We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$293
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$169
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$87
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sophia House Hotel & Apartments(Dar es Salaam)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Airport Guesthouse(Dar es Salaam)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Abla Hotel Apartments(Dar es Salaam)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
11
44
62
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
44
62
29
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Rooms are small and not too clean, but just about manageable. The breakfast was also disappointing and very minimal. Rooms have mosquito nets but some have large holes in so they're rather useless. Whilst the hotel itself is generally quite clean, you have to walk through a rather filthy alley way to get to it, which may not be the fault of the hotel but it's still an issue. Not great but forgivable for the low price.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank denzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

I am sorry to differ with the guest. We are very religious about cleanliness and are quick to correct any deficiencies. Our hotel is very old but we work very hard to make sure guests dont feel that way.
Re: Alley access to our front entrance, you are right. Unfortunately, due to encroachment of developers, our access to the street is the alleyway we share with other neighbors. Supervision of the alleyway is a challenges despite diligent attempts to keep it clean. Very hard to do during rainy season.
And yes, our prices are the best. So thank you!
Welcome Again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Not as easy to find because you hace to go through an alley that at night might seem dangerous (it's not). Very basic rooms but with hot water. Very basic breakfast (bread, coffee and a banana). WiFi only on the lobby. Very near to ferry spot (about 5 blocks). Difficult to find a beer, all restaurants around don't sell. Not all rooms have A/C

Room Tip: No elevator so be careful if you have heavy luggage.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carlos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you for your review.

Safari Inn was built much earlier than the surrounding development, hence the accessway (alley) is the conduit from the main street to our entrance.
We have posted plenty of signs and given that we are older than fred flinstone :), ask anyone in town and they will guide you to us. Plus we are in the centre of town.

Yes, our rooms, amenities and other services are basic but very clean and inviting. We are a budget hotel, hence we have to adhere to a certain service model to keep it affordable.
Our rooms do have airconditioning; however, it is an extra charge as electric utilities are very expensive.
Hope this help clarify your expectations.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Having returned to Dar Es salaam I needed a place to stay local to all the eateries the the location had to offer. Presented is safari inn, at budget price which includes very good free wifi and shared lounge area which includes a TV. You will also find a fridge for cold drinks and water and also somewhere to keep your lunch.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ImtiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Appreciate your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Its cheap and within walking distance of the ferry and plenty of good/cheap restaurants.

You might feel a bit uneasy about walking round the area late at night on your own, but once inside it feels OK.

There are plenty of backpackers around and there's a sitting area with wifi and TV. Staff are helpful and friendly.

Rooms are pretty basic and one of us had hot water, the other didnt.

I would stay again for a night or two if passing through. There isnt much reason to be in Dar for any longer than that anyway!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank PaulIanLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safariinntanzania, webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for comments. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. If you will come this way again, I hope you’ll consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We first got a fowl smelling twin room instead of the booked double room. After changing the room, thinks took a better turn. Only, the bednet was to small for a double bed, leaving us exposed at night. Luckily not many mosquitoes during the dry season. The breakfast is ok, if you pay a small (1000tsh) extra for eggs.
Although I couldn't compare to similar places in Dar, I think, you get what you expect for this price range.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lukas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thank you Lukas for the review.

Given that cleanliness and ambiance is something we put emphasis on, the foul odor in the room was a surprise.
As for the bednet, that also is a surprise as it is an important component for us and we make sure guests are fully protected. Perhaps the unfamiliarity of setting the bednet might have contributed, but we will be pleased to assist next time you visit.

Our breakfast is mini continental and we charge a nominal fee for extras, but it is less expensive than other restaurants. We understand the budget constraints of travelling and have priced our services accordingly.

Hope this helps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews