We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms small, cockroaches plenty and big”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA Bangkok Downtown
Ranked #546 of 1,157 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rooms small, cockroaches plenty and big”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Easy to find, next to the metro (bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper). Tiny setup with rooms just fitting a double bed. No mosquito net and a shared airconditioned with the room next door... bit weird if you want to have it colder and the neighbour is turning it off... ?

Lady at the reception was nice at checkin but she was hardly there during the day... Expensive for the quality especially the bathrooms were small and cockroaches loved them!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888menice888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    7
    13
    9
See reviews for
1
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
10levitra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

If you want to get mosquito bitten all night, this is the place. I saw a big cockroach in
the bathroom/shower. Rooms are like a prison cell. way too much noise. Reception guy was rude. I wanted to check out the next. day. They wouldnt give me a refund because I reserved 3 days. You have to tell them 48 hours in advance if your walk in customer.
Avoid, avoid. not worth the misery. I went to hostel nearby and it was way better and cheaper.

Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 10levitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Mississauga
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

I stayed at YHA for a couple days at the begininng of my trip and again at the end.

The hostel itself looks very small from the outside but you will learn it actually has 5 floors. The rooms are small and clean and the sleep is comfortable. The bathrooms are communal and very small. The bathroom on the second floor was in need of some minor repair but the other floors were better. The only complaint I have about the washrooms is that there was not an electrical outlet close by for use of electric razor.

The location is ideal for people looking to explore the city because it is about 1 block away from a Skytrain station. It's also around the corner from the infamous Patpong night market. During the day you can find numerous street food vendors just around the corner where you can have delicious meals for about $1 USD. It is aslo close to banking area making it easy to access your international accounts.

This hostel is very secure, having a main door lock with key card access (turned on after midnight). Then a lobby door with keyed entry and then a deadbolt lock on the room door.

There is a small common area where you can sometimes find people playing cards or using the free wifi. The wifi is not very good in the rooms but strong in the common area. I found the hostels set up is not very condusive to a social environment, we ran into many people who were just staying for one night before going somewhere else.

The staff are very helpful in getting you around Bangkok and getting you what you need. On our last day they had no problems with us leaving our bags there for the majority of the day while we waited for flight. Most places are good to do this for a few hours but for extended periods.

Overall I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jam1king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

For the same amount I paid for a gorgeous room in Phuket with Tv and views etc, the YHA Bangkok provided me with a dark dingy room with very basic bathroom (shower over the toilet and metal dish basin) with no tv.
It was clean but no view.
Only attraction is the location: which was on the airport bus route.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

This YHA claims to be the smallest hostel, and it sure is. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. But the rooms are like prison cells. great for travellers on a buget who dont mind sleeping in a box room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lash2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
FuramaXclusive Sathorn
#311 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#727 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Silom
Silom Serene
Silom Serene
#280 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Quad Suites Silom
Quad Suites Silom
#545 of 1,157 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Silom
Hostel Na Nara
Hostel Na Nara
#419 of 1,157 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Silom
Good One Hostel & Cafe Bar
Good One Hostel & Cafe Bar
#32 of 1,157 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Bangkok Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Bangkok Downtown

Property: YHA Bangkok Downtown
Address: 395/4 Naradhivas Rajanakarindra Rd. | Silom , Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #546 of 1,157 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price range (per night): RM44 - RM97
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Bangkok Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your YHA Bangkok Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing