We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Des Mille Collines
Nearby Hotels
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$341
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
US$256
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveller rating
195
322
174
50
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
322
174
50
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel rwandamille collinespanorama restaurantpool barfamous hoteltop floorlive musicpool sidecity viewbuffet lunchgenocide museumluxury hotelrooms are nicegorilla trekkingkigali citybrochetteeast africa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 781 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

coming here was incredible. I got a free upgrade to a lovely outstanding junior suite... the room is perfect. nice view over the pool and even a late check-out as I am travelling back to Europe tomorrow evening. Thank you so much for all your assistance and help - the beautiful hotel, the history and the incredible staff - perfect!!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank eja1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireKangwage, General Manager at Hotel Des Mille Collines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear eja1966,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

We are quite delighted to know you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel. It is our mission to have our guests always leave with a smile!

We sincerely look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent our last night of a business exploration trip at this hotel for a buffet meal. It was a memorable way to spend the last day or a two week tour of Western Uganda and Northern Rwanda. Beautiful artwork and lovely staff.
It feels like a refuge. It's history speaks for itself.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireKangwage, General Manager at Hotel Des Mille Collines, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tina,

Thank you for taking your time to share your review with other community members.

We are thrilled to learn you had a memorable time at our hotel, enjoyed the beautiful art work around the facility, service from our staff and the amazing view of Kigali at night.

We are looking forward to serve you again on your next trip to Rwanda.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Week-long stay at Des Mille Collines. Room is a little tired but very clean and everything works. Food is pretty good too, but the staff and the service they offer is outstanding and the ambiance/ atmosphere is something very special and very rarely found these days. If you’re coming to Africa please, please put Kigali on your list, forgo the large chain hotels and grab a few very special days at this hotel

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireKangwage, General Manager at Hotel Des Mille Collines, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking your time to share your review with us.

We are thrilled to learn our staff and the ambiance at our hotel made your stay special! Glad to inform you that we are planning a refurbishment that will improve our rooms.

Looking forward to hosting you on your next visit for yet another beautiful experience!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Despite a slowdown in the economy and stiff competition from a lot of new and posher hotels like Serena and Marriott in the same city centre area, I still return to this place. It has history, it has elegance, style and grace .... and prices have come down a bit thanks to competition. It is well maintained, virtually all of the staff is well trained, and the mattress gives (me ..) a perfect sleeping quality. Breakfast is fantastic with lots of choice. The pool is still good enough but I think it might need an overhaul in the months to come. The internet is reasonably fast .... but has hick-ups, so you unfortunately have to re-connect quite often.

Room Tip: prefer to be given a pool on a higher floor, with pool view
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kortenbergtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Security is good. Located in an upscale part of town. Only came for dinner at the rooftop restaurant and the entire three course meal rocked! The chef came in at some point during our meal to check up on us. Will go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagmekzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireKangwage, General Manager at Hotel Des Mille Collines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Sagmekzie,

Thank you for taking your time to share your review with us!

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your dinner at Le Panorama restaurant. Your feedback enables us to constantly strive for excellence.

We sincerely look forward to serving you time after time.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews