We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place for a good sleep”
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Inn
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Having returned to Dar Es salaam I needed a place to stay local to all the eateries the the location had to offer. Presented is safari inn, at budget price which includes very good free wifi and shared lounge area which includes a TV. You will also find a fridge for cold drinks and water and also somewhere to keep your lunch.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ImtiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Appreciate your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Its cheap and within walking distance of the ferry and plenty of good/cheap restaurants.

You might feel a bit uneasy about walking round the area late at night on your own, but once inside it feels OK.

There are plenty of backpackers around and there's a sitting area with wifi and TV. Staff are helpful and friendly.

Rooms are pretty basic and one of us had hot water, the other didnt.

I would stay again for a night or two if passing through. There isnt much reason to be in Dar for any longer than that anyway!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank PaulIanLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for comments. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. If you will come this way again, I hope you’ll consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We first got a fowl smelling twin room instead of the booked double room. After changing the room, thinks took a better turn. Only, the bednet was to small for a double bed, leaving us exposed at night. Luckily not many mosquitoes during the dry season. The breakfast is ok, if you pay a small (1000tsh) extra for eggs.
Although I couldn't compare to similar places in Dar, I think, you get what you expect for this price range.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lukas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you Lukas for the review.

Given that cleanliness and ambiance is something we put emphasis on, the foul odor in the room was a surprise.
As for the bednet, that also is a surprise as it is an important component for us and we make sure guests are fully protected. Perhaps the unfamiliarity of setting the bednet might have contributed, but we will be pleased to assist next time you visit.

Our breakfast is mini continental and we charge a nominal fee for extras, but it is less expensive than other restaurants. We understand the budget constraints of travelling and have priced our services accordingly.

Hope this helps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Safari Inn for one night.

When I checked in the staff we helpful.

The room was terrible - it was on the third floor with no lift. There was no mosquito net and there was a very loud night club or bar nearby which played music all night and made sleep near impossible.

I arrived from the bus station late and was hungry, but there is no restaurant in the evening which is worth noting if you are also arriving late. The hotel is in a very dodgy part of town,so I wasn't really up for a walk in the dark.

On the plus side there was hot water.

When I was leaving, around sun rise time the staff refused to help me get a taxi! Instead the men behind reception gave some vague instructions and told me to go and walk in the dark with my bags to the taxi rank which was ten mins away. I asked a second time if they could hail one for me - they said to walk.

I left the hostel and immediately a security guard in the street hailed a cab when I asked him to - which is much more typical of Tanzanian hospitality.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying.We saw your review and apologize for your experience howsoever it might have happened.We shall investigate and take corrective actions based on your observations and shall ensure that staff are behaving in a very hospitable manner.
We have engaged a professional team to check the housekeeping, cleanliness and all the amenities and to ensure the rooms are in the finest condition before a new guest is checked in.It is our earnest request to make note of the actions and reconsider your decision.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I stayed at the Safari Inn several years ago. We stayed here during our recent trip because I remembered it being accessible and affordable. The rooms were exactly as I remember them. They were basic, self-contained, with hot water, good water pressure, and ceiling fans. There was AC available for extra cost in some of the rooms. We would not recommend the AC, as it can not be easily adjusted and makes the room very cold. The one update that was noticed since my last stay was complimentary Wifi in the lobby. The staff was helpful and accommodating.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on a budget and looking for a no frills place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifesaver82-11-04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking a moment to comment about our hotel. I'm so pleased that your experience was nice enough here that you would recommend us to others. I hope you have a chance to do that. If you have family members, friends or colleagues traveling in this area, make sure they know about our hotel. We'll do a great job meeting their needs too.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#35 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
150 reviews
1 km away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#29 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
30 reviews
0.6 km away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#43 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#46 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
6.3 km away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#48 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
0.3 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#11 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Address: Band Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: RM65 - RM102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing