We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience in the heart of old town Bangkok.”
Review of The Bhuthorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bhuthorn
Ranked #110 of 752 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were looking for a small guesthouse to access Chinatown, the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, and the river taxis during our short 3 day stay in Bangkok. We couldn't have made a better choice with the above locations all within a 10 minute walk. If you're into historical architecture, I can't imagine a better place to stay. You can really tell the retired architect owners took a careful approach to the building restoration, retaining as much original character as possible. The service was perfect and food/refreshments fitting to the identity The Bhuthorn theme. I definitely hope to return for another stay, and would absolutely recommend others stay here as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nara room and found it perfectly fitting for 3 people (two beds).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently visited Thailand for the first time and while planning accommodation out in Chiang Mai or down on the islands is relatively easy, the choices in Bangkok were a little more confusing. They seemed to come down to either a modern/skyscraper/hotel or some sort of B&B which is a little daunting?
We selected the Bhuthorn completely on the basis of internet-reviews and were pleased with our choice.
In busy, noisy and sometimes overwhelming Bangkok, this tiny hotel is an oasis of peace and quite, it’s located off the main thoroughfares, in a small square of private homes and it really left us with the feeling of staying with friends.
The room & bathroom were spotlessly clean, afternoon refreshments (like teas & ice creams) were a treat and we followed all kinds of excellent local recommendations.
Access is easy using the ubiquitous tuktuks and internet communication was seamless.
We would highly recommend this beautiful little place to anyone who wants to visit Bangkok but doesn't want to be just another guest on the 3oth floor of some faceless hotel in the business distract.
If we visit Bangkok again we'll certainly be coming back!
Doug & Sara
Los Angeles, California

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank douglas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Bhuthorn is a tiny hotel - just a few rooms, but all kept to a high standard. The location in the old part of the city is perfect - just five minutes from the Grand Palace and easy walking distance from many interesting and varied temples and other places of interest.
The owners and staff of the Bhuthorn can not do enough for their guests, from afternoon tea when you really need a cooling drink and a snack, to making sure that everything is just right for a memorable stay. The Thai breakfast was delicious and different every morning. We would definitely recommend this delightful little hotel to anyone intending to visit Bangkok.

Room Tip: The Bhuthorn room is delightful with a four poster bed and traditional furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Bhuthorn is small, high quality hotel with exceptional staff. The location is fantastic for all that you could want. An oasis in a busy city and highly recommended. We couldn't have wished for more. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbrentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I enjoyed my stay in the Bhuthorn, a small boutique hotel close to What Po. The whole place is decorated in a very nice manner. Service is friendly and very professional. Ask for the Thai breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#148 of 894 in Bangkok
1,888 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#48 of 894 in Bangkok
468 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#276 of 894 in Bangkok
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Neighbor Phuthon
Neighbor Phuthon
#98 of 752 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#36 of 752 in Bangkok
319 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#14 of 752 in Bangkok
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 752 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: RM 405 - RM 631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bhuthorn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing