We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate service friendly hotel”
Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Ranked #31 of 586 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were offered an upgrade upon checking in and had a reasonably sized suit. We were happy with the upgrade and my children were offered a box of chocolate which was a nice touch from the staff at the Concierge. The rooms are dated, and quite bare bones in terms of furnishing. But service was still very good and friendly. My little one had a nose bleed and stained the bed sheets. He also broke a glass in the bathroom etc etc. When we called house keeping they were nice and understanding, and did a thorough job in cleaning up. I am impressed by the quality of service in Taipei in general, and would still recommend this hotel despite of the ghost stories :) The location is very convenient as being in a very nice and modern neighborhood. But for myself I would have preferred to stayed in an older, less developed neighborhood to get more of a feel for 'old' taipei and how the locals live.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,610 - 1,614 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

Probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in many hotels. Large Granite foyer greets you, with many "black-jacket wearing" employees to assist you with baggage or whatever. Many and varied different lounges and restaurants allow you to sample Asian, European and American fair with ease. I enjoyed a Jr. Suite that was spacious and very well equipped with an outstanding view of the park across the street. The bathroom and shower were luxurious, large and the towels were amazing. Large, thick and soft. It seems every small detail is meticulously attended to. I WILL stay again. I recommend you do the same.

Room Tip: Internet is fast and Free. Staff is helpful. Food is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I used to stay in Grand Hyatt Taipei very often, and I returned back after a while in mid December. Still an impressive, very good hotel, true 5 Star quality. I would agree slightly with the "old & dated" comments, but that applies to the rooms only, and by no means rooms are in bad shape. They are clean, spacious, very well attended. Why I rate Hyatt Taipei top class is this: (1) This is a very well established property, staff is helpful and very attentive. You will get the 5 star service, there is no question about it. By "established" I mean this: when you have even an odd request they know what to do and dont look at you blank like some other "new" 5 stars who do not yet have a good team in place. (2) Their gym is near excellent. I would say the gym alone is worth a visit. Outside swimming pool is heated and I find this cool. (3) Location. Taipei 101 building is adjacent, night market is close, and there are other shopping malls nearby. (4) Club floor is very good, well attended, and I rate it well above average than the others. (5) There are good restaurants in the property.

There are some improvement areas though. (1) breakfast buffett spread is very very good, but because of the size of the hotel, you need to que and it kinda is annoying. But I dont have an answer to that. (2) I always book hotel cars for the airport transfers in certain cities. Hyatt's hotel car was well attended (I had a Mercedes), but a little old - when you pay the premium you expect new vehicles with Wi-Fi. (it is a must). (3) I think they need a proper smoking section outside the main entrance.

Well - if you are planning to spend that kind of money I think Hyatt is a good choice which wouldnt disappoint you. There are no surprises, and you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hk_3414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Good business hotel, good service. Big hotel, no social feeling, because it;s so big.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoB188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Stayed with family on 21 December 2011. Location is excellent, opposite Taipei 101. Breakfast spread is good, local specialties like steam minced pork and glutinous rice are fantastic, miso soup is perfect, honey baked ham is tender and juicy and the best croissant I can find in Taipei. Room is rather aged and bathtub needs to be upgraded. A nice surprise for my son & daughter, a teddy bear and a spongebob square pant mug, come with kid toothbrush and toothpaste.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nusmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.7 km away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
0.6 km away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#19 of 586 in Taipei
2,629 reviews
4.4 km away
Grand Formosa Regent
Grand Formosa Regent
#16 of 586 in Taipei
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
2.7 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
4.4 km away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Address: No.2 SongShou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 11051, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taipei
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#29 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: RM890 - RM1,876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 853
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei is a luxury Taipei Hotel which anchors the city's most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this Taipei 5 star hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style.The hotel's guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei's unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing