We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Danka
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Riad Joya(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Dar Zaya(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Ilayka(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Riad Marfaman(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Riad Ecila(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Riad Zolah(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mimosa(Marrakech)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
363
17
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
17
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnomad restaurantprivate hammamperfect hostsauthentic experiencepeaceful havenfantastic locationplace to staythe hustle and bustlestayed nightsbeautiful riadfresh fruita wonderful staymint teaplunge poolrooftop terraceatlas mountainsryad
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a wonderful stay in Riad Danka. I really recommend it for those who wants to get the real sense of Marrakesh. The place it self is very convivial, staff very friendly and attentive to all your needs. Don't hesitate to get Carl's recommendation regarding the places to go, excellent taste for the restaurants. I would suggest to go for a pick up from the airport, really worth it. Rooms are very nice and the terrasse on the roof is just great! Finally do not miss a delicious homemade breakfast.

Thank you again dear team of Danka Riad. Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tiiiina_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliancarl, Propriétaire at Riad Danka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Tiiiiiiiiiiiina ..... what can we add?? you make me and the staff HAPPY. It looks like Pharrel Williams song ...we are happy to read all that.
We hope to receive you next time in Marrakech at Riad DANKA.
Thanks for your words for all our future visitors : you have to know, it's thanks to all of you Riad Danka have such a nice success.
The day is sunny in the sky and at Riad Danka
Thanks again and we're waiting for you here soon
Danka's team
Carl & Lilian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Marrakech and enjoyed the comforts of Riad Danka! Tasteful decor (the attached photo of the courtyard is taken just outside of our room) and really pleasant breakfast - I did enjoy the fig jam to go with the various breads they served. Celebrated my birthday at the Riad and Carl and team wonderfully sent us a cake, much appreciated!

Shout out to Bouchaid who got us from Jemaa Elf-naa and walked us through the Médina.

Great location, well within the Médina of the interwoven souks but most notably, the Riad is close to Cafe Nomad and Cafe Espices. I bought some great thick cotton hamman towels for 80-90 Dhs near by after using the ones at Ris Danka but the bargaining was tough.

The safe in our room didn’t work and the light for our shower was out but we chose to do w/o instead of change rooms cos we were really not fussed.

The Riad is really quiet, and there are no locks on the individual room doors so make sure you have a luggage with locks, just in case.

Buy a bottle of water cos the room didn’t come with any and bring some Zyrtec if you’re sensitive to dust. The soaps and shampoo they provided were of great quality.

There was a TV but we didn’t even touch it. The king beds were too comfortable.

The Riad is narrow so bear this in mind when you have huge luggages with You, also remember that you’ll have to drag your luggages through the Médina - uneven cobblestones, potholes, dirt roads etc - for about a cool 5 mins so make sure you’ve got a hardy luggage.

What we wished we had time for was to read a book or watch Netflix by the fire place.

Would I recommend anyone to stay here? Most def.

It’s really nice to come back to a pleasant Riad after a day out and about haggling at the should and walking all over Marrakech, I can tell you that.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NarmaAnilzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliancarl, Propriétaire at Riad Danka, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you so much for your visit an your comment. Happy Birthday again, kindness all this year with many travels.
Come back to visit us nextly.
Thanks for all details about our riad. We take care about your comment each time to improve with our work.
Be sure, it's always a real pleasure to welcome people from around the world.
Danka's team
Carl & Lilian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

As other people say, the Riad is up a dark alley but we never found this a problem once we found your bearings. We were greeted with tea on arrival and were happy with our first impressions, inside is nicely decorated and clean. We stayed 7 nights in a "deluxe" room, unfortunately our TV didn't work during our entire stay and the shower head was cracked and sprayed water everywhere. We also wanted to use our room safe, however this didn't work either, the staff had no idea how to operate it so we had to keep our cash/passports in their safe. I'm sure our belongings would have been fine but as the room doors don't actually lock, you can't be too careful.
Breakfast was good and always fresh with pleasant service, it's a shame they don't offer a choice as we had the same breakfast 7 mornings on the trot (except for the one piece of fruit we received each day which did change).
As we were informed the Riads hammam was free, we mistakenly thought this included a massage, wrong ! a massage is 80 euros PP, which we think is quite expensive.
The Riad staff booked an excursion to Atlas for us, which was worthwhile doing.
Danka organised our transfers from the Airport but the taxi will only get you so far at certain times of day, you then have to get your luggage into a "barrow" where a local guy will then walk you to the Riad, around 15-20 mins. It was confusing as we didn't know if we had to pay the "barrow guy", or if he was included. We finished up paying anyway due to the language barrier.
Also a good idea to take Euros if travelling from Europe, often things are cheaper with Euro rather than Dirhams. You would also save 5% which Danka charge for using your CC.

Room Tip: Rooms have views into inner courtyard, they all seem pretty similar.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Noggin312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liliancarl, Propriétaire at Riad Danka, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018
Google Translation

Bonjour Alan Main, merci pour votre temps précieux pour envoyer ce commentaire. Désolé que votre séjour ne s'est pas déroulé comme vous le souhaitiez.
- Désolé du problème de TV qui était un problème technique lié la ville
- Vous avez dans chaque chambre un manuel en français et un anglais pour l'utilisation de votre coffre fort
- Nous sommes une maison d'hôtes (pas une grande enseigne d'hôtel). Nous proposons tous les matins un petit-déjeuner complet fait maison et pas un buffet. Notre lieu se prête à "une vie de famille"
- Je ne sais pas quoi vous répondre "massages gratuits" .... vous avez réservé un hammam/gommage/massage pendant 1 heure et 30 minutes avec une masseuse. il semble logique, comme tous les services, de régler votre prestation. En revanche, oui l'ACCES au hammam est gratuit pour nos convives quand ils le souhaitent ce qui n'est pas le cas dans tous les établissements.
- OUF heureux d'apprendre que vous apprécier votre excursion : au moins une bonne chose
- FAUX : nous sommes à 3 minutes à pied de la Place Jamaa EL fan et non à 15/20 minutes (je le fais quotidiennement)
- Le carrossa (sur la place) offre ses services pour porter vos bagages, vous avez le choix ou pas de l'utiliser. Vous avez décidé de faire appel à lui, il est logique de le regler (50 dirhams, soit moins de 5 euros)
- Enfin, il est faux d'induire en erreur les futurs voyageurs sur le fait qu'il est preferable de régler vos achats en mendia ou à Marrakech en euros plutôt qu'en dirhams. Le commerçant vous fera régler à l'euro supérieur et vous fera un change en sa faveur et non l'inverse ce qui est tout à fait logique.
Bref... nous espérons avoir répondu à toutes vos "interrogations" sur votre séjour Marocain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this riad for 2 nights and it was fantastic. I love love love the interiors.. It looks cozy and pleasing. Staff is wonderful. Very accommodating! The only reason why it's 4 stars rather than 5 is because of its location. The riad is in the heart of the Medina but you may have to pass by short dark alleys to get to the bazaars. Other than that, the riad is very lovely. And oh, breakfast was great!!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa D, Propriétaire at Riad Danka, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thanks Jade for your comment and your stay. We understand well, Medina is for some people strange. The magie of the medina is to discover place like us hidden after small streets. The paradise is hidden and he is offer only for few nice guests.
Thanks to appreciate our decoration : it's our second job so always happy to read comment about that
Our staff is the best of Marrakech for sure, he's always happy to take time and consideration for our guests.
ahhh the breakfast : home made cookie, home made yaourt, home made crepe, home made batbot... it's the best meal of the day so it has to be complete and delicious.
Come back to visit us and i ll show you nice place of the medina like ours
see you soon
Carl & Lilian
Danka's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

I was here for 3 nights, the staff was 100% attentive to all my needs, I was traveling alone and felt SO comfortable, the place is beautiful beyond the pics. They helped me organize a trip to the mountains, the breakfast was perfect and the location was very manageable, easy walk to the main square and out of the Medina, steps away from Nomad restaurant and other great food options. Thank you for hosting me!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa D, Propriétaire at Riad Danka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thanks a lot Christian for your visit and your wonderful comment. It's always a pleasure to help our guests like it was friends or family. It's helpful to discover our wonderfull country ...isnt't it ? happy you appreciate our house, you're welcome whenever you want.
All the best again for 2018
Danka's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews