We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairway Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$399
US$261
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
US$189
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cassia Lodge(Kampala)
US$176
US$113
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$65
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
77
108
50
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
108
50
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian fusionice loungeoutdoor restaurantbusiness tripgarden citynight managerspecial thankschicken lollipopsexcellent hospitalitybasic amenitiesmanagement teamexecutive roomgolf coursedecent sizecentral locationswimming poolrooms are clean
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Lets start with the positive feedback. Very friendly staff who’s really doing the utmost to make you feel at home. The food at the restaurant downstairs is really good and compared to other places reasonable priced as well.
The big minor were the renovation works. I do understand the idea, and probably urge, to stay open but in my opinion renovations are to big to stay open. To much noise, works and building dust. Especially last one can be a problem. Myself as an example: I’m allergic for these kind of dusts. I didn’t complain because I had chosen the place for the last few days because of situation close to the office where I needed to be for one day. Otherwise I would have cancelled.
In general its a good and affordable place in central Kampala and after renovation (which is needed) it will be great. Please be honoust about the size of renovations.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Theresia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Theresia P
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Fairway Hotel. It is very helpful to us. I am sorry you had some inconveniences during your stay due to the on going construction. We appreciate your perseverance. However, it will soon be over and we shall open up to you a new refurnished modern and yet a historical heritage atmosphere at Fairway Hotel. Filled with more luxury, comfort and class suitable for your stay.
On the other hand, I am glad you appreciate the hospitality of our staff and the remarkable tasty food at our Asian Fusion Restaurant. We pledge to make it more better every single day.
Thank you for choosing Fairway Hotel for your stay. We look forward to be part of your experience in Uganda on your next stay.

"We are Fairway Hotel"
Serving the Community since 1969"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The Fairway Hotel coasts along fine.
The room I stayed in was lovely and new, had a great A/C and new fixtures and fittings which all worked very well. Two negatives, the floor was not clean, lots of hair and dust around. Another, was the bed was very squeaky and would wake me up in the night.
The pool is lovely and is well kept. The food in the restaurant was very good. Very tasty and made with fresh ingredients. The breakfast was adequate and non offensive.
All in all it is fine for a stopover in Kampala

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hello Rosie S

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It helps us know how you felt during your stay. We are sorry that you had some bad experience during your stay at Fairway Hotel. We are working on all the issues that you have raised.
Equally, we are glad that you had some wonderful experiences during your stay punctuated by great food and swimming pool. We promise to elevate the great experience you had to a better level.
All in All, we are happy you chose to have your stay with us. Thank you so much and come again.

"We are Fairway Hotel"
Serving the Community since 1969

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Fairway Hotel ,plot 1 kafu road might be the first hotel in the capital opening way back in 1927. It has subsequently hosted who is who in kampala.

The history of the Pearl of Africa, and especially Kampala, cannot be complete without mentioning Fairways hotel. A succesful family buisness in hospitality which has hosted the Queen of England and many diginatiries plus heads of states- all well displayed in their memorabilia.

Currently undergoing a major renovation on Accomodation and the public areas. Good town hotel with multiple dining outlets including Chinese and indian plus the traditional continental. The chef is happy to indulge you in the rich local cuisine. The hotel offers a 24hours room service.

Overall good stay and good value for money.

Centrally located a stone throw from the CBS including the state house.

Great and helpful staff.

Once renovation are finalised it will join the league of the big boys. The executive rooms are certainly 5 star. Spacious and excellent value for money.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Kioko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Kioko M

I am glad that you had a great experience at Fairway Hotel. Thank you for appreciating our services.
Surely just like you said, after the renovations, we shall join the League of the Big Boys.
Thank you for choosing Fairway Hotel for your stay. It means a lot to us. Come back another time.You have a five star rating from us.

"We are Fairway Hotel"
Serving the Community since 1969"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

The staff at the Fairway are extremely friendly, professional, and helpful, and seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs and be treated well by their employer. My room was clean and quite nice/modern but the moldy/musty smell was very strong and there was mold/mildew on the ceiling above the shower. This was a real shame given my otherwise positive experience lodging there. The Indian food was also excellent.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank rpcv2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear rpcv2002

Thank you for the review, it is helpful in creating a Greeter Guest Experience at Fairway Hotel.
I assure you, we take each view with great seriousness and I guarantee that it will be worked on as soon as possible.

Yes, our staff are treated well just like the Guests are at Fairway Hotel. Thank you for recognizing their exceptional service rendered to you. It is motivating that you someone out there appreciates them.

More is yet to come. All you need is to stick with us for an evolving memorable experience at Fairway Hotel.

We hope you are well and we wish you well wherever you are.

Thank you for choosing Fairway Hotel. We sincerely appreciate.

“We are Fairway Hotel”
Serving the Community Since 1969

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Yes they are undergoing renovations and yes that means very slight inconveniences. So???
I had an awesome room at a great price. I was greeted and complimented at every turn by the staff. They pay attention to detail in the rooms. Bed and pillows were super comfortable. Shower was fantastic! Pool is large and clean. Breakfast buffet is huge and varied...
Thanks to Claire in Reservations too!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an 'executive' room. They should upgrade you, subject to availability, while they are undergoing renos...
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teddaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairwayHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hello Teddaw

Thank you for choosing Fairway Hotel.

We are pleased to know that you had a great experience during your stay at Fairway Hotel.
Thank you for appreciating our efforts in making Fairway Hotel a Greater Home for our Family which is you. Better is yet to come. We shall let Claire know that you appreciate her and truly that means a lot to her and the Hotel.

Thank you for the Review.
We love you here at Fairway and we look forward to welcoming you back home with more glamour and superior experience.

We wish you success in your endavours.

“We are Fairway Hotel”
Serving the Community Since 1969

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews