We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”
Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meikles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Harare for five days on business in June. I was fortunate to have a friend who had stayed at this hotel and recommended it to me. He was not wrong, the hotel for Zim was a very high quality establishment. The rooms were large, very comfortable, and attention to detail was obvious. This appeared to be a holdover from the colonial days with dark woods and much brass to go around on the main lobby. The pool on the top of the hotel was an added plus. The rooms were quiet, with all the normal amenities of a first class hotel. I understood later that I had been housed in the renewed tower of the hotel, so you might ask for that when you arrive. The breakfast in the executive lounge was first rate as was drinks in the evening after a long dusty day out with my clients. Refined elegance at this hotel. Well done.

Room Tip: Higher floors and ask for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us, and we are delighted to have been able to extend our warm hospitality and for you to have had the opportunity to sample our quality and service.
Our staff are the most important asset to our business, and we are pleased that they made your visit special. We continue to strive for greater heights in providing exceptional hospitality experiences to all our guests.
This is borne out by our having been adjudged to be the best City Hotel in Zimbabwe for the 24th consecutive year. We thank you for your support, and look forward to welcoming you back to Meikles Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

It's a good hotel in this African region. Situated in the middle of a market which gives you access to local taste and things one can see. Hotel itself is good. Rooms are big and spacious and have all the facilities required. The staff is friendly and helpful. One of the best part is the hotel has a good cleanliness standard which is highly required due to Malaria threat in this region.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experiences of the Meikles Hotel.
We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay and were able to enjoy our tradition of excellence as Zimbabwe's five star hotel.
As a Member of the Leading Hotels of the World, and for over a century now, Meikles Hotel has been providing warm hospitality of the highest standards to international, regional and local guests, and we are proud of our team and continually strive to maintain a high quality luxury product.
We greatly appreciate your support and look forward to hosting you again when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Meikles hotel as a family ver efficient check in services and briefings staff ver professional
Rooms luxurious well air conditioned smart and upto standard..excellent
WiFi perfect in rooms
Swimming pool good site
Delicious meals at the Pavilion Restaurant and refreshments at the lobby lounge chat..refresh the room service as well very reliable and best services
Our room was good view to the Terrace garden
Will recommend families and couples excellent luxurious hotel ever to be

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Leana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for making time to give us feedback on your recent stay at Meikles Hotel.
We are delighted to have been able to provide you with the 5 star luxury service, product and experience for which Meikles Hotel has been renowned for more than a century.
We thank you and greatly appreciate your support, and such reviews motivate our staff to continue to raise our standards to even higher levels.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Meikles... Zimbabwe's premier hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Established in 1915, this hotel must have witnessed how a country so rich in national resources is today in such dire straits that it does not even have its own universally accepted currency!
The service and ambience is perfect.
We stayed in 1010 which is a huge 2 bedroom suite. The furniture feels a bit rundown but it's rather charming too .
Collins who serves in the club lounge is a class in himself !
The washroom/ bathroom is as big as the bedroom and for the first time in my life and travels I saw a sofa and tea table set opposite the tub bath!
Food is excellent so give it a try

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Varsha_Manohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at Meikles Hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the cuisine during your stay, and that you found our service and ambience to be perfect.
We greatly appreciate your support, and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Must say was impressed by the hotel. The staff is very friendly. The room we are in has a lovely view of the park. Definitely worth it, and the prices are not so bad. When one is in Harare Meikles Hotel is a must.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kangwa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThamMpofu, Director of Sales at Meikles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this wonderful review.
We are delighted to have been of five star service to you during your stay, and that it was a pleasant and memorable one.
Thank you for choosing Meikles, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
1.4 km away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 14 in Harare
461 reviews
5.1 km away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 14 in Harare
415 reviews
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 14 in Harare
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Monomotapa Hotel- Legacy
1.8 km away
Rainbow Towers Hotel
Rainbow Towers Hotel
#10 of 14 in Harare
212 reviews
0.6 km away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#4 of 14 in Harare
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Harare
Price Range: RM528 - RM870 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing