We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ewaka Guesthouse and Backpackers(Kampala)(Great Value!)
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Humura Resorts(Kampala)
US$158
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$399
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Lodge(Kampala)
US$204
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fat Cat Backpackers(Kampala)(Great Value!)
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
73
54
16
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
54
16
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelfez restaurantsmall luxurywonderful hotelbeautiful gardenmosquito netbusy kampalavisit kampalaquiet placespaafricaoasismeetingmaidstubnetworkbanks
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2006

You will not find a lovelier hotel in all of Uganda. Tasteful accommodations and wonderful service. A place you could be happy to move in to.

3  Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
327
Reviewed 5 June 2006

I stayed there expecting very good things. I found that the hotel is to small and is out in the middle of no where. It is a little hard to find and is to far to walk from. The staff were pretty good but i dont recomend bringing a family to this place. I found that the people who stayed there were generaly not very friendly and the hotel hasn't been around for very long. The reception was very slow aswell and i found that uyou didnt really get the ugandan feel from the place. You come to Kampala to experience Uganda and i didnt get that from my stay.
Overall it was okay for the basic needs but for that prica it wasn't really worth it. Next time i will stay closer to town.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2006

We stayed at the Emin Pasha for six days in May. The hotel is up on a hill some blocks away from the bustle of downtown; there is a quiet and restful atmosphere, the grounds are beautifully maintained and there are plenty of comfortable public rooms in which to congregate. The rooms are very clean, well apportioned and nicely decorated - elegant but comfortable and not stuffy. The rooms with air conditioning are preferable to those on the garden level as there is not much of a breeze unless one leaves the French doors open and doing this invites mosquitos. Not all rooms have a shower (some have a tub with hand-held shower). The staff are pleasant and very helpful. Bring your own iron if you don't like sending your laundry out. We ate at the restaurant several times and found the food to be excellent, fresh and well prepared. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ATL_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2006

I did not know what to expect - it seems that every hotel rates themselves as 'luxury' hotels. Emin Pasha does not use that word. They are too classy for that. The rooms are divine, and each one is different. The showers are spectacular - great big shower heads with wonderful water pressure, mosquito nets on all the beds, aircon for those who need it, tasteful furniture, wonderful artwork...Everywhere you look you find nice, personal touches that make this such a pleasant place to come back to. The gardens and the pool are lovely, the restaurant has a michelin-starred chef at its helm, and the staff are so kind and genuine. It is just fantastic, and so wonderful to find such a place in a busy, dusty city. The highlight: sitting on the veranda with a glass of wine, watching the sun set over the spire of the university, using the wireless internet service...outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scout14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
19
Reviewed 17 March 2006

I have a stayed a number of times at the Emin Pasha Hotel in Kampala. Located in the Embassy district of Nakasero, the Hotel overlooks parts of the city of Kampala. All rooms have high speed internet connections (rare in Africa), and other regular amenities (cable TV, mini bar etc...) The cannopy beds are wide and comfortable. The rooms are quite spacious and overolook the garden and pool. The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant "Fez" is one of the best in Kampala and is booked solid almost every night. This is a gem of a hotel which needs to be discovered. With only 20 rooms, you have to book in advance.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews