We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming riad”
Review of Riad Ahlam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This riad was arranged by our tour guide (Rough tours) and we were totally impressed by it! The location is fantastic! Just right on the edge of the medina, merely a 5 minute walk to the medina and restaurants. Rooms were well decorated, clean and hygienic with all the modern amenities. The view from the rooftop is spectacular! Service wise, we have no complaint at all! Hassan, Omar & Fatia make us feel so at home! Fatia (the chef) cooked up a lavish breakfast that never fail to impress us! Free wifi is available at the courtyard area (which is really beautiful!). If we are to visit Fes again, we will definitely stay at this charming riad! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesselyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this riad. One of the biggest and best breakfasts and evening meals we had during our 16 day stay in Morocco. Excellent location and easy to find...we arrived by car at night in the middle of a major rain storm with minimal problems. The location is minutes from the souk and has a convenient parking area just around the corner. As is the norm in Morocco the outside of the building masks the beauty inside and this riad is truly beautiful and the most spacious of all the riads we visited during our trip. However it is the people that make this riad special and it starts at the top with the manager Hassan. They are all sincere in wishing that this be a most pleasant stay for the visitor (a sentiment that we experienced often in Morocco but this riad took it to a new level). We were booked in a ground floor room but were immediately upgraded on arrival to an upper level superior room for no other reason that it was available. Over our mint tea, we enquired as to whether there would be a price difference but were politely told not to worry about it. The rooms were just what you'd want if you are looking for something different and special, spacious, clean and wonderfully decorated. At checkout Hassan accepted our credit card (although he prefers cash) but as always the customer came first and he met our needs! We did not find the medina over powering however would recommend that if you do not wish to visit the leather/carpet shops, etc then make it clear to your guide at the beginning.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bud-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Having only been in Morocco for a few days, this was our first of many stays at a Riad, and this one, by far, was the best. Historically, in an effort to hide the presence of wealth, Riads were built to be very nondescript from the outside, but passing through a series of doors leads you to a pristine and beautiful courtyard that is the centerpiece of a traditional home. For westerners, the closest equivalent would be a bed and breakfast, but that description doesn't quite do this justice...

Walking down a narrow passageway in the medina, between high earthen walls you arrive at a door. There are no other windows to the outside world, and no indications of what lies within. We are greeted at the door by our host, Kasim and led through the first door into a small greeting room. Passing through the second door and turning to the right, we are led into a beautiful, sunlit courtyard, elegantly tiled and lushly decorated, with a central fountain. As is common everywhere you go in Morocco, guests are greeted with (totally awesome) mint tea and some conversation.

Narrow, winding staircases take you up to the upper levels of the riad where the guest rooms are located. All of the rooms face into the courtyard and the only windows point inward Continued climbing takes you to the roof, where you are met with an excellent view of the city and a multitude of satellite dish antennas that are mainstays of rooftop views all across the country.

Within the walls, all is quiet and cool; a pleasant reprieve after the hustle and bustle of the medina. Our room ran the length of the courtyard (read as HUGE) with open air windows that faced the interior. The bed fits about 16-43 people (an estimate, we didn't really put it to the test) and the room has all the amenities one will need including cable TV, speedy wifi, A/C, hot water.... When you close the shutters on the windows, don't plan on seeing anything until you open them again. Without the lights, the room is pitch black and silent, perfect for sleeping. If you don't set an alarm, you might just sleep for several days, and within these walls, that is NOT a bad thing.

After a long day on the road, we opted to have dinner in the riad, as opposed to going out and it may have been one of our smartest decisions ever. The in-house chef, Fatia whipped up a lamb and prune tagine that I still find myself dreaming about weeks after being there, and I'm not a particularly huge fan of lamb. All meals are served in the courtyard, at quaint tables surrounding the fountain. Even with other guests eating close by, the fountain allows for private conversation without whispering. The staff provides excellent service with the kind of personalized attention that makes you feel more like a guest in someone's home.

If you are staying in Fes, Riad Ahlam is the perfect place. The staff are friendly and accommodating; excellent hosts, and the riad itself is exceptional beyond words. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HopGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a wonderful time at Riad Ahlam for the 2 nights we were in Fes. The friendliness, decor and food were all amazing. The location of the Riad is very convenient to the markets and walking distance to many of the sites. We had one of the larger rooms and enjoyed the room. The a/c was nice on a few of the hotter days. We had dinner at the riad one night, and it was one of the better dinners we had on the trip.
The manager treated us like family and went out of his way to make arrangements for us to do the things we wanted, hired a guide for us one afternoon, and made sure we were taken care of.
We would definitely recommend this riad, and also would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our heartfelt thanks to Kassem and the staff at the Riad Ahlam for making our visit to Fez so memorable and comfortable (and our apologies if we misspell anyone’s name). Our visit started with a late night (midnight) arrival on a flight from Northern Europe but we experienced no safety concerns. We had asked Kassem to arrange ground transportation from the airport, and when we arrived a Petit Taxi driver was waiting for us with a sign in hand. Once parked nearby, the taxi driver escorted us to the Riad door.
We were greeted by Omar the night time attendant, who dispensed of all registration formality, making our comfort the priority and escorting us immediately to our beautiful room for a great night’s sleep.
In the morning we met Kassem who greeted us warmly, efficiently completed our registration and assisted with our inquiries to commence our first day of sight seeing. It is sometimes difficult when you are on vacation to distinguish whether the people are friendly because they have to be, or because they genuinely are. It was not difficult at all here. We felt we were getting the real deal with Kassem and the entire staff.
JoeR674 commented on Fatiya's "infectious smile and contagious laughter" and he was not exaggerating a bit. We never once saw her without that smile, making sure we were enjoying ourselves, and every breakfast was a delicious feast. She also prepared a delicious lamb and prune tagine for us on our final evening, which was by far, the best meal we had in Morocco. Raja was equally cheery and worked hard keeping the riad and our room spotless so that we fully enjoyed its beauty and the wonderful reprieve provided from our busy days exploring Fez. I realize that in each case I have mentioned the smile. It is hard not to notice that each person seems to actually enjoy the fact that you are there at their Riad, and they want to make sure that your visit was everything that you hoped it would be. I think it is fair to say that they deliver on every aspect of service, comfort, location and value. In addition to the great service and value provided at Riad Ahlam Kassem arranged for a tour guide to show us around the Medina in particular, and Fez in general. We were guided by Khalid who we found to be so knowledgeable, informative and very personable. We gained more spiritual, cultural, and historical insight into Fez and its people from Khalid than we have from any guides we have engaged in our previous travels anywhere. Our tour included a visit to the largest tannery where we met Dahak who conducted the tour of the facilities and the process. Dahak let us know that he was going to try to sell us something, but we never did feel pressured to do so. All fascinating and very valued memories and a very unique destination.
The Riad Ahlam was a truly wonderful and magical place to stay and visit. We had a wonderful vacation due in no small part to the wonderful staff of the Riad. Thanks so much Kassem and Ahlam staff and Khalid for making it such a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButtonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0 km away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
563 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 km away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 100 in Fes
765 reviews
0.5 km away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 100 in Fes
576 reviews
1 km away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#11 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range: RM352 - RM771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing