We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shanker
Nearby Hotels
US$105
US$99
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Nepalaya(Kathmandu)(Great Value!)
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$26
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$90
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Annapurna(Kathmandu)
US$107
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$40
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$29
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$159
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveller rating
484
567
188
46
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
567
188
46
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palaceconverted palaceswimming poolrana palaceheritage hotelearthquake damagebreakfast buffetan oasisegg stationseen better daystravel deskthe hustle and bustlenice gardencomfortable staythamel areahot watershankar
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Hotel is nice and clean, staff are cooperative, rooms are very clean. If you are interested in casino then you have to go to Shangrii -la Hotel and Redision hotel, where you enjoy casino and dinner as well.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank jai1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking time to write a review about our property. We are glad to hear that you had a "nice stay" at Hotel Shanker. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Happy Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We have stayed at hotel Shanker many times and we always feel us very weelcome and like this place very much, very beautyfull garden, nice swimmingpool and the food is also very good for breakfast and dinner. Staff always very helpfull and nice to us, we will always come back.

Room Tip: Standard room very good
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnniK894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Happy Guest !

Greetings from Nepal !

Thank you for your gift of feedback. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us "many times". Thank You once again for choosing Hotel Shanker and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Hotel Shanker is billed as "Old World Luxury" but in my opinion it goes far beyond. I originally booked 2 standard rooms (there were 4 of us scheduled to trek to EBC) for the end of a trek to Everest Base Camp; thought we deserved a little luxury after trekking above 5,000 metres and spending 12 nights in Tea Houses. As it turned out I was the only one of the 4 who made it to the end of the trek still intact, and so walked to the Shanker on the day before we were to move in to tell them they could release the 2nd room since we wouldn't be using it. It was a non-refundable rate so no point in keeping the booking if they could use it. Much to my surprise, the next day when I checked in, the front desk staff upgraded me to a suite that left me gasping. Huge living room, separate bedroom and stunning modern bathroom with a bathtub. It was beyond what I had expected and was the most magnificent place to spend 5 days.

I cannot speak highly enough about the Shanker. The grounds, thanks in a large part to perhaps the sweetest man I have ever met, one of the gardeners whose name is Kashi, are impeccable. Just absurdly beautiful and a crazy, ridiculous way to spend hours; reading and relaxing. The pool and the food/bar service available there is outstanding. In spite of the doorman, the marble floors, the crystal chandeliers, the ornate wood carvings, the New York Times on the door every morning, the elegant dining venues, the immaculate grounds and the outstanding service from all the staff; it never felt stuffy. I was a trekker, with a duffel bag as luggage and there were others like me staying there; but I never felt uncomfortable.

In addition the included breakfast is a wonder. The breakfast room is a mile long with everything you could imagine, including a made to order egg/omelette/pancake/waffle station and all the Latte/Cappucinos you could want. Dinner was equally impressive in the elegant dining room. The food delicious, the service outstanding, the prices more than reasonable and again I never felt uncomfortable for being dressed in basically my trekking (now clean) clothes.

This is an old palace and it retains it's majestic quality with elements of Renaissance Italy, from the staircases to the moldings to lighting to the landscaping. It is like being transported to a different time and place and yet just a few minutes walk to the Thamel district of Kathmandu. A little intimidating walking in Kathmandu at first but really nothing to fear and an experience like no other. If travelling to Kathmandu stay at Hotel Shanker for a few nights (or more depending on your schedule) and do yourself a favour. I promise you will not regret it. While you are there please take the time to say hi to Kashi for me. He has been at the hotel a long time, works hard and loves his job so reward him the way you will other hotel staff.

Room Tip: I was fortunate to be in #407. Ground floor suite. Magnificent as I am sure all rooms are. Not sure you could go wrong.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank innsbruck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Happy Guest,

Thank You for your gift of feedback.

It is heartening to hear you find our hotel comfortable in all aspects where your expectations were met. Truly, the hotel is conveniently located in the city centre.
We are most delighted to know that you enjoyed the suite rooms.Guests are always our priority and the people really do make the difference. Your kind review had certainly assured us in continuously providing the best to our guests and to continue serving with Asian grace, warmth and care. We will definitely convey your "Hi" to Kashi, and yes he is been with us for many many years and will be very thrilled to hear that his name was mentioned in your review.

Thank you for again for recommending Hotel Shanker to our dear travellers and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Happy Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Our family of 6 spent 5 days on our arrival in Kathmandu, then another 2 prior to leaving. The hotel is stunning, the beds supercomfy, we have one suite and one double room both with an extra bed. The suite had a large sitting room whee we could all hang out. We spent most of our time by the pool, where they also have a bar and take food orders. The breakfast buffet deserves special mention, as do the friendly staff, and very helpful travel desk, who booked flights to jomsom for us and organised refunds when they were cancelled. Highly recommended, especially for families.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Clare B,

Thank you for your lovely review of Hotel Shanker , Nepal !

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your family stay and the quality of rooms offered; we believe it really is great value for money. It is convenient and easy for one to get around the key attractions in Kathmandu and wind up the day by just relaxing by the pool or shopping around the area.

The hotel always puts guests at the centre of everything it does and we know your kind review will inspire the team to continue to perform at their best.

Thank you again for your valuable patronage and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon on your next trip.

Best Regards,
Prina Shrestha
Executive Manager
Hotel Shanker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We were in Room 120, it overlooks the rear patio and central area of the hotel. The hotel has a number of amenities available and all are reasonable or complimentary. Breakfast choices were numerous and the room service menu has many options, too. Quiet location in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hornguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P S, Executive Manager at Hotel Shanker, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Happy Guest,

Thank You for your gift of feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Happy Travels !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews