We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$130
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Shambala(Kathmandu)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$156
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$29
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$37
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dwarika's Hotel(Kathmandu)
US$404
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Yak & Yeti(Kathmandu)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
104
237
119
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
237
119
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the gardennice hotelswimming poolclub roombreakfast spreadan oasisbusy streetnice staydustembassiestrekchaosrelaxationeverestretreat
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Unique city center deluxe hotel with large garden in Kathmandu city center. Rooms have a special heritage touch with some exclusive larger suites with balcony. Excellent restaurant with nepalese cuisine and a la carte western dishes.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guildev-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our services and the landscaping. Please do visit us again.

Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

This hotel is not part of the international Shangri-La chain but a local hotel that opened in Kathmandu back in 1975 while the international Shangri-La (founded in 1971) was still developing. SL Kathmandu thus has the "right" to use the Shangri-La name in Nepal.

On the positive side, very friendly staff. Beautiful garden lush with flowers when we visited. Perfectly adequate rooms. But it's hard to see this as a 5 Star hotel.

On the negative side, the hotel is "tired".

The rooms need major renovation,including replacement of some furniture that you might find in a second-hand shop. Scarcely furnished in"contemporary elegance"

Besides that, there are some small things which I'd expect could be more easily and cheaply fixed than a major renovation.

The fire exit sign in our room was hanging askew on the door held up by a wire and the sign looked like it might be original provenance from 1975.

Minor repairs have been made but the final "finishing" is lacking

For example, some work was obviously done around a wall lamp. Lamp worked just fine but no touch up painting, leaving a spot on the wall where white plastering was still visible. There were also various dings and nicks in our room that hadn't been touched up. But could easily have been.

Fourth floor - Club Floor - didn't seem to have any amenities above and beyond other floors. Another guest told us that there were newspapers there. A wide selection of newspapers is at the coffee shop - Garden Restaurant. Apparently, food is placed out early in the morning for Club Floor residents who have to leave before the coffee shop opens. But only left out until the coffee shop opens.

Aesthetics aside, the rooms are serviceable and clean. We slept just fine.

Hotel is busy and appeared to be full when we stayed.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are probably quieter than street view unless there's a party in the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TJim60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate that you know so much of our history. Your comments are well noted, will ensure that you experience the best on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

This is one of the poorest five star hotel where Wi - fi is not free. I stayed in this hotel twice in the span of 7 days. At first, they said WIFI is not free you have to buy a package for it. Second time they said it's free in the reception area but for room service you have to buy a package. You will find it hard to find a 5 star hotel where WIFI is not provided in the room.
We had 4 rooms booked where they'd provided extra bed as per early requests but when we asked for another extra bed in remaining room they asked us to pay every penny in advance as per their hotel hotel policy..This is the worst scenario you face. If it's in any 3 or 4 star hotel, you can explain but what do you expect when a guest who has booked the rooms there even after 4-5 days and you are not ready to charge money even at the time of check out...
Moreover it, they don't have a single trolley to take the luggage...A staff man will come and carry 2 bags by 2 bags...but if you are checking early in the morning or night, it may happen that nobody will be there to take your luggage also...
Worst hotel,,,,, don't even think of staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank prerak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Your comments are well noted, will ensure that you experience the best on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

I stayed for two nights as I was going on a 7-day trek. Firstly, on arriving at 7 pm, i realized, I had left my passport in the taxi, obviously freaked out. The hotel staff, especially this one woman, I wish I could remember her name, was amazing. Great hotel and staff! Can't recommend enough!

Room Tip: I'd say all rooms would be good, as it's not on a really busy road, the noise wasn't an issue.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 797jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Your appreciation for our staff is very encouraging. We at Shangri~La are always known for our services. Thank you once again, our staff cherishes your feedback and we very much look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I stayed at the Shangri La hotel for one month while on a business trip and it was one of the most pleasing experiences I have had at any hotel anywhere. The hotel grounds themselves are comfortable and the dining is quite good.But what makes this hotel a stand-out is the quality of the staff. From reception to house-keeping to wait staff to engineering/IT, they are all incredibly efficient, responsive and genuinely pleasant. They make you feel as though they are sincerely happy to see you and perform to the highest professional standards. Whoever recruited and trained this staff knew what they were doing. I was truly impressed and can only give them and the hotel my highest possible recommendation

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beeerfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir B, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. Extremely encouraging to know your experience at Shangri~La, Kathmandu. We always endeavor towards our guest satisfaction. Please do let us know your next plan of visit. Team Shangri~La would be happy to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Samir Banerjee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews