We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Garden Fit for a Hungry Family!”
Review of The Ruined Garden

The Ruined Garden
Ranked #23 of 235 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in the ruins of a courtyard house in Old Fez. We serve Tapas at lunch, street foods, also cakes and pastries, fresh juices (eg watermelon or cucumber & mint or date and orange blossom milk) and Modern Moroccan dinners (*7 hour lamb 'Mechwi' or Pigeon B'Stella order in advance*) When it is hot there is shade and sun hats, when cold or wet there is a salon with a log fire. When wet or during high season (Christmas, Easter, May & October) reservations essential. We are situated 5 minutes from Talaa Seghira & the same distance from Batha, there are some painted signs. *No alcohol I am sorry to say* We offer an escort service to & from your accommodation within the medina, call in advance to arrange this (20 dirham) All tips and gratuities go to the staff. There are cats living in the Medina of Fez, they are stray and are pest control for the city, please do not feed them in the garden. We feed them in the street outside and make sure they have water, as do all Fez residents.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

After a long day of driving and hustling through the city bustle, we were so excited to find this gem of a place. The seating was charmed and as if the wandering turtles and gorgeous greenery wasn't enough to make us happy, the food was delicious and the service was friendly as well as prompt. My husband had this air-dried beef dish that he loved so much he ordered it again in the same sitting and my daughter had a strawberry smoothie which made her cheeks shine with delight. Everyting we ate (the bean dish, the cauliflower, all the veggie tapas items) were spot on and really we have nothing to say but THANK YOU for having us :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharmeen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

This restaurant was recommended by a Fes local and it didn't disappoint. There are tables scattered throughout and tucked into corners of this large outdoor garden restaurant. The service can be slow at times but the food was pretty good and the atmosphere at night is seductive yet casual.

Thank Tarin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We went for lunch today. They told us there were no tables, and that everything was reserved. They tried to shoo away some Chinese tourists saying they could not get a table. A few minutes later someone else came to the till and gave the Chinese group and us both tables. It was very weird. There definitely seems to be some racism among the staff. My party and I ordered several things for lunch to share. The best thing in the entire meal was the free bread with olive oil. My husband ordered the chicken wings (cold and served floating in grease), I ordered the turkey tagine (hacked up parts of a turkey leg veiled in some whitish sauce). The turkey was REPULSIVE looking. I did not try it. The boiled peppers that came with it were on the low end of fine, and then I found a hair in them. All in all it was a huge disappointment. I would not return, nor can I recommend others try it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ExpatFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otman R, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruined Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear ExpatFromNY,

Thank you for taking the time to write, first of all i would like to apologies for the negative experience you had, during high season things gets a little hectic and one could easily get confused, the person who talked to you and said that we do not have a table wasn't aware of the cancellations we had but after talking to he's superior the superior came and gave you a table, i am sorry again for the inconvenience, and for the food its very saddening to hear what you had to say about it, I am sorry that the chicken was cold, and for the grease i would like to clarify that the olive oil tend to separate from the onion sauce and is moped up with bread. I hope you had mentioned that you didn't like it or at least the hair you found while you were here then we could have changed the dishes or tried to do something to turn your experience to the better, I am sorry again for the disappointment,

Warm Regards,Otman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

A bit expensive compared with others. A few quantity in the dishes. The garden is cute. A bit slow the services. At least the gave todo my girfrienend a post card as gift

Thank pro214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We had lunch in 'The Ruined Garden' during our travel in Fez. The side dishes were tasty, main meals were okay. However, the lemonade and date milkshake are fantastic!! The garden is really nice and pleasant to sit and enjoy your meal. Also, the prices are really affordable. Would recommend going there for the ambiance and delicious drinks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denizgursel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ruined Garden also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to The Ruined Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing