We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Anebar(Fes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dar Attajalli(Fes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$72
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 05/08
US$96
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Barcelo Fes Medina(Fes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$75
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$36
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dar Iman(Fes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$188
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$132
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
487
59
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
59
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean claudesaffron suiterooftop terracethe ownerprepared deliciousfantastic holidaygreat tastespecial placewe've stayeda wonderful place to staynarrow streetstrain stationmade us feel at homeold citysimovanilleguide
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stepping inside Riad Laayoun after a long train ride and a short walk through the narrow walkways of the medina was not only a huge relief, but a genuine surprise. The physical space is quite spectacular, and great care has been taken in the very tasteful and high quality furnishings. We enjoyed very comfortable beds, a gorgeous terrace for delicious breakfasts and evening winding down and comfortable public spaces, with good WiFi connection. One has to be prepared to climb stairs, but that's part of its charm. But most of what makes this place special are owner Jean-Claude and his right-hand man, Simo. They couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful in recommending great restaurants (even walking us to one) and interesting sites to explore. This is a special place, for sure, and we will certainly recommend it to friends who visit Fez!

Room Tip: We liked the Saffron room, on the ground floor; our friends enjoyed the Cinnamon room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Ah, I will join in the majority here: this Riad is amazing! Moroccan beauty in the peaceful corner of Medina with a tremendous amount of real hospitality - Jean-Claude and Simo are truly happy to accommodate guests and make them feel like kings of their castle.

Now, some practicalities: owners will always arrange a pick up for you, and wait for you at R'cif. Then you will be taken through the local market and small smelly fish street, and after several winding curves you will be able to enter this beautifully styled Riad. Riad is very confusing, so if you dreamed about labyrinths - this is a perfect place. Small sharp stairs might be not to everybody's taste, but since Simo will take care about your luggage - the rest is up to you to enjoy.

Riad will greet guests with mint tea and cookies, offer maps and explanations to Medina, possibility to hire guide, plan your trips and order dinner within Riad. Dinner here is really nice, if you stay here, you should give a try. However, you should order it by noon as it is being prepared only upon request.

The breakfast is bit basic, but I did not hear anyone complaining, especially because you can easily buy anything you would like around the corner and use it as addition. The breakfast is served on roof terrace, and includes tea/coffee, fresh orange juice, bread and local pancakes, and a selection of marmalade+butter+olive oil+olives. And breakfast is served from 08:30. It is vacation time here!

The rooms itself are nicely decorated, cozy and comfortable. Each of them has air condition and separate bathroom. However, in some cases sleeping room and bathroom is connected via open corridor, where other guests can see you walking - be aware that complete privacy in this Riad is not possible. Not recommended for people that like running naked or so...

Also, the rooms (and bathrooms) have windows, opening inside, basically directly to other rooms. It means that from you bathroom you can usually observe your neighbours, resting in their rooms, and vice versa... Although not all rooms have such a layout! Ah, and there was no TV in Vanilla room, but I nearly forgot to mention it. Didn't miss TV there at all.

Well, if you are ready to come along with this setting (and it seems that most people are), you will be welcomed as part of the family, and immediately hugged by the unusual hospitality.

P.S. Wireless internet is available not only in the lobby, but also in the rooms that are directly above Jean-Claude office - all floors till the roof terrace.

P.S.S. I'll be back here!

Room Tip: All rooms above Jean-Claude office should be able to catch wireless internet connection.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icetealemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

What a wonderful place to stay in such a fascinating and vibrant city! Riad Laayoun is a beautifully restored house in the heart of the Fez walled city. I am sure there are a few others like it, but I doubt any of them achieve such a calm tranquility as this one.

We had such a lovely time, and so much of this was due to the kindness and friendliness of Jean-Claude and this delightful Riad. Having arranged a car for us from the airport, the lovely Si-Mo met us at the nearby Place R'Cif and took us into the maze of the medina and up to the Riad a couple of minutes away. We had a lovely evening meal in the Riad on the first night and then took a long walk into the heart of the Medina to explore this amazing city, before returning to sit out on the roof terrace under the moon and stars.

Behind a discreet old door to the Riad a short passage opens up into a delightful airy courtyard and a few tastefully furnished rooms which are wonderful to rest in during the day and night, and little balconies to sit down by and read. Once inside you don't need to worry about anything, the warmth of the welcome from Jean-Claude and Si-Mo making one feel secure and happy. Jean-Claude is Gallic charm personified; we returned home one afternoon to find him lying down reading to the sounds of Fauré. He is also discreet enough to allow plenty of privacy and the place can be wonderfully quiet and peaceful.

We were there for a (small) birthday and a beautiful cake greeted me on the first night, but an even greater present was to have this lovely place to return to each evening after the wonderful sensory overload that is Fez, to digest the many, many exciting memories and experiences of each day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clemente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Was travelling for work and pleasure to Fez, and found this Riad through trip advisor. This being my first trip to Morocco i didn't know what to expect and i was completely right. After the crazy train ride, we were coming from Casablanca and unfortunately caught the holiday season end rush so had to travel standing! from the station the taxi dropped us off at R'ciff, from there a chariot man took our luggage all through this mysterious maze in the medina. Finally we reached a dark alley to the Riad, the door opens and OMG you enter into this beautiful interior of the most intricate detail strewn all over the place and i realised i had made no mistakes! We were greeted by the lovely Jean and Simone with tea. They showed us the Riad, helped with the luggage, then explained how to walk around the Medina. Always there to help us out, i couldn't have completed my assignments in Fez without their help. Cosy comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast every morning, fantastic view from the rooftop. It's a wonderful place to stay and you will get attached to these people for life! they make Fez unforgettable

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyazAnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We moved to Riad Laayoun after staying in a larger, elaborately restored riad in another section of the medina. While the other place was spectacular, I prefered the smaller Riad Laayoun as it had a more homely atmosphere and our individual needs were graciously catered for. Jean-Claude and Simo are friendly and charming hosts When my son had a mild bout of gastro, the staff went out of their way to get him yoghurt and make louisa tea. In fact it was a delight to be "stranded" in such a beautiful, tranquil place while he recovered. Jean Claude's superb music selection permeated the riad and the sun warmed the central courtyard while I caught up on emails and laundry. Laayoun is well located ïn the medina near R Cif and, within a few twist and turns, you can experience the sensory overload of the stalls selling fish, olives, fruit, orange blossom, spices, offal, snails... just wonderful! Breakfast was served on the roof terrace and each morning Simo presented us with a different style of Moroccan "bread". We also ate dinner at the riad a couple of times and enjoyed the delicious soup, tagines, salads and desserts. One of my favourite memories of Fes is spending sunset on the roof terrace listening to the call to prayer as the little birds darted about in the evening air and the first stars became visible over this ancient city.

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing steep stairs, ask for a room on the ground level. The bathroom is located on a mezzanine level within the suite.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews