We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced hotel, lovely garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nirvana Garden Hotel
Ranked #108 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms are OK and there plenty of hot water, which can be an issue in Nepal. The location is good on the edge of Thamel - more quiet than many other places in Thamel and the garden is a nice place to relax. I would have rated it higher, except I totally overpaid for what I got -- I paid $30 per night without breakfast included. I didn't know ahead of time that comparable places in Thamel charge half that or less and usually include a breakfast. They charged $5 additional for the breakfast, which wasn't that good and is about twice the cost of breakfast in a cafe or restaurant. Maybe it's a better deal if you go with a tour group.

Room Tip: The upper floors are nicer, with balconies overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ddissarrayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2016

This is a very centrally located hotel in Kathmandu that is in a safe place, but close to all of the shops and sites. We walked to Dunbar Square form here. We were staying with an expedition team and were welcomed warmly and graciously.

The rooms are very standard but comfortable. I recommend rooms on the higher floors for the views and air quality. There is a school nearby so you hear the children singing in the afternoon. The food is great and I enjoyed getting the room service and sitting on my patio or in the garden below. Try the Everest beer :)

Room Tip: Up high for the views. Less bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NordicPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed for 2 nights, location is great near the heart of Thamel. Rooms are OK, standard is pretty low but ok for a nights sleep. The restaurant and garden are very nice, a perfect place to relax after a visit to Thamel.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank L_Kongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Decent hotel for Nepal. Clean comfortable rooms. Good restaurant. Great location, in Thamel district. Watch for power outages. The front desk has times when the "brown-outs" occur. It is different every week. Don't get caught unaware, like we were!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Carina757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Nirvana Gardens after 20 days trekking to Gokyo and Everest Base Camp, and an additional 4 days being stuck at Lukla airport due to bad weather. Nirvana Gardens was an oasis to come across upon arrival back at Thamel- the hotel is tucked away in a back street away from the main hustle and bustle of Thamel. The gardens are beautiful and peaceful- you can sit and relax and feel like you are a million miles away. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable beds. 24 hours hot water and good wifi connection in rooms meant we could catch up with our families once more. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was also nice.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.1 km away
Tibet Guest House
Tibet Guest House
#102 of 210 in Kathmandu
277 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Access Nepal
Hotel Access Nepal
#43 of 210 in Kathmandu
336 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 210 in Kathmandu
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Potala Guest House
Potala Guest House
#85 of 210 in Kathmandu
152 reviews
0.3 km away
Ambassador Garden Home
Ambassador Garden Home
#39 of 210 in Kathmandu
670 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Ganesh Himal
Hotel Ganesh Himal
#18 of 210 in Kathmandu
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Garden Hotel

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 210 Hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range: RM95 - RM193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirvana Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Garden-Hotel is located in a tranquil oasis right in the heart of Thamel: Kathmandu's hub of touristic area, within walking distance of the Royal Palace Museum, the shopping and business district and areas of touristic interest. One step away from the hustle and bustle of Thamel, guests can enjoy the serene comfort of an expansive and lush landscaped garden replete with a rocky waterfall and a profusion of flowers, trees and birds. The hotel is unique, starting from its prime location, a spacious parking area, the ambiance and decor of the lobby and rooms to the Nepalese architecture of the hotel structure. The service is friendly but efficient and polite but personal, catering to all the needs of a discerning guest. The hotel aims to provide international standard accommodation and service with a touch of warm Nepalese hospitality at very affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Nirvana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Garden Kathmandu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing