We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap price, cheap experience”
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Inn
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Cheap hotel, you get what you pay for. Main redeeming feature is proximity to Zanzibar ferry terminal. Stayed for 1 night before going to Zanzibar and did not want to stay longer. Basic lodgings, although I will admit clean. The air con did work so that was a bonus. Customer service severely lacking. Prices on hostelworld are USD but at the hotel are tanzanian shillings so quite cheaper if you just pay on arrival in TSH

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank livreynoldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Rooms are small and not too clean, but just about manageable. The breakfast was also disappointing and very minimal. Rooms have mosquito nets but some have large holes in so they're rather useless. Whilst the hotel itself is generally quite clean, you have to walk through a rather filthy alley way to get to it, which may not be the fault of the hotel but it's still an issue. Not great but forgivable for the low price.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank denzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

I am sorry to differ with the guest. We are very religious about cleanliness and are quick to correct any deficiencies. Our hotel is very old but we work very hard to make sure guests dont feel that way.
Re: Alley access to our front entrance, you are right. Unfortunately, due to encroachment of developers, our access to the street is the alleyway we share with other neighbors. Supervision of the alleyway is a challenges despite diligent attempts to keep it clean. Very hard to do during rainy season.
And yes, our prices are the best. So thank you!
Welcome Again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Not as easy to find because you hace to go through an alley that at night might seem dangerous (it's not). Very basic rooms but with hot water. Very basic breakfast (bread, coffee and a banana). WiFi only on the lobby. Very near to ferry spot (about 5 blocks). Difficult to find a beer, all restaurants around don't sell. Not all rooms have A/C

Room Tip: No elevator so be careful if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you for your review.

Safari Inn was built much earlier than the surrounding development, hence the accessway (alley) is the conduit from the main street to our entrance.
We have posted plenty of signs and given that we are older than fred flinstone :), ask anyone in town and they will guide you to us. Plus we are in the centre of town.

Yes, our rooms, amenities and other services are basic but very clean and inviting. We are a budget hotel, hence we have to adhere to a certain service model to keep it affordable.
Our rooms do have airconditioning; however, it is an extra charge as electric utilities are very expensive.
Hope this help clarify your expectations.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Having returned to Dar Es salaam I needed a place to stay local to all the eateries the the location had to offer. Presented is safari inn, at budget price which includes very good free wifi and shared lounge area which includes a TV. You will also find a fridge for cold drinks and water and also somewhere to keep your lunch.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ImtiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Appreciate your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Its cheap and within walking distance of the ferry and plenty of good/cheap restaurants.

You might feel a bit uneasy about walking round the area late at night on your own, but once inside it feels OK.

There are plenty of backpackers around and there's a sitting area with wifi and TV. Staff are helpful and friendly.

Rooms are pretty basic and one of us had hot water, the other didnt.

I would stay again for a night or two if passing through. There isnt much reason to be in Dar for any longer than that anyway!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank PaulIanLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for comments. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. If you will come this way again, I hope you’ll consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.5 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#38 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
152 reviews
1 km away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#33 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
33 reviews
6.3 km away
Mesuma Hotel
Mesuma Hotel
#47 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#62 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
89 reviews
0.6 km away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#41 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
172 reviews
0.3 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#11 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Address: Band Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: RM 58 - RM 109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing