We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day break”
Review of Riad Aliya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Aliya
Ranked #422 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Just off the old town in Marrakech.
Wonderful little find with friendly staff and a first class stay.
Clean rooms, good facilities and easy access to the Old Town. Massive breakfast included to set you up for a day of exploring.
Great place to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank AlexCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Everything was just great. Hanane and Kamal are great hosts, they helped us with everything that we needed and they were always caring about us. The riad is very beautiful, very clean. We have to do a 10/15 minutes walk to get to the Medina but it is a great ride because we can see a lot of the Moroccan way of life. Beside the riad is inside some confusing streets, we always felt safe even at night. If I ever go to Marrakech again, I will choose Riad Aliya again. I totally recommend it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pedro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

This Riad is beautiful. I stayed eight days and was not disappointed.
The place is beautiful and the staff is knowledgeable and readily available to answer questions and give advice.
I had breakfast and dinner at the Riad. The breakfast was consistently three different types of homemade crepes, two jams, butter and fresh squeezed juice. Dinner was my choice and very delicious.
I would advice to keep a tally on the amount of water and soda you drink as it's an additional fee and can add up quickly when you're hot and need a cool drink.
The room was stuffy at first but I quickly learned to turn it on first thing when returning and before dinner.
There are two cats but they were no problem.
Overall this is my top choice when staying in the Kasbah.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank gl0ria26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

My friend and I spent 6 days at Riad Aliya in April 2015. Not knowing what to expect, as this was our first trip to Morocco, we were more than pleasantly surprised by the accommodations Riad Aliya had to offer. Our room was situated just off the courtyard and pool area. It was beautifully appointed with modern decorations, but the feel of the room and the architecture was traditional, exotic and gorgeous. The staff was helpful, gracious, and extremely warm. We were served an amazing free breakfast every morning. We also opted to have dinner prepared for us daily. I would highly recommend having your dinner here as restaurants in the area and street food seemed somewhat shady at best.

This was mainly a shopping trip for us so the close proximity to the souks was exactly what we needed. However we learned that the staff was happy to call a car for us and also arrange tours. The Riad arranged our shuttle to and from the airport which was extremely helpful.

This is an excellent location very close to the souks. The locals are very helpful and friendly. We felt very safe walking the streets even as late as 10 or 11 o'clock. The price we paid for the value we received as well as the overall experience puts most American hotels to shame! Not only would I highly recommend this place I am returning for a visit again in September of this year.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dava Divine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Me & the GF decided to use Riad Aliya as a first stop, on what would be a varied 7 days travel in Morocco.

The Riad itself is located in the Kasbar area of the Medina, which if you're seeking culture, excitement & the intensity of Marrakech, the Medina is what you want. We arranged for the Riad to send a taxi to the airport for our arrival, while it isn't far from the airport. Do not attempt to find this hidden treasure yourself. The Medina is a maze of towering walls, unamed streets & locals wanting to hold your hand while guiding you into a expected juicy tip.

Hannan the lady of the Riad is a lovely & formidabe hostess. She & her brother are the structure & Lords of this throw-back to the Imperial rule of Morocco. She will give you good advice & if you show willing, find you a good deal on most of the excusions & adventures available on marrakech's doorstep.

The Riad is a character in itself. Full of texture & authenticity -- carefully kept like some 250 year old City-Chateau from the south coast of France. . It really is the experience..

Dont rely too heavily on hanging around the Riad all day. The roof top is a suntrap & the plung pool is not as inviting as a modern facility in the western Med.

We also spent 3 nights in Essouira & another day trip in the Atlas Mountains, which for me, made the trip. I can not recommend Essouira enough. Get yourself on a mini bus, or even ask the local excursion operators to sort you a one-way transit there, for the cost being so cheap, it is a no brainer. Essouira is without doubt the way the Mediterannean was, way before the introduction of power tools & development.

Get out there & discover, right now Morocco is that King of Spades you want in your roaming hand. .

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulbrowne1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 km away
Riad le Desir
Riad le Desir
#155 of 502 in Marrakech
69 reviews
2.0 km away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
827 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#117 of 502 in Marrakech
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#72 of 502 in Marrakech
550 reviews
1.2 km away
Dar Grawa
Dar Grawa
#182 of 502 in Marrakech
103 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#85 of 502 in Marrakech
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aliya

Address: 10, derb Akerkour | Quartier Ksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: RM299 - RM478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aliya 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad ALIYA, est une Maison situé dans le quartier KSOUR, au coeur de la médina (vieille ville) de MARRAKECH, à proximité de l'aéroport (5minutes), proche du palais royal et de la célèbre et mythique place JEMA EL FNAA et de ses traditionnels souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Aliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aliya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing