We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice Weekend getaway from Dar City

I visited Mbudya Island with my family and it was such a nice weekend well spent there.Its cool... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
PETERTEMU
,
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Never a dull moment

Mbudya island is situated about 30mins boat ride from Dar, the trip can either start from slipway... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
juki2018
,
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
via mobile
Read all 403 reviews
  
translated by Google
Recommended experiences in and around Dar es Salaam
from US$550.00
More Info
from US$681.00
More Info
from US$552.00
More Info
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
201
143
51
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
143
51
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster white sands hotel boat ride park fee day trip clear water kunduchi beach hotel nice beach low tide pine trees fish and chips food and drinks bring your own cold drinks marine reserve relaxing place get away
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

If You're Looking for a Day off from the Busy and chaotic life of Dar es Salaam, Then Mbudya Island is the perfect gate away location,
This place has the perfect water to take a Dip (Deep water), Lovely Fresh Sea Food and the most relaxing atmosphere!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank SalmanKhan786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Easy to get there. Take a taxi to Waterworld and then the small ferry to the island. For lunch fresh fish with pommes frittes and beer. You can rent some ok snorkeling equipment for almost no cost. Really nice for relaxing and swimming in lovely water!

Date of experience: January 2017
1  Thank Nicole_Sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We were a family of 5 plus 3 friends, all grown ups. We came there by boat from "Water World" where we already paid the entrance fee. Arriving on the island we were welcomed by the guards that wanted to collect the fee or see our tickets. We then walked across the island to a beautiful beach where we were almost by ourselves. We snorkeled the whole day and it was just wonderful! So many fishes, starfishes and other animals in the nice looking corals! For lunch the most had lobster or fish. Me as a vegetarian in the group asked for some vegetables, but they didn't understand. So I only had chips. Now to the sad part: I don't understand, why there is so much waste all over the island! Me and my mom walked a bit on the other side and there was one place full of waste! Even on the beach, where we stayed there was a lot of metal and other stuff lying around. My father collected some and put it in a ton. After our stay the ton was completely full! Also at the 'restaurant' there was a lot of trash lying around. When I collected some bottles and other stuff, the staff asked me, why I do that, if I want to keep them. I said, that I think this trash should not lie around and put it into another ton, that was completely empty! I don't understand, what's going on there. It is a NATIONAL PARK. You have to pay entrance fee. And they don't care about the environment! That was very sad :(

Date of experience: January 2017
5  Thank Shari v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

15 mins by boat from mainland Tanzania. Very quiet and great to isolate yourself for a relaxing day.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Hoolass L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Good location and great food. Can get crowded but the area is big. Although it does get pricey. Overall a nice experience.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank AG A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews