We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
5
16
34
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
16
34
14
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

As I had a problem with my finances the hotel helped me walk around the neighborhoods to different banks that could help me solve my economic troubles.

An experience from this was that the ATMs at the airport didn’t work so to be prepared bring US-dollars to do exchanges and buy data from MTN as they are considered the best on the countryside. In July 2018 I payed 28000 UGX for 5GB data.

A big thank you to the wonderful staff!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AwesomeAdventuresSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMES K, Director of Sales at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018
Google Translation

We appreciate your compliments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

The restaurant offers brrakfast at 40.000 shs which is supposed to be a buffet. However on.out visit, the buffet was almost empty aside from toast. We had ti order separately other items which took a long time. The meals were sub standard fir a 3 star hotel. The price of the breakfast was ridiculous for what was served

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMES K, Director of Sales at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Apologies for the breakfast service that did not meet your needs . Action has been taken to address the pricing and menu range issue .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Grand Imperial hasn't been destroyed by extreme renovations and I love it for it. Of course it's old, but in my opinion very charming and pittoresque.

Rooms are very spacious and clean. Our balcony was very nice for people-watching (facing to the busy Nile Avenue). The location is fantastic, pricing reasonable, wifi pretty good, pool area nice and hotel personnel lovely. Hello especially to the super nice pool guy Alfred and our breakfast champions Martin and that one lovely lady who's name I forgot (so sorry)!

Breakfast was very good, did not eat so much there otherwise, but the one chicken korma I had was one the best I've ever had. Will come again!

We traveled as a family, me, my husband and our two boys 6y and 9y.

Ps. No gym though, although it says so on their webpage.

Room tip: I liked our room that was facing the Nile Avenue.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saila-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMES K, Director of Sales at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Greetings !! Thank you for the compliments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

So yes its an old hotel in dire need of upgrading. That being said I managed to have a training here for three days. Aside from musty rooms and dark corridors it was fine. Location was its strongest point. Food was ok and we enjoyed morning swims in the pool.

The team was accommodating and helpful. I wish the owner would consider upgrading the place and making it more accessible with lifts etc.

All in all I am sure there are newer places in the city but we did have a good training. I hope the place can rekindle its older glory however- would be a shame to be in such a prime location but not meet the guests needs.

Date of stay: March 2017
3  Thank Msikiliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMES K, Director of Sales at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank for your stay in our hotel and your time to give us feedback . We have a renovation plan in place which will greatly improve the facility and service delivery .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Pretty subpar service .. everything and the service (staff, food, internet) was just slow. Hotel was humongous from the outside but once you enter you begin to notice how eirie it is on the inside. If you're just looking for a bed and breakfast and nothing more then it's better than most places you would find in Kampala. However if you wanted something more...

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank nanayaw_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imperialhotelsUG, Director of Sales at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Thank you for having chosen to with us . We have taken note of your observations and will ensure that services improve .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews