We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Ranked #92 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, reps were full of energy (but not pushy!) Plenty to eat and a lot of variety, the Moroccan restaurant - although similar to what is available at the restaurant - is one not to miss. Cooked to perfection and mood is amazing and for 100 dirham's per person it's totally worth it. Good wine, tasty spirits and bottled/pumped beer available all day everyday, desserts were heavenly! The pool with the slides in is very cold but the other one is much better! A couple of bad points: 1 is beware of the safe rental. My sister paid for her safe outright and then they asked for money again when she left. The safe itself is in the room and perfectly secure, it's just they charge you twice for it (this happened to another group in the hotel too) the maids are extremely loud too so if you like a lie in, take ear plugs! Camel rides which are available to book at the opposite side of the reception are brilliant value for money and a very good experience. Marrakech market is one to see but only if you don't mind hussle and bustle. Blonde and young watch out, you may feel uncomfortable on the market. Lots of people trying to get your attention. Cab from/to the market should be no more than 50 dirham. State your fair before you set off - if it's two men getting in the taxi, the driver will drive a hard bargain but it's easier to haggle if you're a woman! Last thing I will say is - it might be useful to learn a bit of French before you go as that is their 2nd language!! Although the staff did speak English, some of them did struggle so I felt a bit rude not knowing any French, which someone told me before I went! Overall, brilliant hotel, clean, quiet (apart from the maids!) good entertainment, good leisure activities (table tennis, archery etc) and just a relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: State you wish to have a double bed or you will get two singles pushed together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,159 of 5,277 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

The rooms, are perfectly acceptable (maybe even 4 stars), but the variable food served is at best 3 stars and sometimes dips down to 2 stars depending on what day you arrive there to eat.
For an 'all inclusive' resort, i found it hard to bear that one had to pay for drinks after 11pm in the resort bar. Plus one had to pay to use the onsite gym, i can understand them asking for payment for spa treatments, but not for the gym - where you do all the work.
The system for gettign into town, via the resort's free buses is chaotic and even the staff do not seem to understand what they are doing - trying to stuff 12 people, into a vehicle that should only transport 8.
As for the reception staff, 'service' does not seem to a part of what they provide.
Every time we approached, we were told that it would take 45 mins to sort out a request / problem. Even to get something simple like the code for the room safe!!!!!!!
This stay has put me off resorts and all inclusive packages for life.

Room Tip: Select another of the Kenzi resorts, anything moust be better than the Agdal Medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalordT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just back from 4 days at the lovely Kenzi Club Agdal Medina and what a 4 days away.
Met at the airport immediately, transfer time to the hotel was 10 minutes...where do the travel agents get this hour and 5 minutes from is beyond me. Check in swift, driven in a golf cart to the room by the tennis courts and cant fault the room, spacious, very clean, bath and shower were great.
Got up for breakfast everyday and the choice was amazing, as was lunch and dinner, there was literally something for everyone, even the fussiest of eaters like myself, and ignore any reviews that say otherwise. The staff were as friendly as can be and do try to speak a bit of french, it will get you seated quicker and served drinks quicker. Oh and you have to have the fresh crepes around 5pm....cooked right in front of you.
Went to the bar every night, always got a good seat to watch the entertainment, and served immediately which was a bonus.
The animation team work their nuts off in the day and night and are always polite even if you dont participate as does every memeber of staff we came into contact with.

Had a half day in Marrakech booked with Sahara tours, learn't a bit of history from our guide Mohammed and toured the souks and square which was an eye opener. Beware of children selling hankies....they literally dont leave you alone, and probably would've come back to the hotel if you let them.

All in all this was one of the best trips in my life, there is nothing at all you could find fault with at the hotel with the service, food, cleaning.....

I will be returning later this year or definitely next year as the weather was around 30 degrees, but chilly in the evening.

Lastly don't jump in the big pool, it's bloody freezing, use the smaller one it's a lot warmer !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malc316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed for a week on an all inclusive basis in March 2012. The hotel facilities and grounds were excellent with a great choice of activities during the day and in the evening. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and charming. I thought my basic French would be a hindrance but everyone at the hotel spoke excellent English. The hotel is outside the centre of Marrakech but there is a free shuttle bus available, although the last bus back to the hotel was at 18.30 each day. Of course there are plenty of taxis available in the city and outside the hotel if the shuttle bus is overbooked. My only negative point about the hotel would be the food. There was plenty of choice in the restaurant so there was always something to eat including pasta dishes, chinese and delicous salads and fresh fruit. The drinks (wine, beer, soft drinks) were also freely given, but I found the quality of the beef and lamb to be very poor. On one occasion a Pork roast joint was offered (!) but this was undercooked. There is also a Moroccan restaurant on site which could be booked for an additional supplement but this was well worth it for the experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have either a huge double bed or twin beds but all also have a sofa bed that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nofixedabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this all inclusive holiday with Expedia and it was excellent value for money. We stayed for 6 nights in March 2012.

The reviews that I read on here were very mixed. I am happy to say our experience was a fantastic one.

Location:
A 10 minute taxi journey from the airport. I did try to catch a 19 bus but it only goes to the centre of the city and did not stop at our hotel. Taxis- you will not be able to barter on the price as all drivers stick to the same amount. We (and others we met) paid 150Dh which was roughly £10 according to my exchange rate. The alternative is to book transfers with your holiday provider prior to arrival. The taxi drivers were very polite. Make sure to agree the price set for the amount of passengers travelling and confirm your destination.

Once at the hotel we were able to book a hotel shuttle bus that dropped us into the centre of Marrakech just a few minutes from the Souks and Medina. You book the day before. There was no charge for this. This was about 10-15 min journey. Taxis are sat outside also and the general price is 100Dh.

I found the hotel to be very quiet, we did not see many children. You can see the snow capped Atlas mountains on a clear day.

Rooms:
Beautifully clean and modern. Photos on hotel websites are actually accurate. Flat screen TV with free cable- English movie channel with arabic subtitles, BBC world, Sky news and some childrens programmes that do not have spoken language ( Donald Duck, Pingu etc). Also free WIFI in the rooms and around some areas of the hotel. Signal poor in some places but good enough. Maid service daily and changing towels- you have to leave them on floor if requesting a change. Nice bed linen with duvet cover rather than sheets and no feathers! ( I have allergies). Fridge provided. Safe provided at extra charge- we did not use.

Food and Drink:

We are both vegetarian and found it easy to find enough variety. Chef was happy to use a clean pasta pan etc. Enough variety of dishes.

I have been to a few all inclusive hotels previously and I rate this as one of the best. Drinks- freely available and they are happy to give you bottles of water, wine, coke zero and lemonade at your meals rather than per glass. Good selection and wines and beer of a good standard for all inclusive.

Breakfast- Juices, large selection breads, fresh and dried fruits, omelettes and pancakes to order, eggs, cheeses, cold meats, cereals and cooked breakfast items.

Lunch/Dinner- Pizza, pasta to order (choose sauce items), rices, cous cous, fish to order, plenty meat/chicken dishes, tagines, vegetable tagine, fries, breads, salads, cold meats, sushi, ice cream selections, huge amount of desserts, fresh fruit and potato dishes.

They also serve snacks at pool bar and do afternoon tea with fresh crepes, cakes, paninis and sandwiches.

Money:
Closed currency so we bought ours at the airport on arrival, Either at a counter where they take cash- Pounds or Euros. You can use an ATM at the airport to get cash. We did not seem to find anywhere else that we could use our card in an ATM. Our tour guide said they were only sometimes working.

Also suggest getting a bottle of water at the airport or changing large notes at hotel for coins- 5Dh and 10Dh for tipping as they are hard to come by. We tried to tip 10dH at each meal and between every few rounds at the bar.

Activities:
3 pools; small kids, large unheated and medium heated. Good pool bar, mostly music played was ok and not too loud was easy to sit away from it. Lovely loungers and also double day beds made of foam with lots of pillows. Free towels and no deposit needed or limit but cannot take to room. Clean and tidy. 3 water flumes were brilliant fun and a good way of getting into the unheated pool.

Entertainment- lot of daytime stuff and Kid stuff but you were not hassled to participate. Evening- great bar and atmosphere. Resident singer nice and not cheesy like many other resorts. Fab cocktails and drinks menu, very classy for all inclusive.

Friendly waiting staff.

Trips- we booked a half day walking tour for £12 before we arrived and had a guide to ourselves. We went through the Souks etc with no hassle and good information and history. We did hear some horror stories of people putting monkeys or snakes on you and wanting money to remove- saw none of this. Bought fab tagine and bowls but need to haggle, haggle, haggle.

We did have £24 local tax charge to pay when leaving hotel but to be honest we did not feel too cheated considering the service that we received.

Weather was great. Perfect break away would go back.

Room Tip: If you are given a twin room instead of a true double bed it is worth asking to swap rooms. We swapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DEVON644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
10.4 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
7.1 km away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.1 km away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#211 of 502 in Marrakech
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#249 of 502 in Marrakech
2,512 reviews
12.1 km away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#131 of 502 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
13.6 km away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Marrakech
#125 of 502 in Marrakech
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenzi Club Agdal Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenzi Club Agdal Medina

Address: Blvd Mohamed VI | Zone de l'Agdal, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#99 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#139 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: RM511 - RM1,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenzi Club Agdal Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pioneer in its category. This hotel-club provides a full range of activities together with the best contemporary design by architect Imaad Rahmouni. Modernism and discovery can be shared by families or friends, in one of the best leisure hotels in Morocco, located by the Atlas Mountains, in the middle of 10 hectares centenarian olive trees. Accommodation 9 riads 254 double or triple rooms (32 m²) and 60 suites (53 m²) – all with private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kenzi Club Agdal Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing