We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olduvai Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kirawira Serena Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$660
US$640
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$603
US$446
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Pioneer Camp(Serengeti National Park)
US$1,155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
US$863
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Serengeti Sopa Lodge(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
    US$579
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
    US$1,351
    US$1,275
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Serengeti Tortilis Camp(Serengeti National Park)
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Singita Sasakwa Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (269)
    Filter reviews
    269 results
    Traveller rating
    160
    87
    19
    3
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    160
    87
    19
    3
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssunset walklocal maasaingorongoro craterafrica travelone nightmaasai guidewatch the sunsetshifting sandsguided walkfrench companyrocky outcropcharge devicesan overnight stayafrican landscapegreat opportunitybumpy roadunique experience
    Filter
    Updating list...
    18 - 23 of 269 reviews
    Reviewed 7 August 2017

    Our agency, Africa Travel Resources booked this camp for us because we were on our way from Serengeti to the Ngorogoro crater. The camp is actually a big rock in the middle of a beautiful valley so the whole scene is quite spectacular. We went on a sunset walk with a Masaai guide which they organized for us and we really enjoyed it. The camp has a nice lookout/terrace on top which offers an amazing view on the surrounding valley. The tents are very nice, spacious and comfortable, quite separated from each other which gives you a lot of privacy.
    The service is ok, but the staff were a bit unreliable. We had a very warm welcome from the staff when we arrived, but afterwards the service was quite slow. They weren't easy to find in the camp so on a few occasions we had to look around for them and wait long to get served.

    • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank yalla134
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 July 2017

    We spent 2 nights here on our safari in Tanzania. It was a welcome place after a long day in the Ngorongoro crater. The camp looked amazing as we drove in as it was built around a rock outcropping called a kopje. We had tent #10 which was not close to the main area.

    The tent was comfortable & had low lighting. It had a basic bathroom area with just soap & body gel provided. I did notice some umbrellas by our closet but we didn't need them. It was June & we had no rain. However, it did get quite windy our 2nd day. Also cooled off at night.

    Our first night we took the walk to another set of rocks to watch the sunset ( getting there took about 15 min). We were in small group & accompanied by the Maasai. Early morning coffee at sunrise is offered on the kopje at the camp. My husband & I took advantage of that too. That was really enjoyable but happened to be cold & windy that morning. Breakfast is served later in the dining tent. If you're looking for some souvenirs made by the Maasai, they have a nice selection of beaded items for sale.

    • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Virginia2002
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 June 2017

    We stayed in Olduvai Camp for one night while traveling from Serengeti to Ngorongoro and it was a great decision. The camp is located not too far from the Olduvai archeological site and museum and it was a welcoming place after a long journey. The rooms are comfortable and the attached bathroom pretty basic but adequate with running hot and cold water.
    The camp is run by the Maasai people and they all very friendly. The location on top of the camp offers wonderful views of the surrounding area and the sunset walk with the Maasai guide was very enjoyable and well worth it for the stunning views.
    The camp is nowhere as luxurious as some of the other places we stayed and the service similarly nothing exceptional. The food is simple but tasty and breakfast the next was quite good. They do charge for drinks and we were a little surprised that it includes water as well.
    Overall it was a good experience for an overnight stay and a good value for money. Thanks to our travel agent Africa Travel Resource for suggesting this place.

    Room Tip: It's a fair bit of walk if your tent is farther away from the dining area
    • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank travellover811
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 June 2017

    Stunning views of the valley below from the main dining /firepit area. The tented accomodations were comfortable, quaint and private .

    After a long and eventful day in Ngorongoro Crater and not knowing what to expect of our lodging, this was a beautiful way to end the day. We were warmly welcomed before being escorted by masais to the summit of a kopjes for the sunset.

    our tents were privately tucked away in the rocky outcrops, with an amazing view on the plains.

    These tents are outstandingly appointed with everything you would need.

    • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank choupino56
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 May 2017

    What a fantastic and inspiring place! Peaceful, relaxing, confortable, with a stunning view and a gentle staff.
    A refreshing unique journey in the Land of our early human ancestor Lucy. The perfect and needed transition between the Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti National Park.
    Highly recommended.

    • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank William-George C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews