We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in an otherwise hectic medina (with it own magnificant Palm Tree)”
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
Ranked #71 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I spent a week at Riad Zam Zam during mid September 2009 and stayed in the Isaac Room. It was the perfect location to enjoy the tail end of our summer holiday. Emma, Marcus and their staff have created a warm, relaxing and friendly atmosphere in which to escape the hectic charm of Marrakech.

During my stay I managed to enjoy some of the services and activities offered by the Riad including:
- a cooked meal upon on our arrival from Fes - which tasted amazing
- a brilliant cooking class to learn some of the secrets of Moroccan dishes - the outcome was amazing, I even surprised myself, and
- the onsite Hammam spa followed by a relaxing massage (just what was needed after a hectic day shopping in the souks).

The atmosphere of the Riad is perfect. During our stay we meet many other friendly and interesting travellers and managed to swap stories on negotiating with the shop keepers, where to find particular items in the souk or interesting restaurants and bars we managed to locate. In addition, Emma and the team were always helpful with suggestions for day trips, shopping tips and restaurants.

Riad Zam Zam is located in the northern part of the Medina and is about a 20-30 min walk/stroll to the main square in Marrakech. This is exactly to my taste as you get to spy on everyday life in one of the oldest sections of the medina away from the tourist masses which are huddled around the souks and the square. On the occasion when we felt particularly lazy we just had the Riad organise a car for us to take us where we wanted to go, all done with the utmost ease.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Riad Zam Zam and will definitely stay there on my next visit to Marrakech. Markus

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 451 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

Riad Zam Zam was everything that a sensitive young man, who has never travelled to Africa before, could want. Everything was fantastic - the riad is beautiful; staff are friendly and informative; the food is amazing and the riad itself was breathtaking(the perfect romantic venue to mingle with other travellers and soak up the Moroccan way of life).

I was made to feel welcome, and Emma went out of her way to make me feel more like family than a paying guest. Everything could be arranged, including very helpful guided tours; relaxing hammams; shopping and leisure trips. Nothing was too difficult for the staff. I have also never had as good a night's sleep as I did at ZamZam. Wandering through the medina was an experience, but the riad is only twenty minutes away from the souks and attractions. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and felt so relaxed after spending a week there. I would highly recommend Emma, Said and the rest of the staff for going that extra mile to help me enjoy Marrakesh. ZamZam is distinctive, fresh and above all wonderfully relaxing. I would certainly stay there again, and may even one day have my wedding there. By James Dawson

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lechameaunoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I have recently spent 3 nights at the Zamzam after a relative recommended it to me. I remember the moment that I entered the Zamzam, and put it this way, if the saying “first impressions count” is true this Riad most certainly has nothing to worry about. When you enter the Riad you immediately feel calm which is such a contrast to what is is actually going on just a few metres away from the Riad.

My room was like no other I have ever stayed in. The bedroom was elegantly decorated in a Moroccan style, from the bed sheets on the King-size bed to the doors on the wardrobes. It is also the little features within this room that made this place special, e.g. the mp3 player speakers, the fruit platter, the ZamZam dressing gown etc.

Another fantastic thing about this hotel is the food that is served. Every morning you are presented with your own personal miniature buffet consisting of pancakes, fruit salad, natural yoghurt, Moroccan bread, coffee, fruit juice, preserves etc. The breakfast is brilliant in setting you up for a day exploring what Marrakech has to offer. I was also fortunate in eating a meal in the evening here. It was this evening where I invited some friends over. Emma was brilliant in accommodating my friend’s needs after they had recently had a bout of food poisoning somewhere else in Morocco and therefore needed some good English food. We ate in the courtyard which at night is dimly lighted so that it is absolutely stunning and therefore creates a calming ambiance for anyone sitting or eating there. We had succulent Roast Lamb with steamed vegetables, then for dessert we had a delicious banoffee tartlet which had orange rind in the pastry, this most certainly topped off the meal. This was definitely a perfect way to spend my last night in Marrakech.

Finally there is no way that I can compliment this Riad in the way that I have without mentioning Emma, Marcus and Saïd (The owners and the manager respectively). These three people are some of the friendliest, easy going, easy to talk to, most helpful people that you will ever meet. Emma and Marcus have obviously dedicated a lot of their time and hard work on renovating this Riad into the fantastic place it is, which consequently reflects strongly on the pride that they take in everything that they do from helping you settle in, to trying to accommodate your needs. Saïd is also another person who is always eager to help you, if you are lost or need directions to some where he will kindly either come and find you or take you to the place where you need to be.

I have noticed whilst reading other people’s reviews before I went that the location for some people is a problem. However I would tell anyone who bothers to take note of these petty remarks that although in the north of the medina that the Riad is actually fairly close to the centre, and a lot closer than if you stayed in the new city where a lot of the new western hotels are based. At first a fairly inexperienced traveller as myself may find the medina a daunting and scary place, however it wasn’t long before I realised that it is actually a very safe place and the most trouble you will have is a small boy trying to show you a magic trick. It is also worth taking note that it was safe for me to walk around on my own fairly late at night i.e. 11/12 pm. I would however recommend to anyone planning on staying at the ZamZam to take the airport transfer provided by the hotel because although it may be a little more expensive than just taking a taxi, this way you are guaranteed to be taken straight to the hotel as you can’t get to the Riad all the way by taxi, and therefore would find it probably quite difficult to find by yourself.

All in all I would say that this is by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and most certainly was one of the highlights of my stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

It is a dream to visit a riad and stay in morocco but if you want one that in my opinion stands out from the rest, (and I have had the chance to stay in a few) I strongly recommend Riad zamzam. There is something special about this place, a conviviality here which is rare to find. A relaxing atmosphere and friendliness. Emma and Marcus are welcoming and Said their manager professional and yet entertaining. I came away with a huge smile on my face and only wish I could stay longer. Emma and Marcus have created a unique style in this riad and work hard to make sure you enjoy your stay in the best possible way, be it the cookery course, a guided tour of the souks or a hammam. I could write much much more.......

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybirdFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

It was 2am on the 30th August 2009... Our first wedding anniversary. I knew we were going abroad, I just didn’t know where!!! My husband handed me a card, out of the card fell an information sheet... The Zamzam Riad in Marrakech.... WOW!!! Marrakech was always a place I wanted to visit and experience. We flew with Ryan air (Awful, never again!). We arrived at Marrakech airport at 9.30am. You have to fill out a visa form which does cause a bit of a delay. When we passed through customs we were greeted by Aziz, the taxi driver organised by the Zamzam Riad. As we were travelling Aziz was telling us about some of the sights in Marrakech... We drove through the Madina walls and I just had a constant smile on my face... It was just like going back in time how I would describe as biblical...
We were dropped off outside a chemist our bags were unloaded by Aziz... I thought oh my god, where on earth are we?!! Then, around the corner came a handsome young man with a big sunshine smile on his face, he was pushing a sort of wheelbarrow, he shook our hand and introduced himself his name was Said. Said loaded our bags into “The wheelbarrow” and asked us to follow him. I had no idea of where we were going to end up, if I didn’t tell you I was a little nervous, I would be lying. We turned right down a little lane... and there was a BIG brown Fort Knox door with a huge brass lantern above it... Said rang the door bell, a young lady called Sam opened the door.... “Hello!” She said “Welcome to The Zamzam Riad.” Another BIG Smile :o). When I walked in I couldn’t believe my eyes! As soon as you walk through that door you are taken into total peace and tranquillity! The Riad is absolutely beautiful... everything is perfect... attention to detail!
We were invited to have a seat and have some Moroccan whiskey (mint tea). Sam briefed us on the Riad and Marrakech. She then showed us to our room... again WOW! Talk about make us feel special... the room was filled with rose petals, a heart shaped on the bed out of rose petals and 2 roses placed on each pillow, a bottle of wine, a basket of fruit and a picture of us from our wedding with happy 1st anniversary. We stayed in the Palm Suite. It brought a tear to my eye...
We ate at the Riad for Breakfast, lunch and dinner... You couldn’t fault the food.. Proper home cooked grub! Yummy!
The next day we had a guide to take us around the Souks. What an eye-opener... as you walk through the streets you are faced with all the hustle and bustle... families making material, making bread, making everything! It really makes you realise what is important in life and most of all what we take for granted.
I could talk about my/our Marrakech experience for ages so I will try to wrap it up.... Here is what you must do... (Can all be arranged by the riad);
1) The Souks
2) A Hammam (its like a Turkish Bath)
3) The Square
4) The Palaces, Yves Saint Laurent memorial garden
5) GO OUT! Explore... Get lost... if you don’t get lost you haven’t experienced Marrakech... Dont be scared... Just do it!

The Zamzam is situated in the perfect location! Yes, it’s the far North side of the medina... but if we had stayed slap bang in the middle of it all we would never had experienced the true local life.

Would I go again? Yes, absolutely! I will be there like a shot. We were made to feel at home straight away.... Had some real good belly laughs with Said and the team... I can truly say the ZAMZAM Riad is a “Top banana” place to stay. (A little joke that will stay with me for a long time).
Well done... To everyone at The Zamzam Riad... A true little hidden gem!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nush123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 km away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#70 of 501 in Marrakech
237 reviews
1.9 km away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#85 of 501 in Marrakech
340 reviews
2.0 km away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#40 of 501 in Marrakech
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#28 of 501 in Marrakech
458 reviews
0.7 km away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#72 of 501 in Marrakech
233 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: RM320 - RM1,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing