We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Pearl revisited”
Review of Blue Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Pearl Hotel
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 4 December 2015

The rooms are spacious and clean. This is the best feature of the hotel. I was on a business trip and stayed for 5 nights. The Wifi is a no no and works intermittently. I was there 18 months ago and stayed for a month - then only one lift was working - now it is the same - one lift. It is slow and stifling inside because there is no working fan. Three times it was also out of order and had to use the adjacent building lift, walk across to the hotel on the 9th floor and climb 4 flights of stairs to the 13th floor where my room was. The restaurant is bland but breakfast and dinners were good. The hotel is unfortunately situated in an unsavoury area and security is a BIG risk as the rooms are not equipped with a safe.

Room Tip: As far away from the huge church as possible - it is VERY noisy especially weekends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank josibliksem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2015

I stayed here for 2 weeks in a bedroomed apartment and I recommend hem for business clients only as its not quite ideal for a family thats looking for self catering homely apartments as such..because they dont allow cooking in the apartment

Room Tip: Get as top floor as you can for quiet rooms away from the hustle and bustle of cars on Morogoro Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet N, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Esteemed Guest,

We thank you for choosing us to host you on the occasion of your visit to Dar es salaam and also for taking your precious time to write a review regarding your stay.

We note that you recommend our hotel for business visitors. We totally agree with your view as we are generally a business hotel. Visitors in transit also find Blue Pearl Hotel quite ideal as we are a walking distance from Ubungo Bus Terminal where one can board buses to all over Tanzania and to neighboring countries.

Thanks again and we look forward to see you on your next visit to Dar es salaam
Best Regards
Mr.Sumeet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

This is an old and ugly building both from outside and inside. Probably constructed in 70ies. Room and linen was not clean. Food was bad too and you do not have any options around the building.

I've been taken there by the local partner and checked out (run away!) the next morning.

The company that made the booking has paid 80 USD (ripoff for this hotel and quality) for a night. Next day they booked a seafront hotel in peninsula for 100 USD...

Other reviews wrote that there is no reliable WiFi, which is very much true, but the hotel management promise that it works perfectly.

I'd not stay there any more and would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, find another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbalsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet N, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Dear esteemed guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. Sir,I would wish that you had
reported any shortfalls you saw in the room to our reception staff instead of running away.
They would probably have changed rooms for you.

As this is a matter of utmost concern to us, could you please Sir, sent an email
to Sumeet@bluepearlhoteltz.com and give more information regarding what made you
unhappy about your stay? This will help us to improve the service we offer
to our guests.

We have 154 apartments and not all are furnished the same way. It is possible you were not
happy with the kind of décor that was in your room. The hotel building is the most modern in our location, a twin tower with one tower comprising our 13 storey Blue Pearl Hotel, a rooftop swimming pool with beautiful all round views and a seven storey office building, shops, banks,atms,16 conference halls, a gym, 2 restaurants, including a garden restaurant a modern pub - Pub blue Shiffon, we pride ourselves to be the premier business destination for Business and Leisure. We are also a walking distance to Ubungo bus terminal where one can board busses to all over Tanzania and to neighboring countries and this makes us the ideal Transit hotel in Dar es salaam.

Your email may just be the one to help us polish up any shortfalls that we have and we look forward to hear from you. In the meantime we remain with,

Best Regards

Mr.Sumeet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

I stayed here 1 night while passing through Dar and on my way to Kigoma. My employer booked this hotel and requested for a shuttle to pick me up from the airport as I arrived late at night. Unfortunately no one showed up and I ended up taking a taxi there. No problem with check in and hotel staff brought me to my room because it was a big premise and I probably would've gotten lost.

The room I was in was very spacious - a living room area with a leather sofa, dining table and counter with refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom was clean and hot water was sufficient. Bed was big and comfortable. In room wifi worked well. I was on the 12th floor and could see a good night view of the city.

The staff was very accommodating. I had to leave for the airport early next morning and they let me take my breakfast at 5:45-6am. They arranged for car to take me to airport and the ride was punctual.

I arrived late at night and had to leave early next morning, but I could say that it was a comfortable stay for a night to catch up on sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank becca108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet N, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Dear esteemed guest,

We thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We have noted about the delayed airport pickup and are pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on the occasion of your visit to Dar es salaam and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Mr.Sumeet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Since I reviewed this Hotel last year when it unfortunately closed down while I was there , I have since been back on two occasions. I can therefore report that the Hotel has been fully restored to its previous condition.The staff are very friendly and try to ensure your stay is to your satisfaction.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumeet N, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Dear Esteemed Guest,
We thank you for your fabulous review. Our hotel is indeed back to being the best and largest all suite apartment hotel in Dar es salaam with a wide offering of superior suites of affordable prices, conferences and fine dining. We aim to keep improving and making our guests to feel valued and comfortable just like home. Next time you visit, you are welcome to relax in our newly opened club, “Pub Blue Shiffon” on the ground floor. The entrance is at the now refurbished hotel lounge. It is the best club in the area and you will enjoy great vibes by a great DJ, all sorts of drinks and cocktails are served here not to mention the delicious snacks and bites. Entrance to the club is free for our hotel residents
Thank you Sir, for your continued support. Warm regards to you and your family and we look forward to host you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 km away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#46 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
8.2 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#35 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
150 reviews
7.1 km away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#33 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
57 reviews
7.9 km away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#66 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
3.8 km away
Seashells Millennium Hotel
Seashells Millennium Hotel
#37 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pearl Hotel

Address: Morogoro Road, Ubungo Plaza | P.O. Box 4868, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: RM165 - RM572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Pearl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the blossoming Ubungo area in Dar es Salaam, the Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments is the largest all apartment-suite style hotel in the country and offers a wide selection of luxurious suites, conference venue and fine dining. We offer the best of business, leisure and luxury in the area with excellent amenities including the only rooftop swimming pool in Dar es Salaam. All of our spacious suites include air-conditioning, large beds, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast served from 6am to 10am in the Famished Restaurant. Our proximity to the Dar es Salaam University Campus and Mlimani City Shopping Centre as well as inter-city bus and train stations makes us a premier destination for travellers, business people and conference groups. For Luxury and Value, visit The Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments – The Largest Apartment Hotel and Premiere Conference Destination in the Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing