We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Albakech House(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad - Hotel Marraplace(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ryad Dyor(Marrakech)
US$221
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$640
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
US$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Jardins de Mouassine(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$373
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$449
US$338
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
US$605
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
139
33
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
33
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hustle and bustlethe main squareorange juicereal marrakechsmall plunge poolminute walktagineairport transferold citynaimahoneyexcursionscourtyardmedinafrencharabicoasis
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Just returned from the Riad Ailen and one word -fantastic ! We found the location to be perfect for us as it was fairly near the gates , if you need a taxi or are getting collected for an excursion, but is a lovely walk to the square as we walked through milling streets of local activity soaking in the atmosphere and the culture of the local people's lives , experiencing the sounds and smells of daily life in the Medina . The rooms were very clean and comfortable with air con and a safe . We had bed and breakfast and also ate here two nights and the food was very fresh and delicious. The rooms are set around a courtyard with steps up to a roof terrace to relax after a busy morning or day. We found it so peaceful in contrast to the outside world . The shower was excellent and always hot water . There is a little dipping pool if you wish to cool your feet . There is mint tea available whenever you want , very refreshing . My son had the odd bottle of beer and a wine to sit on the terrace with and English tea is available too . We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly and polite and would recommend this Riad to anyone and also have recommended it to our travel agent . We would definitely not hesitate to return to the Riad Ailen in Bab Ailen . Some reviewers have said that they got lost a lot but we only went wrong once and local people were very keen to point us in the right direction. We felt very safe in Marrakech and in this guest house .

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank cagsy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

We have enjoyed a wonderful stay here, the staff are so friendly and helpful, always smiling. Easy walk through the medina to the main market square, to enjoy the hustle and bustle of the city, cheeky local children laughing and saying hello!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Emma Kate Ashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I stayed with my 16 year old daughter for two nights. We booked through British Airways who were - as ever - efficient and good value.

The riad is typical of the hundreds of riads in Marrakech. Clean, cool and decorated in the usual attractive style. The little pool was great for cooling off in after a hot day getting lost in the Medina!

The staff were really friendly. Even though we arrived five hours late at 1am (the plane was diverted to Casablanca!!) they were waiting with a meal and a warm welcome.
Our bedroom was small but adequate. The air conditioning worked very well and the wifi was free.

The free breakfast was adequate (continental style) but the evening meals were great and very good value.

The only reason I've not given 5 stars is the location. It's in Bab Alien - a very poor part of town even by Marrakech standards and a fairly long walk into the main town.

We got lost regularly and were quite intimidated by 'helpful' locals who offered to guide us for a fee. One young man got quite angry when we couldn't give him any money because we only had large notes. But the riad owner intervened and dealt with the situation very well.

If you choose this riad, be aware that you are staying in a very poor area and be prepared to get lost in the maze of small streets!

Room Tip: First floor bedrooms are bigger and quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stevethefootycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Pre-book your transfer with the Riad! It is in an area where you would get completely lost on arrival and shown ( several times ) by locals wanting a lot of tip to walk you around the corner. A car cannot go to the door so you need to be shown. The walk to the square is 20-30 minutes and is not suitable for families, older people of ones who feel vulnerable.
Stepping inside you do forget where you are and wind down, clean and tidy and lovely people.
The location lets it down ..... It would be better on the other side towards Koutoubia so you have access to the Medina and the new town.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
espacelibre, Propriétaire at Riad Ailen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2015

Indeed, we advise customers to provide a transfer at the time of booking as in the medina it's difficult to find your way. Street names are not always indicated. Also in the medina vehicles can not park in front of the riads. For transfers from the riad Ailen reserved, drivers take you from the airport and accompany you right up to the door of the riad.
The location of our guest house, as mentioned on our site, is located in one of the oldest districts of the medina to 15 or 20 minutes from the Jemaa el Fna, as you can see from the various comments posted this site by families with kids, couples mature ages .... Our neighborhood is inhabited by peaceful and helpful people. Our distance from the new town is a choice, we believe that our clients come to discover an authentic Morocco. For a modern city, it is not necessary to come to Marrakech, Western cities are part of the daily lives of our customers.
We hope you still had a great time in Marrakech.
Laure et Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Stayed here last october. The riad like many others have said is an excellent example of a traditional riad. The staff are faultless. Clean and tidy rooms, breakfast and mint tea great. Like others i would recommend airport transfers as its a little hard to find. Location?.............please research where this riad is!!. Its inside the medina walls and in a residential area, not the tourist trap hotel area. It is not in europe but marrakesh. We were approached by happy locals selling goods and also youngsters trying to trick us. You are in their neighbourhood and the riad cannot police the area. We were handled like some others have said but we cannot put any blame on the riad for this. So to sum up the riad is great, staff are great and if you dont research where in the media you are staying then you cant complain.
The riad is aware of its location as upon arrival we were asked if we were happy to stay due to its location and some of the negative reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank karl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews