to try it. Pretty good service, lots of tables open for couples, families and groups and plenty of servers clearing tables and serving food. Food was very good (coconut shrimp for me and fish and chips for my hubby). Prices reasonable. Would recommend and return.

Thank LacyDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb H, General Manager at Down The Hatch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Aloha LacyDayton,

Thanks for the review! We are so glad you stumbled in to see us. Thanks again for the love.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Down The Hatch also viewed

 

Been to Down The Hatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing