We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay for an authentic Morrocan...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Riad Arabia

Riad Arabia - colours of the riadd
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Riad Arabia - colours of the riadd
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Riad Arabia - colours of the riadd
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lavoyageu...
hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Deceitful and Dishonesty, be careful with this Riad!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We have booked this riad and made full payment in February, as we have requested exclusive usage of the Riad's 5 bedrooms, but upon arrival at airport, we were handed a letter stating they are switching us to another Riad with only three bedrooms. What happened afterwards is a nightmare. as they found us a slum like riad though with five bedrooms, but was like living in a non star rated slum, this was a nightmare. I urge traveller to be very careful with this riad. Our butlet Mohammed was very good but do exercise extreme caution dealing with this Riad, we dealt with Sue and had to call England to sort out the accomodation, still mot he originaaly booked and paid for facility!!!! A nightmare when this happened to any travellers, Stay away and choose other operators is my advice!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Unfortunately your review is extremely biased and only tells your side of the story, and fails to mention all the efforts our local team did to compensate you for the unavoidable change of property from Riad Arabia due to an overbooking situation caused by the availability system you booked through.

In the letter you received upon your arrival we honestly explained why the change was necessary, offered an upgrade to another of our properties (of a much higher standard) and offered free dinners and a day trip to the Atlas Mountains. It is also worth pointing out that some of your group suffered from two flight delays meaning they arrived 2 days late in Marrakech, creating further negativity during your stay in Marrakech. Your Moroccan Chinese-speaking interpreter/guide was particularly unhelpful and only looked to create more problems in the first two days.

You fail to mention in your review that as well as receiving an upgrade to Maison Africa (a property with three times the living space of Riad Arabia, and a much higher quality of furnishings), we also offered two superior rooms in Riad Adika which is next door to Maison Africa, to ensure you had 5 bedrooms plus a private riad for your use.

You fail to mention that it was you that demanded we find you another riad with 5 bedrooms, with exclusive use - because you wanted to be all in one property. We listened to your request and found another riad for your stay from day 2 onwards - this riad was inspected by our local team and you insisted on moving against our advice and knowledge. The riad you state was 'a slum-like riad' is actually a very nice riad, clean, modern and positively reviewed. We booked and paid for this alternative and you moved from Maison Africa.

We should point out to readers that the reason you actually disliked this riad was not due to its condition but because you were frightened of walking on the first floor corridor floor which is constructed of suspended glass! You were afraid that it would collapse under your feet, despite being specially-designed for the purpose. You then demanded to return immediately to Maison Africa, and threatened negative reviews, and to call the local police and embassy to intimidate our staff into moving you again. We duly returned you to Maison Africa where you stayed for the remainder of your time in Marrakech, enjoying free dinners and free transfers, and the additional rooms in Riad Adika.

If you had carefully considered the information in the letter we gave you upon your arrival, and not been swayed by the negativity of your local 'guide' then we are sure you could have settled into your holiday immediately upon arrival at Maison Africa, without creating additional and unnecessary stress for all involved.

We are pleased to note that you took so many photos of Maison Africa, enjoyed the cooking of Saida and service of your host, Mohamed (incidentally he is not a butler.... we are not a 5 star deluxe villa).

Although you did not stay in Riad Arabia, the property you initially booked, you did benefit from the back-up and support of the local team we have in place, who went above and beyond the call of duty in trying to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, with a background of unreasonable demands and threats.

The tone, rating and content of your review does not reflect at all on our property, Riad Arabia, as you never actually stayed in it. Your review seeks to do as much damage to our business as possible despite all the efforts we made to compensate you.

We always aim to be fair and reasonable with all our guests but realise that sometimes this is just not possible - every now and again some guests are just too difficult to please!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry we could not do more to prevent you from writing such a horrible review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovelylau...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for an authentic Morrocan experience”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a family (two parents, two adult children) for three nights.
The riad itself was beautful and the attention to detail with the decor and furnishing was to be commended. We were welcomed with refreshing mint tea and Peter gave us some great directions to get around the city and some personal recommendations of where to visit and eat (which were all spot on!)
We had dinner cooked by Rashida that evening which was delicious- the fish tagine for my pescetarian mother was great appreciated and enjoyed by the carnivores too!
The rooms were lovely and throughout the riad there was always somewhere cool to relax- although this varied with the time of day. The plunge pool was very refreshing.
There was a great contrast with the noisy and bustle outside- the riad was unbelievably peaceful and quiet, the only noise that intruded from the outside were the calls to prayers.
We went on the day tour organised by the riad the next day. The guide was very knowledgable and took us not only to all the main attractions but also to some interesting out of the way places e.g. the old courtyard where the camel drovers would stop and the metal working and leather working shops at the back of the souks. We did visit a herb shop, carpet shop and general trinkets shop but we were not pushed to make purchases and the mint tea at the carpet shop was much appreciated after the hot dusty streets. All in all we saw everything we wanted to and more.
The next day we took more time to relax in the riad but Rashida very kindly took me to the local Hamman which was a truely cultural experience- I believe I was the only tourist there!
On our check out day we were allowed to leave our bags in the riad to collect them before our flight (no one was arriving that day) and the transfers to and from the airport were smooth (if the driving in Morocco is slightly erractic compared to the UK!)
The only minor problems were that we failed to work both the Tv and the wifi, but in such a great location such mundane links to normal life seemed unnecssary!
Would love to return and see more of such a lovely country, and Riad Arabia would be my first choice for accomodation in Marrakesh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rashida- fantastic cook, hostess and guide
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2013
Thank you Laura for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Riad Arabia. We are delighted you enjoyed your short time in Marrakech and will make sure that instructions on how to operate the TV and WiFi are in place for future guests. If you do return to Marrakech one day please do consider combining a few nights in Riad Arabia with at least a couple of nights in our High Atlas retreat - Dar Tassa - just one hour 20 minutes from Marrakech yet a world away from the hustle and bustle of the medina. Dar Tassa is an authentic Berber lodge set in a stunning location high above the Azzadene Valley in Toubkal National Park. All the very best. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzieboo...
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, great hospitality!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My husband, two children (ages 14 and 12) and I, spent 10 nights at Riad Arabia: After being there for less than 24 hours, we already felt like we'd been there for days; it is such a peaceful and relaxing place, that it's easy to forget you are on the doorstep of the souks.
Rashida was an absolute (and very smiley) star and, despite the fact that we were there during Ramandan, she cooked us some of the most wonderful meals, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. There was the welcoming smell of the chicken tagine on our arrival at the riad and, after being shown around by Rashida and Radouan (who met us at the airport and accompanied us on the taxi journey to the riad), we ate (and enjoyed) it by the pool.
During our stay it was, as we'd expected in August, extremely hot (around 45C at it's peak) so the air conditioning in the bedrooms was a welcome necessity! The pool was also great for cooling off, although I had to initially brace myself each time I went in as, despite the info provided, it wasn't -or at least didn't seem to be- heated, and I am a self confessed wuss!
We took pre-booked trips to the Atlas Mountains and Essaouira which were both beautiful, not to mention cooler, and definitely worth visiting. Radouan met us at the Riad and accompanied us to our taxi for each of the trips; our taxi drivers and English speaking guides at both locations were friendly and helpful. The Jardin Majorelle in Marrakech also provided some cooling respite from the heat, and is just a short taxi ride from the riad.
My daughter and I went with Rashida, and her sister Zahira, to the local Hammam after buying our savon noir, gommage etc. from the souk with Rashida earlier in the day -I also went with her another day to buy spices etc. so that we can now attempt to replicate some of her tasty dishes in our own kitchen!
We have already recommended Riad Arabia to several friends, and hope to return ourselves one day -Inshallah!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rachida's cooking and hospitality!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupcake92
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed 9 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011
4
people found this review helpful

I loved every moment of our stay. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Rachida and Mustapha. A welcoming mint tea was awaiting us in front of a lit fireplace.
Although the temperature was cold at night the heating in the rooms, the fireplace and the heated swimming pool were great.
The food we had booked for our first dinner was a classical chicken tagine and a warming soup and salads to start with. Finishing off with a hot banana caramel.
Rachida's smile and daily assistance made such a difference.
We also booked a medina tour with a recognised moroccan guide.
The rooms were welcoming, beautiful light and moroccan decoration. Very charming and homely. All rooms have airconditioning or heating and towels for the pool are provided.
I loved the breakfast in the sun on the terrace with a view of the atlas mountain...I could not believe how pleasant and warm it was during the day, great sunbathing on the terrace. Cold at night. The advantage is that the ryad is covered during the winter so you can enjoy the poolarea and the courtyard. At night the pool is lit and creates a great atmosphere.
I definitely am coming back. Thank you so much.
Great transport facilities when you need it. Airport transfers organised and on time. Very reliable drivers.
We also went into the Atlas staying overnight at the mountain lodge and had two days in the dessert camp with a private guide. Fantastic memories and am planning to return for my birthday next year.
Rachida's cooking is typical moroccan and tastes far better than all the restaurants we visited in the medina. Highly recommended for friends and family.
Thank you so much.
helen & Co

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Reviewed 13 January 2011 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing