We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$25/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$56
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$37
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
104
237
119
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
237
119
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the gardennice hotelswimming poolclub roombreakfast spreadan oasisbusy streetnice staydustembassiestrekchaosrelaxationeverestretreat
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

After trekking for 16 days, we stayed here for 4 nights before flying home. It was a lovely place to relax and unwind, yet close enough to Thamel to walk into when we wanted a change of scenery and pace. The room was large and well-equipped, and the gardens were beautiful. it has a pool which was a relaxing place to sit beside, and the restaurant food was delicious and good value for money, especially if you choose the buffet option ... lots of choice and well-stocked. The only gripe was that it was a liitle difficult to get information about the facilities. e.g. I wanted to use the spa but it was not obvious where this was - I had to ask at Reception as there were no signs to it.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tarida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank You for reviewing your experience at Shangri~La Kathmandu. Glad to know you enjoyed our hotel facilities and services.Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

We stayed here for eight nights, four before our EBC trek & four to chill out after our days of hard work. Our Executive room was very nice, spacious & with views over the lovely hotel garden.
Breakfast was plentiful & taken on a verandah overlooking the hotels lovely gardens. The staff make this hotel, all very friendly & helpful. I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our services and the landscaping. Please do visit us again.

Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

This is actually an ok hotel, the rooms are a bit dated but clean and we were upgraded to larger rooms on both separate nights we stayed here on our tour. Unfortunately on the first night we stayed we both ate something in the hotel that gave us upset stomachs, not deli belly but bad enough to prevent us going out the next day, which was a shame. The staff were concerned and helpful but I suspect from the reaction we were not the only ones affected. On our return visit they gave us a complimentary upgrade and free glass of wine so they did their best. It’s a shame it could be a lovely hotel it just falls short, service in the restaurant could be better, reception could be more friendly etc.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karenhilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.Your comments are well taken. We always value our guest comment so that we can look for improvements. Thank you again and will ensure that you experience the best on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We stayed at this hotel for a week during our honeymoon. The room was dated but clean. Bottled water provided along with bathroom amenities, and there is a small cookie platter provided as a welcome gift.

Breakfast buffet was good. Staff was quite attentive when they are not asked by the manager to wait on the VIPs (yes, we observed that there are preferential treatments). We had dinner there every night and was quite pleased with our meals. Each meal is about AUD 20 per person.

In the evenings, there is a piano player to serenade the guests at the hotel lobby. This creates a very nice ambience.

There is a casino next door which is convenient for international tourists who are interested in pokies and cards.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stef Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at Shangri~La Hotel, Kathmandu. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and services. Would be happy to receive you again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We were on a tour this last week and spent 8 days in India.We then moved on to Nepal where we stayed at the Shangri-La property. I have been in the Hospitality business for 37 years in Hawaii, we were so delighted to find a Food and Beverage staff that took care of our every need.One server in particular was a lady named Sangita Thapa.She had a smile the whole time we were in the restaurant and seemed to really care about us.Like I said I have been in the business awhile but this lady was a gem.I wish I had a staff of Sangita's. She made our stay very comfortable. I would recommend the Lost Horizon restaurant to any traveling there as long as they get Sangita as their server.The rest of the staff was friendly ,but she was outstanding.

Room Tip: get a garden view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nytonyatmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shangri~La. Your appreciation for our staff is very encouraging. Team Shangri~La always emphasize on guest satisfaction. Thank you once again, our staff cherishes your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews