We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bagels with Lox”
Review of Jakes Bagels

Jakes Bagels
Ranked #2 of 308 Restaurants in Aurora
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 August 2016

I've eaten here once for lunch and enjoyed the food. I had a traditional sesame bagel with lox, cream cheese, tomato, onions and capers. Bagels are very fresh - boiled then baked in the traditional way. The atmosphere is nothing special. Counter service only.

Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2016

The sesame bagel with lox, capers, tomato, onion and cream cheese is very popular - I am glad you enjoyed it. We steam bake the bagels every morning and throughout the day. Thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016

I got the pineapple cream cheese. It was wonderful. It had real big chunks of pineapple in it. It was definitely better than any store bought cream cheese. I got my cream cheese on the side because they usually give you a big helping.

I also got a turkey sandwich on a plain bagel. I read a review stating that the turkey was not that good. I beg to differ. It was pretty good. I liked it. The pickle was good too. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant. It opens really early, which gave me enough time to make it to work. I got there before 5:30 a.m. The service was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Casandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 August 2016

Casandra,
Thank you for the review. We use Coleman Roasted Turkey Breast - No Antibiotics, All Vegeterain Diet, No Animal By-Products and No Hormones or Steroids.
We love our customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Jake's Bagels makes their bagels fresh every day. They also make their flavored cream cheeses. We not only love them as a breakfast treat but, also for lunch! They have a special where you can get a bagel sandwich, homemade soup (that is delicious), and a drink. Don't forget to get a homemade gigantic cookie for dessert. I have never had something that I didn't like from Jake's Bagels!

Thank David Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 August 2016

David,
Thank you for that glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

just a few years ago Jakes used to sell the biggest bagels I'd ever seen.It was definitely a meal in itself. The last time we got them we were definitely disappointed! They had shrunk them to at least a 1/3 of the size. I had been bragging to my husband about the size of these things and when I finally got him to the placeI was shocked. They were still good but so small. They are bigger at the grocery stores. Granted they were still good they will never beat Big Apple bagels now. What a shame.

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 August 2016

Chris,
Thank you for the review.
Sorry to disappoint you with the size. We try to cut our bagels at .25 of a pound. We will keep an eye on the gauge. When you order let us know you want the biggest bagel in the basket, and maybe that will help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Doesn't matter what time I go in, I always get the lunch special! Soup and a bagel sandwich . Staff is awesome!

Thank 398vanessaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 August 2016

Our customers are awesome!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jakes Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing