We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little guest house in the real Marrakech”
Review of Riad Lhena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Lhena
Ranked #503 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Riad Lhena consists of about half a dozen rooms. Pleasant helpful staff, comfy beds, reasonable plumbing and plenty of power points (although we could have done with a kettle!). 24 hour "reception", who will book taxis for you and make a drink for you in the small hours. The breakfast is a bit carb-heavy consisting of bread, preserves, cheese spread, pancakes and tea/coffee. Its's close to the souks and you have to go down a couple of narrow alleys to get there - mopeds all over the place also go down the alleys! It's about a 15 minute fast walk through the market square to get to the main road for a taxi which was the only real minus of this riad as I wouldn't have minded staying longer there, very peaceful. If I came back to Marrakech I would consider Riad Lhena again.

Room Tip: Listen to the advice the staff give you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhondajune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely time staying at the Riad Lhena. Slightly disappointed at the outset as the plunge pool was not in action during our stay 22-29 September. If we had known this we would have stayed elsewhere as we needed a dip after a morning in the souks. We remedied this by visiting the local water park twice, and this added more cost to our trip. Despite this slight disappointment however, the riad is still by far good value for money and has pretty, authentic, touches and surroundings. As other people have written, perfectly situated in the heart of the medina, but amazingly you can't hear the hustle and bustle of the city from inside. The hosts were hospitable. Breakfast had the lovely touch of something new on offer each day. Downsides would be that aircon was limited to 18 degrees therefore at times we were too hot. Also be prepared for an intimate stay as the walls are incredibly thin between rooms. Unfortunately we were placed on the ground floor and were woken up at times due to noise. It would be perfect for a group of friends or a family to hire out the whole Riad or for those who are heavy sleepers. The bed was very comfy, good quality covers. Toiletries were provided. Shower was adequate. Bedding and towels were changed when asked. Floor was not cleaned throughout our stay. Our bedroom light was broken which meant our room was quite dim. The rooftop terrace was stunning and a lovely place to rest and chill out after a hectic day. Overall we were happy with our stay and very happy to have ventured to a more authentic and different experience than a typical hotel.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChloePike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

My wife, daughter and myself came for a week and really liked the riad.

The staff were friendly and attentive without being pushy and nothing was too much trouble. Like a previous reviewer, we had the Princess room - large double and a large single bed. The bath is magnificent - a real walk in - but there was no plug.

We had one of the riad's evening meals - a salad, a tagine and a fruit salad - all of which were excellent - the only downside was that the lighting was so dim in the courtyard that it was almost impossible to see the food - I am partially sighted and mobility impaired so needed to take great care until I had "learnt the layout"

The riad is about 500m to the main square (Jemal el Fna) and is down a fairly narrow alley. The square is basically closed to traffic from about 13;00 so you will need to have enough "ready cash" (about 50 Dhirams) to rent a hand-truck and porter to get from the drop-off point to the Riad - make sure you get some currency before you leave the airport.

Overall - a nice, clean and tranquil place to stay with easy access to the main square at a price I found pretty unbelievable - but it's worth searching as the prices were quite varied - and a place I'd come back to if/when I go back to Marrakech

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

The riad is amazing and the hosts are so friendly and welcoming. You will not regret your decision to stay here. It is very quiet and peaceful and the owners will accommodate you in the best way possible. Also the location is fantastic very easy to wall to many places of interest aswell as restaurants. Do not miss out!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Anne-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

My girl friends and I came to stay at this Riad in March/April 2016 3 times during our stay in Morocco. We stayed in the princess room which in on the bottom floor which has 1 queen size bed and 1 full size bed. Between the 3 of us we paid $20usd each person. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and beautiful this place was for the price that we paid. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a safe in the room but the code to program it doesn't work so you can use a key to open and close it and they ask you to leave the keys in a cabinet with them before you leave the premise. Overall we felt very safe here and didn't worry about any of our valuables being stolen.
Getting to the Riad was also very easy. We arranged for a pickup from the hotel which was $15usd and a driver dropped us off a the main entrance of Djama el Fna and a staff member named Mohammad met us there and walked us to the Riad and showed us some good places to grab some food along the way. We would have been wondering around for a long time if he didn't show us the way first. If you have a lot of bags and don't want to take that walk thru crowd, if you get there before 1pm the driver will be able to drive into the square and you will save a lot of energy from carrying your luggage around.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jamaree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 km away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#50 of 1,186 in Marrakech
388 reviews
1.4 km away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#75 of 499 in Marrakech
2,134 reviews
3.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 499 in Marrakech
1,336 reviews
6.2 km away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.3 km away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#271 of 499 in Marrakech
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lhena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lhena

Address: 75 Derb Moulay Abdel Kader | Dabachi - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: RM204 - RM306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Lhena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lhena is located in a quiet neighbourhood just steps away from the bustling Jmaa El Fna, the storied marketplace at the heart of the Medina. The beautiful roof terrace offers views across the Marrakech rooftops to the ancient Koutoubia mosque. The relaxing courtyard and cosy salon with open fireplace will give every guest a memorable stay in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Lhena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing