We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
185
85
29
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
85
29
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private boat across the river hotel boat ferry service special hotel busy city taxi driver beautiful hotel swimming pool khao san road downtown bangkok loved this hotel pier geckos chao retreat riverboat
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I joined tripadvisor to write this. This place and the people working deserves to thrive. When we went the hotel seemed less than half full, maybe its because of low season, in any case I hope it can continue doing what its doing.

A truly wonderful experience.

The staff are incredibly attentive, kind and genuine.

The ferry crew treated my wife on the ferry, they noted she was slightly limping as she had hurt her leg while walking. The receptionist helped to recover my phone which was lost in the city (I was fully resigned to it being lost forever). I could not be more impressed and appreciative of their hospitality. Above and beyond any expectations.

The location on the river, the vibrant artery of Bangkok, is serene and feels like an escape. Getting into the city is quick and easy, the hotel ferry transfer works great and is captained by a small charming crew. The hotel provides a dedicated cell phone which you can use to request pickup, they respond immediately at all hours.

The rooms are clean and elegant. A cooling plunge into the pool after a long walk is unbeatable.

There will not be a better place to stay in Bangkok.

PS Breakfast and coffee is better across the river. A great breakfast would just add a sixth star. Its not terrible just a quite standard effort.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Unique and special hotel, definitely worth visiting!!

The Location:
The Location is great! It's close to markets and sights as well as being very secluded. You have to take their own boat taxi to cross the river, but they made it quite effortless. You will receive a mobile phone for pickup, the boat runs 24/7.
At first we thought this might be a hassle, but it's really not, it's quite nice actually.

The Facility:
A beautiful Italian villa with charm, soul and rustic details. The entire place is very serene and the architecture and gardens are stunning!

The pool is not big, but big enough.

Customer Service:
Genuine care and service! Super friendly and helpful. The service really goes all way, from boat staff to check in/out!!!

The Room:
We got an upgrade which was amazing! The details of the interior is fabulous, its rustic but in a good way.

Our friend stayed in a basic room, which was great as well!

Would I stay here again?
DEFINITELY!!! It's a perfect stay for Bangkok, you are super close to the pulse of the city and the calm at the same time.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank DustyPink-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Other favorable comments fit my experience.

BUT the hotel English website was NOT up-front enough about lack of road access. We arrived with 20 kg suitcases by foot via 400 meters of narrow alleys. Yes, we should have come by ferry, the ONLY guest access to the hotel. Arrived upset from lack of prior information, we were reassured that we were "not the only ones". So the hotel should have known to fix this problem, which was at best deceptive, at worst deceitful.

Neither the website nor our confirmation letter were clear about the ferry being THE ONLY access route for guests. Their wording was fuzzy. It should have indicated"
- "What is unique about this hotel is the lack of road access, with SOLE access to it by ferry taken from quai N13 across the river"
- "the ONLY ACCESS to this hotel for guests is by private hotel ferry taken from N13 across the river".

Deceptive if not deceitful.

Otherwise a lovely place and efficient ferry service.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johnrichards3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

This beautiful hotel is a bit on the shabby side of shabby chic. I loved it. V friendly and such a welcome retreat from the hustle, bustle and noise of downtown Bangkok.
Certainly quiet, certainly a great pool.
Friendly service, but language isn't great. And some attention to detail would lift this place to the next level.
If yours after quirky and quiet I would recommend this.
If you are after top level 5 star luxury look to the riverside hotels.
Only accessible by private boat, you get to know the boat fellows well and they are friendly and eager to please.
Providing you with a phone to use during your stay is this hotels best idea.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms at the front for space and a river view.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Beautiful ambiance, great food and polite staff. A quiet hideout from the busy city while just a short private boat ride away from the famous Khaosan Road. The hotel only has a few rooms only so you could have the swimming pool all by yourself most of the times. A romantic experience.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ManmanL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews