We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bhuthorn
Ranked #97 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2017

My partner and I stayed here in June 2017 and couldn't rate the Bhuthorn highly enough. The hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated and styled using exquisite colonial antiques and finished to a very high standard.

The service was exceptional and our best yet experienced in South East Asia. Our hosts went above and beyond answering and assisting with our every question, including drawing maps to assist with our travel plans. The hotel is a quiet oasis in the bustling Bangkok and is made exquisitely tranquil by the fresh jasmine flowers and relaxing music.

The breakfasts (the bento box in particular) were to die for and the coffee exceeded our fussy western standards. I also recommend taking up the offer of afternoon tea if you are able! Equally great.

We stayed in the Bhuthorn room which was wonderfully light and as outlined in this review beautiful styled and furnished including luxurious toiletries.

Do yourself a favour and book a stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BradWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

The Bhuthorn is an enigma. This is a three bedroomed B&B; the ground floor bedroom is not great but has hot water, the upstairs bedroom is glorious in Colonial style, but there is no hot water in this room so cold showers only. We complained - there was no apology and no attempt to put this right.

There are no tea making facilities for guests not even in reception as advertised.

However, it is in the best location in old Bangkok, it is so quiet at night and has a charm of its own. The Thai breakfast is amazing - choose the 4 dish Pinto on the breakfast menu. A newspaper handed out at breakfast too.

The owner is very attentive and makes an effort to look after her quests.

So although there were short comings, we have to give this accommodation 5 stars!


Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank bootstrapbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I recently spent three nights in Bangkok on my way back to the UK from traveling elsewhere in south-east Asia. I chose the Bhuthorn because of its location - in old Bangkok away from the busier parts of the city but still close to some of my favourite places including Wat Arun, Wat Prakeow and Ratchadamnoen Road with its beautiful art deco buildings and the Democracy Monument. Out for a stroll on one of the days, I wandered off the main road and happened upon some shady side streets along what is left of Bangkok's once extensive canal system. You can still see wooden houses and many temples in this area. There are also many restaurants and several bars within walking distance.

I also chose the Bhuthorn because it has just three rooms and is in an authentically restored former shop house. My room was a delight with a cosy lounge decorated with vintage furnishings and pictures of old Bangkok and an "upstairs" sleeping area. All of the surfaces are teak, enhancing the authenticity of the shop house.

Breakfast is served in a tiny open air courtyard at the back of the guest house and guests are asked to choose what they would like the night before. I am a vegetarian and so chose a vegetarian bento box. The contents changed a little each day but included at various times vegetarian noodles, vegetable rice, mango, dragon fruit, "Chinese pastry" and tiny onion patties wrapped in a banana leaf. All delicious. Coffee, tea, juice and water are also served.

An additional treat at the Bhuthorn is that afternoon tea is served in the courtyard. Guests can choose from two or three items to have with their tea or coffee - I chose the sticky rice with coconut milk and mango. Again, delicious.

The two staff that I met were excellent - Trisha who checked me in and sorted out my breakfast each day as well as booking taxis, etc. and the young man who assisted with my very heavy bag and went out to find me a telephone charger after I had left mine in Myanmar!

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yekkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Simply stated, The Bhuthorn is superb. The care and attention to detail was unmatched by any other hotel we visited during our three-week vacation to Southeast Asia.

After 30+ hours of traveling from the United States, it was absolutely blissful to fall asleep in the clean, cool comfort of The Bhuthorn. The staff was amazing, particularly Trisha, going out of their way to help us on numerous occasions, including walking with us to a restaurant that we were struggling to find. In a bustling foreign city where we don’t speak the language, we felt safe and cared-for every day.

The rooms are beautifully decorated, with reliable Wifi and a helpful booklet of information about landmarks, customs, and restaurants. Afternoon tea was held every day between 2 and 5pm, and became a major highlight of our days that was only matched by the delicious breakfasts. The availability of a “western” breakfast was much appreciated, but not needed – the local fare is far superior and changes every morning, providing a wide range of tastes to explore. If you’re a coffee-drinker, then you won’t be disappointed. Our group of six unanimously agreed that it was the best coffee we’ve ever had… EVER. One small negative was we felt the pillows too thick.

If you decide to book with The Bhuthorn, make sure to get clarification about the sister hotel. Our driver accidentally dropped us off at their other, larger hotel a few blocks away, and for a brief (anxious) moment, we thought we were locked out of our hotel! Luckily, a staff member from the Bhuthorn met us on the sidewalk and guided us to the correct location.


Chitlada was so helpful when making the reservations. When part of our party’s flight was delayed she arranged to have a second car sent to the airport and Trisha waited up for them to arrive and got everyone settled. We left a couple items after we departed and Chitlada emailed us pictures of the items we left and would have arranged to get them to us, had we needed them.

Since our group occupied all three rooms it was like having our own apartment within walking distance to the sites of old town Bangkok. For a home-away-from-home experience with an added touch of luxury and an authentic local feel, at a reasonable price, stay at The Bhuthorn.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmania121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Lovely stay at this peacefull hotel in the middle of hectic Bangkok. With all the major attractions of old town Bangkok within a a short walk ~1km. I can recommend the Thai breakfast if you've grown accustomed to having rice for breakfast. The complimentary traditional afternoon tea is another major plus! All in all a great hotel in the middle of Bangkok

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Neighbor Phuthon
Neighbor Phuthon
#111 of 731 in Bangkok
8 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#13 of 731 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#40 of 731 in Bangkok
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
The Asadang
The Asadang
#42 of 731 in Bangkok
236 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#3 of 731 in Bangkok
464 reviews
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 731 in Bangkok
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bhuthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bhuthorn

Address: 96-98 Phraeng Bhuthorn Rd., | Phranakhorn,, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: RM432 - RM657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bhuthorn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bhuthorn,a newly operated hotel located in the heart of oldtown Bangkok, one of the well-preserved community registered to the Fine Art Department of Thailand. The Bhuthorn, a century-old shophouse has been converted into a boutique accommodation with exclusively 3 guestrooms. Each room has been decorated in their own individual characteristics with a colonial atmosphere. Our main targets are travelers who, while traveling, love to enjoy arts, history, people, and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bhuthorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bhuthorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing