We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
82
76
25
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
76
25
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe rooms older rooms thamel area desk staff free wifi currency exchange great shower hotel location is trekking company day trek would stay again wifi works standard room thamel market great location in thamel enjoyed my stay visit kathmandu
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

This hotel has a great location in the middle of Thamel. Rooms with garden view are very quiet, the staff is polite and helpful and very friendly. Food in the attached restaurant is good, especially the masala omelet!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Sincerely thanking you for your kind feedback, we are centrally located at the middle of the Thamel which is the main Tourist attract but we are still away from the noise of night bars & clubs.
It feels truly rewarded to receive such a positive feedback & our feedback will be shared with our restaurant staff & we look forward to have you back with us with your another great stay.
Sincerely,
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Great value and good quality comfortable accommodation. Most appreciated after two weeks out doing some hard trekking in the Annapurna Region. Friendly reception and service staff and very conveniently located.
Have a look for the resident tortoise in the pool in the tranquil outdoor lounging area.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the outdoor fish/tortoise pool is nice.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Sincerely thanking you for your kind feedback & overall observation, tranquility lounge is the main attraction of our guest house, & the name of the turtle is David, he is super friendly.
We once again would like to thank's for giving your time to write a feedback about our guest house & looking forward having you back with us with your another pleasant stay.
Sincerely,
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly and very obliging. The food also was good. I enjoyed my stay here. Also it was in the very right beside shops. Well situated for shopping

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomasmurray2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

It feels always rewarded to receive such a positive feedback like yours, your feedback will be shared with our entire team of Potala Guest.
We sincerely would like to thank you for giving us your time to review us & looking forward to have you back with us with your another pleasant stay.
Sincerely,
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

When we came to the guest house we were told that there are two types of rooms : delux and normal rooms. We asked for a normal room and asked to see the rooms. We were taken to a room and asked if the room was ok. It was a buitifull and clean, newly renevated, room. We took the room after filling out a form. When we checked out we found out that the room was a delux room and not a normal one. The clerk said that he showed us a room and we said it was ok so he gave it to us. They wouldnt listen to us and chared us double what we figured we were going to pay. The clerk added the price after i finished filling in the form and signed it without me knowing. The room itself is nice, comfy beds, clean, tv, ac, hot showers. Great location. Be carefull and double check what the clerks say....

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 818gabyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

On behalf of Potala Guest House, I want to extend my sincerest apologies for the experience that you had during your stay with us.
We always respect our guest views & thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We wouldn't be able to find our errors in our service if you wouldn't have brought this message.
After the inquiry we found that the error was due to the miscommunication, mistake was on our end since our clerk failed to clarify the room type & room rate during your check in process.
I ensure that this type of situation does not repeat again & we will train each of our hotel representatives on how to properly handle our customers.
we are very much appreciate for your feedback & if there are any other issues that need to be addressed, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.
Sincerely,
Rinjen lama
Further contact details : manager@potalaguesthouse.com
Cell : 9805986227

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Staffs were welcoming and very friendly. Deluxe room was clean and comfortable. Good service with perfect location for anyone out there who is traveling in Kathmandu and wants to stay near thamel area.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sangmo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
potala G, Manager at Potala Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Sincerely thanking you for your kind feedback & overall observation, though we are centrally located at the middle of the Thamel, we are still away from the noise of the night life of the Thamel, hustle & bustle.
we look forward to have you back with us with your another great stay.
Sincerely,
Rinjen lama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews