We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed 3 nights at the Hyatt Kilimanjaro mid December 2011 on business and thoroughly enjoyed my stay! Warm welcome at reception; super helpful staff; impeccable room; twice a day maid service; quick response to any issue raised; wonderful breakfast!
Certainly worth the price (and it is a bit pricey!)
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Choose room facing the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabaZedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 562 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

I travel through Dar at least 4 times a year and frequently stayed at The Kilimanjaro when it was run by Kempinski. Over the years, for whatever reason, the standards dropped and I was on the verge of looking for an alternative.
Last month I stayed there for the first time since Hyatt took over the management and I have to say that there was a marked improvement. Small details like the guest amenities, housekeeping and service seemed to be much better the attitude of staff was positive and friendly. WiFi connectivity in the rooms is good.
I can recommend the Asian resturant on the first floor (it is quite expensive!) where the Thai cuisine on the menu is particularily good.
Ask for a harbour facing room.

Room Tip: harbour facing and as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Twice recently I had the pleasure to stay at the Kilimanjaro - now a Hyatt - and I enjoyed it very much. The rooms are wonderful, especially those with a view of the water and harbour. The public areas are very tastefully remodelled, staff are friendly and helpful. I remember the hotel from the 1980s when it was government-owned and always thought of it as the best hotel with the best location in town. The renovation a few years ago and new management catapulted it into a different league altogether. Great!
The restaurants are very good but also very expensive for Dar es Salaam. A drink at the roof-top bar (formerly the restaurant) is highly recommended.
Conclusion: I can't think of a better place to stay in the whole of East Africa.

Room Tip: If possible, secure a room with a harbour view; rooms at the "back" get city views that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plagist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Our room was well equipped with a great view over the busy harbor. Food in the restaurant was adequate, but nothing special, although service there and at the front desk was very good. Wireless Internet was absurdly slow.

Overall a good if not great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel several times, but last one was in July 2011, when I realized it wasn't managed by Kempinski anymore but Hyatt. The rooms are comfortable, wide, clean, with a good design, room service is still good, tv channels are ok, internet service is ok, restaurant on ground floor is good and staff is still nice. Although the location is the same and it's still a good hotel, you can "feel in the air" that the product offered is in decay. Towels both in the room and the swimming pool look worn, amenities in the room are less, the room service menu was a piece of paper printed in a home printer, toiletries are the same stinky ones you find in every Hyatt, the swimming pool was dirty (full of leaves and insects)...I was disappointed this time mostly because I could see the changes from what it was before, but in general it is still a good place to stay in Dar es Salaam

Room Tip: The ones with a window facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
0.6 km away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#2 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
717 reviews
0.9 km away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
7.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
15.5 km away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro

Address: Kivukoni Street | PO Box 9574, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania (Formerly Kilimanjaro Hotel Kempinski)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#1 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#2 Business Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#6 Family Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: RM898 - RM1,486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a synonym of exclusivity, luxury and service. With 180 modern elegant rooms and impressive exterior Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro is a landmark 5-star hotel in Dar es Salaam. Both business and leisure travellers can experience true European and African comfort at ease. The hotel is regarded as the best hotel in Tanzania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dar Es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Kilimanjaro Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing