We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Ranked #32 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Immediately prior to our 2 night stay at the Riad les Trois Palmiers we stayed at a marginally cheaper riad nearby which provided a good point of comparison. Patrick and his staff were very welcoming and kind enough to allow us to keep our room until 6pm on our day of departure. Riad les Trois Palmiers deserves its good service awards however the standard of the accommodation and value for money fell well short of expectations. I booked one of the lower priced rooms and on arrival Patrick kindly gave us a free upgrade to a ‘larger’ one which measured approx. 12 x 9 feet (Idrisside). This was less than half the size of the room at our previous riad, in which we also had very nice banquet seating area. The room had been rearranged since the website photos were taken; there was no TV or seating corner, the two chairs were jammed in the small space between the bed and the side wall and the wall light switches were no longer next to the bed. There was very little space in which to put our suitcases without falling over them. The bed was comfortable, the linen good quality and the internet worked but whereas our previous riad had been freshly and tastefully decorated, at Riad les Trios Palmiers the décor and furnishings were dull and tired. In the bathroom the tiling and taps looked like they needed a good deep clean. Some of the dispensers for the toiletries were broken and there was an unwrapped (used?) bar of soap left on the shelf in the shower. The cracked shower head worked well but the water drained very slowly despite removing the plughole grill as suggested by one of the staff.
The homemade yoghurt was delicious but we avoided the pancakes because there were a number of hairs on them, and the French pastries were rather dry. Our previous riad offered a much wider choice and a far better quality breakfast; needless to say we didn’t opt to eat dinner!
Because Riad les Trois Palmiers is two joined properties it has the feel of a small hotel and the larger number of guests means more potential for noise. We were disturbed by loud talking and laughing late at night and the close proximity to a mosque meant that we were woken before daybreak by the call to prayer. Additionally our sleep was disturbed by something mechanical cutting in and out through the night, for which a staff member could give no explanation. The riad organised an airport transfer, for which we were charged 150dhs (less than advertised) but instead of using one of their drivers as suggested on their website, they hailed us a taxi. When we arrived at the airport the driver seemed concerned that we may have been overcharged and asked what we had paid; he told us that he had been given just 70dhs for the journey.
Given how pleasant Patrick and his staff were I’m sorry to post a poor review but, based on my experience, there are other cheaper raids nearby which offer a significantly higher standard of accommodation and better value for money than the Riad les Trois Palmiers.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank dianebC8109NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

We spent three nights in this Riad. The Riad is so nice and location is good.

Breakfast is good and we can have breakfast in the terrace, that is so nice.

Service is excellent, and all the staff and the owner are great and friendly people.

We like to spend the time in terrace, that is so relax.

We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SnowSnow15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpat-Marrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you, Hong-Kong, we were pleased to welcome you.
All the best from Marrakech.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My sister and I stayed at the Riad Les Trois Palmiers for 4 nights and had a brilliant time. The host, Patrick, was extremely welcoming and laid on some traditional mint tea and pastries on arrival, told us about the history of the riad and gave us some maps to get us back out the warren of Marrakesh's little streets!

Our room was lovely with everything you would need, we had breakfast every morning and the staff were all delightful and would do anything to help.

The location of the riad is right next to the souks and just a short 10 minute walk to the main square (unless you get lost in the souks in which case it's about 3 hours!)

I would highly recommend using the airport transfer service that the hotel provides and also the Atlas Mountains day trip was a real highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hope1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpat-Marrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

My dear English guests, we were all happy to welcome you both sisters, to share our advices about our city of Marrakech and to help you to organize your stay with us.
Thank you for sharing your feedback and hope to see you again.
Caroline and Pat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights in this riad and had a lovely time. The interior is amazing, with three floors and an open aired middle. the view from the top floor was great and you can get a great view of the city.

Location is good. It is in a a quiet part of the medina, but with only 10 min walking distance to the main square. they have a security guard, who will walk you home the last few blocks if needed (just to be safe).

Breakfast is good but simple with some croissants, fresh orange juice, jam, fruit and yoghurt and coffee. although having breakfast up on the terrace, with birds chirpibg around you is a great way to start the day.

Service is excellent, and all the staff and the owner are great and friendly people.

The only down side was that the wifi was working quite poorly and sometimes we didn't have any signal in our room on the top floor.

The beds were also a bit hard for my taste, but guess that's a matter of preference.

All in all, a great stay. and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Haugtussa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpat-Marrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

My dear Norwegian guests, thank you so much for this review. 11 years later, we are still happy when we receive such compliments as excellent, friendly, great, etc so really, it's a big big thank you from all of us.
Caroline, Pat, Dalila, Dhiba, Habiba, Djamila, Ali, Youssef, Anas, Hamid, Mustapha and Khalid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

After a 12 day trip throughout Morocco, staying in humble places, this luscious Riad with exquisite staff and amenities was a balm for my soul. It is beautiful, it is tucked away off the crazy alleyways of the Medina and it is a trip into the past. The food outstanding (best homemade yogurt ever!), the sheets and towels divine and the décor delightful. I would return to Marrakech just to stay here again. Thank you Patrick!

Room Tip: The main floor rooms will be the noisiest as they are right off of the public area/plunge pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aprilm889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 km away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
579 reviews
1.4 km away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
500 reviews
0.6 km away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#30 of 499 in Marrakech
477 reviews
1.2 km away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 499 in Marrakech
1,093 reviews
0.9 km away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Address: 35 - 36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha Medina, Marrakech 44030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: RM331 - RM547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Trois Palmiers El Bacha is an amazing house built in the 18th century by a rich family of Marrakech. Very well located in the middle of the souks, Caroline and Patrick bought this Boutique-Hotel 10 years ago, made 2 years of renovation and decoration. They offer now 12 rooms, 2 pools, 2 courtyards, 3 terraces and a stunning overview on the Medina and the Atlas Mountains. They will both make unforgettable holidays for you. They will welcome you personally to Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Palmiers Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing