We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$117
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$95
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$49
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$44/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$37
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$24
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$25/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
US$77
US$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$56
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$43
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$27/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$142
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
104
237
119
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
237
119
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the gardennice hotelswimming poolclub roombreakfast spreadan oasisbusy streetnice staydustembassiestrekchaosrelaxationeverestretreat
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2009

place is great even the location but make sure your trip is booked by a travel agent lotts of choices for everything transport location sight seeing so you wana avoid doing a wrong one in your short stay

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rsardana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

Was steered to this hotel when my friends and I booked an organized tour to Nepal via Shangri-La Holidays, which is the tour organizing arm of the hotel. ShangriLa Holidays in themselves are an EXCELLENT group--managing our 8 days with such elan and efficiency--the trip was a joy. We got a chance to sample the two Shangri-La hotels as per package: one in Kathmandu, the other in Pokhara.

The ShangriLa Kathmandu is about 30 minutes away from the airport. Yes, it is a bit of a walk to Thamel, about 15-20 minutes, on a rather dusty and noisy street. But then again, this is KTM and traffic is one fun, crazy world of animals and horns. I recommend you walk to Thamel then burdened with shopping goodies, take a taxi back. The location makes for quiet evenings, fresh breezes and a respite from the honking barrage of Thamel.

On our first two nights--our group was put on the second floor, facing the lovely garden (see pic). Yes, it is beautiful, but sadly, the rooms were rather old and tired. Wooden furniture with lots of scratches, a dark bathroom with sad grout and tub, and generally the air of having seen better days. It was a throwback to the early 80's and while everything was clean and spic and span, it wasn't exactly endearing.

Still, this being KTM, you are enraptured by the charms of the city and the people and it isn't so bad. The beds are plump and fine enough, and breakfast was a charming number on the terrace with good enough selections. The waiters would even remember if you liked coffee or tea--and the native cheeses were excellent! The grounds are kept well, the pool was a charming brick enclosure--although we didn't get to try it because it was rather chilly.

Service is nice and efficient. The Nepali are remarkably friendly--even on the streets, pastures, mountains and fields we visited. And as such, we were inclined to forgive most anything.

On the latter part of our tour, on our outbound leg, we stayed again at the KTM Shangrila, this time placed in the first floor where the rooms were much newer. Pretty much the same size--only with newer fixtures, lamps, bedheads and tables. It was a bit of an improvement, a tad more modern, and we appreciated the effort. Clean throughout, with still rather dark bathrooms despite newer accoutrements. The toiletries could stand an improvement--but then I guess, you get what you pay for.

All in all--I think the ShangriLa KTM is great value for money. It's not as grand nor as pricey as the Hyatt--but the people are just as friendly. And again, this being KTM, you're inclined to forgive a number of things. Enjoy KTM for the people and Nepal's splendours, but leave high brow hotel expectations for other places.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JVATravels92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Pros: Reasonably quiet - front facing rooms have a row of shops to buffer the street noise; back facing rooms look out over the garden and restaurant. Excellent buffet breakfast with omelet chef who cooks to order.
Cons: Only 3/4 mile from Thamel area, but sidewalks are so broken up that it's impossible to walk far, especially at night. Bathroom in need of an update (stained grout, chipped tiles).
Extras: Dinner buffet @US$11, happy hour at bar 50% off, massage next door @2450NPR/90mins., WiFi @375NPR/1 hr., sauna, pool (unheated). Staff is friendly and attentive. Room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

After a disastrous experience at the dingy Royal Singi, I moved to the Shangri-La. It was a paradise. I had a ground floor room overlooking gorgeous and well-manicured gardens. As a disabled traveler, this was a great plus for me. The room was large and nicely appointed. Everything was clean and in excellent condition. Breakfast on the terrace or in the restaurant was a very enjoyable experience. Staff were very attentive and friendly, offering help when needed, but respecting privacy. The gardens were a joy in the warm sunny weather, and I enjoyed many hours there. The meticulous care of the garden was indicative orf the whole attirude at the Shangri-La. The price was reasonable, and I am grateful to www.Travelsmanagement.com for arranging my stay there. I felt it was a hotel to rank with the best.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NancyWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Rated four stars in our guidebook, lovely old fashioned hotel. We were in room 216, double bed with pretty garden view. Quiet, insulated from the hustle and bustle and reality of the city. Long walk to the Thamel area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Deianira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews