We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - can not fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tibet International
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the final night of a month long trip through India and Nepal...and what a great decision it was.
I cannot fault this hotel in ANY WAY. The service is impeccable, the staff are so welcoming, caring and professional. The decor is beautiful, traditional tibetan timber carvings adorn every wall.
We booked a Tibetan Suite, which was a little more expensive than normal rooms but worth every penny. Huge, well decorated and extremely comfortable. The small details are what made this stay lovely....our bed turned down when we returned for the night, some biscuits and fruit left in the room, the heating turned on...down to details of the toilet roll being refolded neatly. Not a stone is left unturned in this place.
The food is fantastic also. Best thentuk soup! and the breakfast was fresh, very tasty and had a huge selection of dishes.
I cannot wait to return to this hotel. They really do go out of the way to make your stay beyond a 5 star experience.
The view from the roof looks directly to Boudhanath Stupa, and the mountains in the backdrop.
Very comfy beds, warm and very clean.

Room Tip: Any room is great, however the Tibetan Suites on level 6 are fantastic. Worth paying more for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ultreya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking your time out to write such wonderful review about us.

Your encouraging appreciation has boosted our moral to continually thrive for exceeding excellent service.

We would love to have you at our hotel anytime in future.

Best Regards
Dechen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 405 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

There are actually two branches of this Hotel. One in Kathmandu and one just outside the Boudha Stupa in Boudhanath. We stayed for 2 days in Boudha. Everything about this hotel is perfect. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are large, clean, comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast is served on the rooftop and with an enormous number of tasty choices. Their dinner menu is extensive including Chinese, Nepali, Indian and Continental choices. The hotel management has endeavored to offer all of the conveniences of a very good western style hotel while maintaining the look and feel of being in Nepal. From the hotel, it is an easy walk to the Boudha Stupa. After the noise, dust and crowded streets of Nepal, the Tibet Hotel is an oasis of calm and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrBusterofStown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your encouraging words. Your feedback has really helped us to improve our service excellence.

We hope to serve you at Hotel Tibet International in near future.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Tibet International for two nights in the off season. It was a truly wonderful experience, from the attentiveness of the staff to our immaculate, spacious and beautifully appointed room. We ate there several times and the food, chosen from an astonishingly eclectic array of Tibetan, Chinese and Continental fare, was excellent. Since the hotel is named "Tibet" and appears to be connected to that country, I mostly stayed with that area of the menu and was never disappointed. Breakfast provided an astonishing choice from congee to eggs in hollandaise. It was also just great to have enough confidence to stop having to be careful about the sanitariness of everything I put in my mouth. (BTW, we ate there before we chose to stay there; it's a fine place just for eating.) The location is great, in its own way, just a minute or so from the touristy but still completely spiritually "true" circle around the Boudhanath stupa but on a bustling Nepali street with few Western faces. Typically you arrive in a taxi into a quiet courtyard so it's a surprise the next morning to see the street itself. The hotel is staffed with wonderful people who are eager to help. As everywhere we went in Nepal there were power outages, but their gennie kicked in in about a minute every time. If I'm fortunate enough to get back to Nepal, I look forward to staying at the HTI again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Gershon,
Thank you for writing such wonderful review about us. We are happy to hear that you had wonderful experience with us. We hope to serve you soon in HTI.
With Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel in an exciting, vibrant and fun location. Our stay was faultless from the wonderful hotel manager to the pleasant & helpful lady at the tourist desk. The rooms were comfortable, clean and very large. And just outside within a few minutes walk were cafes, 711s and rooftop restaurants.

I will most DEFINITELY return and stay there again! Great hotel! Thank you for a WONDERFUL stay team at Hotel Tibet International!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank charlznben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Duncan,

Thank you for taking your time out to write a review about us. Your kind words are very much appreciated.
We would like to remind you that our restaurant offers choices of Asian Oriental Varieties of menu and Tibetan themed food.
We hope to be able to serve you in near future.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We loved staying at Hotel Tibet International.

It was a quieter spot outside of the tourist areas and had a beautiful view of Boudha from the roof and even from our room. We also enjoyed the food - the Nepali thalis and the chow mien were especially delicious. We were even offered an "off menu" desert, which our family devoured.

The staff were kind and helpful in every way they could have possibly been. Our 3-year-old son was adored and well taken care of.

We booked our flights to Pokhara with the hotel, and everything went very well and was reasonably priced.

The only things I would say could improve the experience would be a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport at arrival AND departure, which I'm accustom to getting with a hotel reservation (being from the states).

We will definitely be visiting this hotel again in our future! Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with the king bed are on street-side, which is a little loud, but nothing ear plugs can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KLJS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khanalsky, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tibet International, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Kate,

Thank you for the wonderful comment. We are delighted to hear that your stay had been a memorable experience with us.

We do have airport pick up and drop on minimum charge.

We hope to welcome you at HTI in near future.

Regards
Dechen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
Hyatt Regency Kathmandu
#32 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,602 reviews
0.9 km away
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
Shambaling Boutique Hotel
#6 of 207 in Kathmandu
454 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#25 of 207 in Kathmandu
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Shanker
Hotel Shanker
#41 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,195 reviews
2.4 km away
Dwarika's Hotel
Dwarika's Hotel
#12 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,108 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Yak & Yeti
Hotel Yak & Yeti
#49 of 207 in Kathmandu
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tibet International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tibet International

Address: Boudha, Kathmandu, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: RM393 - RM621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tibet International 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tibet International is a boutique hotel offering Nepali hospitality with a touch of Tibetan warmth, strategically located close to the Boudha Stupa which is a world heritage UNESCO site. We offer 68 rooms, lavishly furnished with fine beddings and linens for a good night's sleep. Our Shangrila Kitchen offers fine Tibetan / Chinese and continental cuisine, Norbulinka Stupa View Terrace offers breakfast in stunning view of the famed Stupa and our Shambala Spa offers the best remedy to de-stress and recover from treks, or a pampering before heading home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Tibet International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing