We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room, unpleasant owner”
Review of Dar Al Batoul

Dar Al Batoul
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rabat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dar Al Batoul
Ranked #35 of 51 Rabat B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a really striking classic riad with a gorgeous courtyard and a nice roof. The rooms are pleasant and there is a daily cleaning service. The two young men that work here are very kind and attentive. I give this a poor rating because of the nastiness of the owner...just be prepared to deal with some negativity and a surprise bill at the end of your stay. Other negatives include the breakfast, which isn't really served warm, the poor wifi, and a lack of security (no locks to your room).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srujacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Really convenient location on the edge of the medina, very close to the kasbah. This is very useful because its verty easy to get lost in the medina/souks, especially after dark.
The decoration of the communal areas of this hotel are very beautiful and the rooms are nicely decorated, although a little small & you need to watch your head entering the bathrooms!
The staff are helpful too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porgester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I was prepared for the worst and now I am a little bit puzzled why this place had received so many bad reviews in the past. Maybe it has changed hands in the meantime and some of the problems mentioned have been fixed. I stayed there for 2 nights with my son at the beginning of our Morocco trip this June. The place was clean and due to the fact that we were the only guests the first evening, we could choose a room that appeared fit for a sultan. The attendant who welcomed us spoke French and was very helpful. The riad is located just inside the Medina, close to the Kasbah Oudaia. We never felt unsafe in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbychef_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

No TV, no safe, no key to lock your room.
No hot water before ten minutes with the tap open (good for ecology and draught!).
Bad breakfast. Scary owner indeed. Unpleasant to find out at the last minute that the price published in the Internet does not include taxes and breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlicanteTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

It is true, you cannot lock the rooms, but this is not really necessary because the riad is wel kept and closed from the outside. This is the case with all the riads in Morocco as we experienced.... The rooms are very tiny but beautiful decorated and worth while staying in it. It is difficult to find a tourist restaurant in the neighbourhood. We went to a pizza restaurant with our guid, this was very good but pretty far away. Rabat medina is not a good place to walk on your one at nigt, always take your tourguide or a taxi outside the medina.
The hotel was quiet, but you will wake up early with Allah! You receive a good breakfast in the centercourt of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveldreamers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabat hotels
4.3 km away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
1 km away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#15 of 45 in Rabat
151 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Lutece
Hotel Lutece
#20 of 45 in Rabat
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Ibis Rabat Agdal
Ibis Rabat Agdal
#21 of 45 in Rabat
342 reviews
0.2 km away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 45 in Rabat
530 reviews
1.5 km away
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Batoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Batoul

Address: 7 Derb Jirari, Rabat 10030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing