We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GLOW Pratunam(Bangkok)
US$207
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$499
US$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
172
66
12
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
66
12
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspad thaikhao san roadcommon roombig lockersthe cafe downstairsgiant swingwat saketgrand palacethai milk teagolden mountwalking distanceshampoo and body washstaff were incredibly helpfulshared bathroomthe perfect place to staymain buildingquiet area
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a good choice if you want to keep a bit of a distance to khaosan. They have nice dorms with ac, beautiful bathrooms, great coffee and all the infirmation you need. BUT the staff doesn't really speak English, it can be tough to get the information you need. They are still friendly, though.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bourne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers here.We're grateful for the kind review.We were sorry regarding the young trainees and parttime staffs.We accepted thier English is not fluent and hope they will pratice more .However, thank you so much to see values of our friendly service.Hope to welcome you again next time.

Best regards,
Niras Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I don't usually write reviews, but I'd like to warn other travelers about places to potentially avoid. This is one of them. There were 3 main problems with the place, as outlined in other negative reviews of this place.

1. There are giant nasty roaches everywhere. These were the first giant bugs I saw in Thailand- in my room and in the bathroom. ::shudder:: I saw them every night.
2. The shared bathrooms were among the filthiest I've ever seen in a hostel. They smelled of feces, and the walls, floor and shower curtain was covered with mildew. The shower curtain rod was completely broken and actually fell on top of my head when I pulled back the shower curtain. Ouch!
3. The rooms were tiny and poorly insulated from the abundant noise of drunk people coming in and out. We got little sleep.

Full disclosure: I didn't complain about these things because there was really not much the management could do about the problems while we were there, but I certainly wouldn't stay there again. Also, it should be obvious that bathrooms should be clean and there shouldn't be roaches!

Good things: The location was decently close to the palace and Wat Pho, though no cab driver had ever heard of this hostel. The coffee was good and the staff seemed well-meaning. In all, I'd recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear valued guest,
First of all , thank you and we take all comments seriously and sincerely sorry that we did not meet your expectation.

Importantly,regarding the problems,It is unfortunate that we haven't receive your complaint while staying with us for 4 nights.As the owner of this property, i am always there at the front office and ready to assist all guests.We are truly sorry that you underestimated that our team could not do much about these problems and we had no chances to fix problems immediately for you .

Please kindly find our honest reply to each comment as below :
1. Regarding roaches, in Thailand we accepted that it's possible and common that you have seen a few of them at night in the rainy season like August.Originally they were not in our hostel and possibly from outside street when the window or door openned .We would to confirm that roaches are not related with our own cleanliness quality and level . To be fair,our property could not operate or run if there are roaches everywhere and all other guests might not happy about it.
However, now we are working on the approach how to protect and control them from outside .

2..As most of backpackers and travellers , select our hostel for its cleanliness as key factor. We are sorry that it's not you expectation as hotel standard.Sometimes it happen for the communal facilities you shared with other guests.However, we have our own standard that the shared bathrooms are always cleaned and checked quite offten at least 5 times a day .Moreover, the shower curtian rod was accidentally broken while you were using. We already changed the new one for this bathroom and sorry for this unexpected issue.

3.Regarding noise, we are sorry that other young group enjoyed drinking and loudly talked to bother your room.If you informed us that night regarding disturbance , we would take immediately action and warn them during that night .

Our mission is still the same .We do care regarding service & guest's satisfaction.However as a little help, we wish kind and valued guests will bring us sincere comments or even complaints to help us to improve the quality and offer guests overall happy experience.

Best regards,
Niras team

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

It has a nice atmosphere, and the staff is helpful and nice, but it's too expensive for the size of the rooms, the location and the facilities. If you saw the pictures on their website in advance, it'll be a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdcis80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your comments. However ,as we checked the details of the guests who checked in August 2012, there are two bookings of a couple under the same first name like yours" Ivan".
One is the the guest suddenly cancelled thier booking and was charged by credit card.
Second, the guest who booked the budget room and upgraded to the most expenesive room of our property - ensuite room with full facilities for free.

We are really not sure you are eithe first or second valued guest.However, we think that possibly you might be the 1st guest who was charged by cancellation. We also reported to TA regarding this.

For the comments , truthfully we would like to make sure that every photo of our room are real and no computer edit from our website or even on this site. We are just small and honest hostel and there's no budget for computerizing the photos.

Regards,
Niras Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Feels like home. Friendly service. Amazing breakfast. Free wifi. Close to major attractions. I spent several nights here and loved it. The staff go above and beyond to help customers and do all they can to make your stay worth while.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H9695QYjenniferb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind compliment and review.Thank you so much for your long stay and spending time to enjoy the cultural trip and old Bangkok.
We 're happy to take care of you and giving you advice.
Hope to see you again next time in our city.

Happy Travels!
Niras Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The staff was so friendly and helped us write everything down in Thai so that there was no confusion when needing to cab to the bus station.

They are very secure and are in a fantastic location - near all the temples and Khao San Road. It was fairly clean. It was nice and quiet. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamBankoc, Owner at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write us the kind review and seeing the values of our service.
We were glad that you liked our cultural character and location of old city.
Hope to meet the real traveller like you and welcome your group again in the future.

Best regards,
Niras team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews