We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Nearby Hotels
US$627
US$570
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$1,116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$373
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Golf(Marrakech)
US$203
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,619
US$1,581
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,062)
Filter reviews
2,063 results
Traveller rating
1,182
463
225
116
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,182
463
225
116
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areabreakfast buffetjunior suitebeautiful hotelspecial thanksatlas mountainsla mamouniamint teaconciergepoolsloungeredaazizaguidesquareculturedesert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,063 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was concerned as I approached the hotel after reading of aloof staff. Yet everyone was lovely. The bellman who took our bags and sat us on the sofa (in a vip section according to a placard) was warm and professional. He informed the front desk staff of our (early) arrival. We were given tea and comfortably went through the check in process. The concierge visited to give us maps and suggestions but seemed to really want us to hire a tour guide for the day. When I said I was not interested (having been in Marrakech for two days already) he vanished.

After waiting for an available room, I approached the front desk and upon realizing we were there only for 1 night were upgraded to a lovely corner room (w/two terraces- nice!). The room had all the touches of a 5 star hotel as did the bathroom. Later in the day we returned to a tray full of sweets which were yummy.

We used the spa and enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Both were what's expected from a 5 star hotel- luxurious and near perfect. The indoor spa pool was sublime. The outdoor pools and lounge areas were large, welcoming, and once again luxurious. All the public spaces were well appointed and interesting.

PROBLEM: I killed too many ants in the room and even on my leg.

It's a shame some people had staff problems because we found everyone to be warm and professional. I would be excited to stay here again. FYI- while not in the medina, the hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room. Why not?
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear denverroadtrip,

My team and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us after your overnight stay at Sofitel Marrakech.

We are delighted that you have appreciated the quality of our welcome and your stay in general.

We will be delighted to welcome you again!

Best Regards,

Ahmed Benkirane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just went in for a drink as we wanted a beer. In Marrakech there's limited alcohol available so we had a walk over from our Riad.
What a place , great staff and fabb grounds with a very large pool. Would love to stay some day!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Langemakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Langemakki,

We thank you for taking the time to write to us following your visit to the Sofitel Marrakech.

It would be with great pleasure that we will welcome you for a stay in our establishment.

Do not hesitate to come!

Best Regards

Ahmed Benkirane
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Sofitel imperial palace with my mum . We had a wonderful experience . The hotel is central located . Very clean and comfortable . With amazing front office service . As you get the meet your butler with welcoming traditional Moroccan tea . It’s was very smooth stay for 3 night . Thanks to Mohammed Amani he is a credit to the hotel will defiantly come back again and again this will be my hotel in marrakech . Great food and service too in the breakfast area . If you planning to visit this hotel must go down for breakfasts simply the best buffet with best atmosphere. I highly recommend this hotel you won’t feel far from home .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank rawitasaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear rawitasaber,

We want, first, to thank you for taking the time to write us after your stay at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial.

We are delighted that your stay with us has lived up to your expectations and it's with great pleasure that we share your remarks with our teams.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Ahmed Benkirane,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First of all, this is a large hotel. The entrance and the reception area is lovely. However, given the size of the property the trek to your room can be a long one.

The hotel is in a central location, and is within walking distance of most places of interest. Rooms are large, though poorly equipped in terms of storage and places to put things away, especially if you’re not alone in the room and if you are staying more than a day longer. Front desk is difficult to reach, probably because of the sheer size of this place. The breakfast buffet is outstanding in terms of selection and service, though getting your coffee delivered to the table may take a while, hence the word of the advice: order immediately upon arrival.

The pools are lovely, though for some weird reason they close at 6 pm. The bar closes at 11 pm. We got there at 10:40 pm and no one would serve us, and when we asked we were told they are about to close. Go figure.

Room service is very slow, luggage was misdelivered and it took a few hours to get it.

In summary, a nice property with average service and decent restaurant. Though adjust your expectations accordingly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Arturas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Arturas3,

First of all, we thank you for taking the time to write to us after your stay at our hotel.

We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

Believe that we take all your remarks seriously. We work continuously to improve our services to satisfy you at best.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial for a new and better experience.

Best Regards,

Ahmed Benkirane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend in Marrakesh staying at the Sofitel.
When we arrived we were sat in reception and greeted with towels to refresh our hands and then were given mint tea and macaroons . As we were too early for check in they took our bags and we were free to explore the hotel.
We decided to stay in the hotel and had lunch on the terrace by the pool. The food was delicious and we were very well looked after by Mohammed.
The hotel is very comfortable and the pool area is stunning . Plenty of large beds but we sadly didn’t get to try them out as the weather was just awful. It turned very chilly and the rain was relentless.
We were able to get into our room for about 3pm and were very impressed. We had a very large bed and the room had a very luxurious feel about it. The lighting is a little dim but you can just lie in bed and switch everything on or off.
The shower was to die for ... it’s a walk in shower with a large shower rainfall head and very powerful.
We were able to freshen up and relax in the lovely dressing gowns and slippers.... the stress of the travelling drifted away.
Breakfast is just amazing ... lots to choose from and offered freshly cooked omelettes or any type of eggs ... all sorts of breads , huge variety of fruit, freshly made waffles and crepes .... meats, cheeses , olives , pastries ... just too much to chose from all polished off with a choice of teas and coffee and lovely orange juice.
There are only one or two things to say that could be better.... if your French speaking you seem to be served quicker .... when we checked in we could have been given a nap of the area and suggestions of what to do / where to go... we had been to Marrakesh the year before so we’re not daunted by finding our own way around but had this been our first visit to the area this could have spoilt our break. Saying that I’m sure if you asked for help or advice the friendly staff would have gone out of their way to help .
As you walk out of the hotel you are jumped upon by guides saying they work for the hotel touting for business, cab drivers called to the front of the hotel charge you more than if you walk around the corner and get your own taxi or you can jump into the horse and carriage... make sure you negotiate the prices!!
Because your walking out of a lovely hotel they assume your rich and charge you more !!
I would thoroughly recommend the Sofitel as an Calm and safe environment away from all the madness of the Médina .
We will definitely book again ... Thankyou for a lovely weekend x

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Furby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BENKIRANE A, General Manager at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear

First of all, we thank you for taking the time to write us after your stay at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial.

We also thank you for this beautiful description of your stay ...

We are delighted that you are thinking of visiting us again. We will always be there to make your trip to Marrakech an ideal moment of relaxation and relaxation.

Best Regards,

Ahmed Benkirane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews