We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nearest place to my residence where I can get a quick Sushi”
Review of Samurai

Samurai
Ranked #116 of 304 Restaurants in Kampala
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 31 January 2016

There aren't many Japanese restaurants and the Samurai is close enough to my own place to pick up a quick order of Shushi, very good and NOT overpriced.

Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2016

Great food ... as we live around the corner - this could easily have become our favourite in the area. We were too lazy to cook today - so did an easy 2 min drive to Samurai. Had a lovely waiter, went through the menu and put down our order. Food was delicious. When getting the bill at the end - 18% was added to the menu prices. We cross-checked the menu and no-where did it say 'exclusive of VAT'. Needless to say - this feels as a scam !! Not correct to set expectations and then when plates are empty, add 18%. Asked to see the owner - who was very, very ARROGANT and told me 'this is your problem - go and get the police'. Wow - Good luck with the Business !!

    • Food
Thank ABB-UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Great ambiance and warmth and friendliness of the owners and waiters. We loved the Udon noodles, Teriyaki, dumplings and Sashumi. All beautifully presented too.

1  Thank Cairen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELMA P, Owner at Samurai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Thank you Cairen for the review. It is always a crown for us to hear this from our guests. We look forward to another opportunity serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Saturday's all-u-can eat buffet is spectacular! The food is fresh, and delicious. The staff, smiling, happy, young people... were fun and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone, even if you have to fly here to have it!

Thank Chad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELMA P, Owner at Samurai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you Chad for the review. We encourage all of our Buffet lovers to give us a call in advance for booking. The purpose of our buffet was to introduce new menu while costumes enjoy the known ones. However that season has ended but we will be happy to provide you a buffet option on request.

Thank you and God Bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

As the name suggests, this is a Japanese restaurant, although owned and managed by a Filipino and with no Japanese staff. If you are looking for an authentic Japanese meal this is not the spot for you – for example, there is a flask of Teriyaki sauce on the table but the sushi is served without wasabi or ginger. Nevertheless, in terms of providing a good value, dining experience in pleasant surroundings with a Japanese theme – you can sit on cushions at a low table and there is also a Tepanaki table – it ticks the boxes. Three of us had the Buffet selection at SCH25,000 (less than €8 each) which consisted of deep fried Tilapi (in batter but not tempura). Teriyaki Beef with greens, a selection of sushi (plentiful but limited choice), some very nice minced Dumplings with a Chilli dip and Noodles. All in all it was tasty and generous enough servings to enable my guests to take home a doggy bag of leftovers. I can also recommend the “Stoney” Ginger Beer – very refreshing and goes well with the food. Three people with drinks and tip was under SCH100,000, which was about €10 each. No real complaints about that.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JMMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELMA P, Owner at Samurai, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thank you for giving us your thoughts and opinion. This is truly helpful. Thank you that you recognize the buffet price is of good value. That serves the purpose of offering the buffet option though I am convinced you did not have enough baseline to taste SAMURAI's authenticity. I recommend you try and order our tempura and sushi set, SAMURAI sushi set in particular. Our in house Filipino chef was trained for 12 years under 3 Japanese chefs feeding Japanese business people and executives of All Nippon Airways and hotels. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samurai also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Samurai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing