We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the nice lobby.”

Azalai Hotel Nord Sud
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azalai Hotel Nord Sud
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Reviewed 22 November 2009

There are plenty of nice hotels with good service in Bamako - the Nord-Sud is not one of them. I really like the other Azalai hotels in Bamako (The Grand Hotel and the Hotel Salaam) and thus, when I couldn't get a room at either of those, I booked a room at the Nord-Sud, thinking it would be of comparable quality. It is not. The rooms are shabby and stale-smelling. The carpets are worn and stained. The "double" bed is two twins pushed together with a double-bed sheet on them. Housekeeping delivered wet towels and left dishes from room service behind. There were so many mosquitoes in the room that I couldn't sleep. I called room service to order dinner and was told that they "didn't have time" to prepare a salad. Very few items on the menu were actually available at any given time. The buffet breakfast is fine, but not as nice as that at the Grand Hotel or Hotel Salaam (though, admitedly, it is also less expensive).

On the plus side, the plumbing is good and the water is hot - not always something you can't always count on in Mali. The wireless internet works consistently and is relatively fast. And the staff at the front desk is very friendly.

If you're looking for a hotel that is less expensive than the Grant Hotel or the Hotel Salaam, book a room at the Rabelais (great French restaurant, nice rooms, good wireless and much less expensive than comparable hotels) or at Hotel Mirabeau (basic accommodations, consistent wireless, nice buffet breakfast, great location and good value). Avoid the Nord-Sud.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaliTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Nord Sud for two and a half nights during my first stay in Bamako. I was encoraged by the two positive reviews for the hotel but was very disappointed by the reality. The hotel is at least average or better for West Africa, however, did not deserve the two positive reviews here and certainly three or four stars is excessive.
The staff was helpful and very pleasant, however, the condition of the rooms was marginal. As an example, entire sink faucet turned when turning the water on and off, bathrooms were badly in need of remodeling, air conditioner rattled loudly every 5-6 minutes throughout the night. The hotel also had a roach problem. I killed two in my room and my colleague killed two while we were in the hotel restaurant, one on the floor under the table and the second that was coming down the wall toward our table. Talk about an apettite killer.
I had a 10:45 PM flight out on the last night and was prepared to pay for a full nights lodging for that night on departure. The hotel was kind enough to only ask for payment for a half night's lodging which I paid in cash and then charged the other two nights to my credit card. Unfortunately, when I opened my copy of the bill at home, it failed to indicate the half night paid for the last day. I emailed the hotel requesting a corrected bill for my employer, however, still haven't received a response after 24 hours.
All in all I would discourage staying at this hotel. There appear to be better choices in Bamako than this for the same price or only a bit more.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_H332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

the rooms are clean and there is a nice pool and small workout facility. it is well located for visiting government offices in town-many were within walking distance. no complaints at all. except--tons of mosquitos. they are in the rooms and in the lobby/restuarnat. we are not talking about one or two. there were swarms.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

We arrived in Bamako with the Budapest-Bamako rally. The official startline was the Azalai Salam. This was a terrible disappointment. The staff was rude and obnoxious, the food poor, breakfast appaling and the rooms rather standard (considering the price).

After one night we decided to move (after a suggestion by some of our friends). We ended up at sister hotel Azalai Nord Sud. Officially this is supposed to be the lesser of the two. Instead, we found polite and helpful staff, pretty much the same rooms, better food and all that at half the price.

We would both whole heartedly recommend the Azalai Nord Sud.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DutchCrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Loim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bamako hotels
0 km away
Grand MiCasa ACI 2000
Grand MiCasa ACI 2000
#24 of 38 in Bamako
2 reviews
0 km away
Hotel La Coccinelle
Hotel La Coccinelle
#7 of 38 in Bamako
87 reviews
0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bamako
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
LAICO l'Amitie Hotel
#14 of 38 in Bamako
50 reviews
0 km away
Azalai Grand Hotel
Azalai Grand Hotel
#6 of 38 in Bamako
87 reviews
0 km away
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
ONOMO Hotel Bamako
#4 of 38 in Bamako
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalai Hotel Nord Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalai Hotel Nord Sud

Address: Avenue Du Mali Hamdalaya ACI 2000, Bamako 1060, Mali
Region: Mali > Bamako
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Bamako
Price Range: RM698 - RM1,473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Azalai Hotel Nord Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Azalai Hotel Nord Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing