We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Plasma Hotel(Tripoli)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Khan(Tripoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awal Hotel(Tripoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Safeer Hotel(Tripoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Assafi Hotel(Tripoli)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
3
7
7
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
7
11
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for a few days in May 2014. Would not return to this hotel. The room was reasonably clean. The wifi signal in the room was OK. There are a couple of ATM's for cash in the lobby but they are not always in service. No safe in the room. The staff are friendly but the hotel needs a lot of improvement. The hotel has a pool - but its in ruins. Look for another place to stay would be my advice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have stayed in the hotel a few times over the years and only recently has it come anywhere near justifying its price. The lobby has 24 hour security and a small bank which gives great rates on money exchange.
If you do stay here try to ask for a city side room if you want a decent phone or Libyamax internet signal. Certain nights they have parties out the back so a city side room also gets you a quieter night. The hotel offers free Wifi in the lobby and its decent enough. I have had some cracking seafood buffets here but usually the food isnt great.
They are slowly renovating the place and you should try and get a renovated room which are considerably better than the original rooms.
The location is good, within walking distance of the square, ivory market and the Marco Aurellius arch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It is a very awful & pathetic property in terms of professionalism and service delivery. Located on sea side gives an advantage for the travelers to have a glimpse of sea and enjoy the sea facing rooms. But believe me, this can be good only when you have someone to take care of. Guys at the reception seems to be from stone age and not willing to understand the needs of the clients. We planned to stay there for 4 days as it was a business trip but the careless attitude of hotel staff made us belief that we are not going to stay for more than 1 day. Thanks to our organizers who had shifted us to a new property in the middle of the city where we were completely relaxed.

TIP - DO NOT STAY AT THIS PATHETIC PROPERTY

Room Tip: Leave the Room and run away from this property. There are much better properties at lower cost at the city center.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaibhav577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This government owned hotel is truly awful. From the unsmiling reception staff, very few who can speak English in a supposed 5 star hotel, to the shocking room service it is a disaster. It took 48 hours for them to supply toilet tissue despite being asked on several occasions. The minibar in the room is empty and I eventually had to go and buy my own bottled water after 3 days despite repeated requests. The housekeeping staff resupply the toiletries as they wish with a couldnt care less attitude.

The coffee area and lobby adjacent to the reception is complete madnesss. Everyone seems to need to shout at each other at maximum volume and it took 40 minutes to get even a cup of coffee.

The rooms are badly in need of redecoration, walls all marker and linen of a dubious cleanliness. Very tired decor. Beds rock hard and very uncomfortable. I was asked to go to reception and pay cash up front to place a call to Germany - unbelievable. Impossible to dial out from the room. Internet coverage is very much hit or miss with ridiculously slow connection. When I asked staff about the issues all I got was - "Its Libya - what do you expect"!!!

All in all very unsatisfactory. Try to avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: None - avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Last time i had been here was 2.5 years age & it was horrible.
Now, i was happy to find it recently renewed .
Its location is perfect & quite, you're few steps away from Tripoli tower which is a nice shopping center to hangout, few steps away from Dat Elemad 5 towers which are business buildings even western embassies are there.
It is really clean which i consider it top priority.
although the staff trying to help but they need education in English & professional care.
My only advice is use it for bed & breakfast.
Go for higher levels ( 13 or 14 ), ask for rooms with odd number ( facing the see ).
Compared to other new hotels in Tripoli, this built as a hotel, but others are small & even expensive.

Room Tip: odd number ( facing the see ) - higher levels ( it is 14 levels hotel )
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ADEL_LATHRAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews