We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$293
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$134
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
ABC Travellers Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sophia House Hotel & Apartments(Dar es Salaam)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Abla Hotel Apartments(Dar es Salaam)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
443
256
53
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
256
53
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian restaurantpalm restaurantlevel barinfinity poolgreat rooftop barthe executive loungewonderful hotelfitness centerbreakfast buffet ismain restauranttop flooran oasisclean hotelnice poolbusiness triprooms are comfortablesea view
Filter
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I travel through Dar at least 4 times a year and frequently stayed at The Kilimanjaro when it was run by Kempinski. Over the years, for whatever reason, the standards dropped and I was on the verge of looking for an alternative.
Last month I stayed there for the first time since Hyatt took over the management and I have to say that there was a marked improvement. Small details like the guest amenities, housekeeping and service seemed to be much better the attitude of staff was positive and friendly. WiFi connectivity in the rooms is good.
I can recommend the Asian resturant on the first floor (it is quite expensive!) where the Thai cuisine on the menu is particularily good.
Ask for a harbour facing room.

Room Tip: harbour facing and as high up as possible
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Twice recently I had the pleasure to stay at the Kilimanjaro - now a Hyatt - and I enjoyed it very much. The rooms are wonderful, especially those with a view of the water and harbour. The public areas are very tastefully remodelled, staff are friendly and helpful. I remember the hotel from the 1980s when it was government-owned and always thought of it as the best hotel with the best location in town. The renovation a few years ago and new management catapulted it into a different league altogether. Great!
The restaurants are very good but also very expensive for Dar es Salaam. A drink at the roof-top bar (formerly the restaurant) is highly recommended.
Conclusion: I can't think of a better place to stay in the whole of East Africa.

Room Tip: If possible, secure a room with a harbour view; rooms at the "back" get city views that are fine but unremarkable. Higher floors are better for the view, but all rooms are very good for comfort.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plagist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Our room was well equipped with a great view over the busy harbor. Food in the restaurant was adequate, but nothing special, although service there and at the front desk was very good. Wireless Internet was absurdly slow.

Overall a good if not great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed in this hotel several times, but last one was in July 2011, when I realized it wasn't managed by Kempinski anymore but Hyatt. The rooms are comfortable, wide, clean, with a good design, room service is still good, tv channels are ok, internet service is ok, restaurant on ground floor is good and staff is still nice. Although the location is the same and it's still a good hotel, you can "feel in the air" that the product offered is in decay. Towels both in the room and the swimming pool look worn, amenities in the room are less, the room service menu was a piece of paper printed in a home printer, toiletries are the same stinky ones you find in every Hyatt, the swimming pool was dirty (full of leaves and insects)...I was disappointed this time mostly because I could see the changes from what it was before, but in general it is still a good place to stay in Dar es Salaam

Room Tip: The ones with a window facing the sea
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed one week at this Hyatt property (formerly a Kempinski). Great service, centrally located, gorgeous hotel. Rooms are spacious and well maintained -- and quite striking. Restaurants are nice although the food is not spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinlayTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews