We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam(Bangkok)
US$127
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
GLOW Pratunam(Bangkok)
US$135
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paragon Inn(Bangkok)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$609
US$382
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,857)
Filter reviews
2,857 results
Traveller rating
862
1,431
420
98
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
1,431
420
98
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverkrung thon burifamily roomswimming poolfree shuttlebts stationnice poolchao phrayarooms are basicthe main roadsaphan taksinhotel shuttlesathorn piershuttle servicedouble bedbreakfast buffetwat arun
Filter
Updating list...
1,385 - 1,390 of 2,857 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

just had a chance to visit the hotel yesterday.

The atmosphere is so nice, it's the biggest Ibis (Thailand) in my opinion.

The room size is quiet nice if you compare with the price, didnt feel uncomfortable at all.

I love the way they arrange stuffs for children in Family Room, there's a playstation for kids and Bunk Bed, size as of normal single bed. I think this room can accommodate 4 adults!

If you are lucky, you will get the room with the Pool+River view at the same time. They have the quarantee fee for the view as well.

The restaurant is ok, they have various of simple Thai food and some Western menus. (Price Range THB. 120-200 per plate).

Love the swimming pool and the surrounded garden, nice set up.

They have the free shuttle service to the skytrain every 30 mins, so if you want to go to the city centre, that's not a problem.

If i'm not Thai, I will definately stay overnight at this hotel.

Room Tip: try to ask for the room in the central building, to face the River and Pool at the same time. If you come with friends ask the reception to give you the family room, i love it ! They also have the room for disable as well.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at ibis Bangkok Riverside! We are glad that your enjoyed staying with us as well as compliments on our hotel in many ways. We will surely convey this nice message to our team for encouragement :)

ibis Bangkok Riverside is a newly-built hotel and its location allows guests to enjoy Bangkok's attractions as well as to relax alongside the Chao Phraya river.

Again we thank you for your positive comments and for soon being our regular guest! We look forward to having you again soon for another ibis experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This riverside hotel was wonderful. There was no problem getting here from the airport, they knew where it was but do bring the hotel location printed out so you can show the cab driver just in case. I do want to mention you have to go downstairs from arrivals at the airport to get the regulated taxis. We needed a van because there were 6 of us and it was a flat rate of 700BAHT. It was late so I wasn't ging to argue and it was a good deal considering it was pretty far from the airport. The hotel was very clean, pools were great never to crowded and the view was amazing. We had a family river view room with the bunk beds and the Wii. There was never an issue getting the games you can check out three at a time. My boys loved it. The tuk tuk to the train runs every half an hour but coming back is tricky we never caught it. We always walked back which was a 10 minute very easy walk. There is a massage place down the main street, come out of the alleyway make a right go down 2 blocks and it is on the right, 150BAHT/hour. There was one one block down but it was 50 BAHT more. The boats are 2 blocks further down from the massage place, for 10 BAHT take it accross the river and for 40 BAHT take the ferry boats up and down the river to all the main attrations. It was glorious, grab a bite to eat and just float your afternoon away. I will for sure stay here again on my next trip to Bangkok was so worth it not being in the crazy Silom area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation!

We are glad that you and your family liked our hotel. ibis Bangkok Riverside is one of recommended hotels for family getaway with the stunning view of the Chao Phraya river and relaxing atmosphere :)

We hope to see you again in the soon future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

IBIS hotels are typically clean, comfortable with relatively small rooms. The IBIS Riverside is no different. However where it is unique is its location on the Chao Praya River. It presents an idyllic scene whether one is lounging under the umbrellas around the pool or sitting on the patio area having a meal. The staff is courteous and professional. Breakfast is ok with sufficient choices while the dinner buffet is very nice with plenty of variety.

Since all IBIS hotels are typically the same I will offer some information about the neightbourhood and getting around Bangkok.

There are really no tourists attractions in the immediate area of the hotel and that was confirmed by the hotel staff. However the hotel shuttle service to the BTS Skytrain station provides convenient access to many other interesting areas of Bangkok. For shopping we found the Paragon Mall at the Siam Skytrain station very interesting. Great for high end shopping as well as plenty of reasonably priced restaurants and a food court. The top floor has movie theatres although we did not see a movie on our short time there, it looked clean and impressive. In the basement there is an aquarium called Ocean World. Again we did not go inside but we noticed many people particularly those with kids buying tickets.

Also MBK at the National Stadium station (next station after Siam) is a great place for almost anything one might want to buy including souvenirs. Bargaining seems to be expected there.

For those who wish to explore other areas of Bangkok not served by the Skytrain, just take the short walk to the main road and flag down a taxi with the light on in its front windshield signifying that it is available.. Bangkok has an abundance of taxis and therefore it is easy to catch a cab. One word of caution. Always insist on the driver turning on the meter. Don't negotiate because you will definitely overpay. If you get some story for example about the meter not working then just get out and take another taxi. Alternatively a tuk tuk can also be found but the price seems to be no better than a taxi and since tuk tuks have no meter tourists will always be at a disadvantage negotiation a price. Besides who really wants to sit in the heat and breath exhaust fumes when air conditioned taxis with meters are readily available.

For those occasions when you want to just look around the hotel neighbourhood I recommend a short walk to the main street. At the right corner of this main street there is a 7-11 convenience store. Great for incidentals and snacks. If you turn left at this corner there are several Thai style restaurants. Most are not air conditioned but you can have authentic and inexpensive Thai food. Our favourite was a small stand right at the corner selling Pad Thai. While street food might worry some, our experience with the Pad Thai shop was fine. It seems to only be there late afternoons and evenings. Great Pad Thai and very inexpensive. We chose it initially because their menu had English language. We preferred to take the Pad Thai back to the hotel as a break from those large buffets at the hotel.

Other shops along the main street include a pharmacy (no prescription required for most items), hair cut shops, a travel agency, an air conditioned coffee shop, banks with ATMs and other street food items. All of these can be found within a single block or so by turning either left or right at the main street.

In summary, the IBIS Riverside provides a great location on the river and offers conveniences in the immediate vicinity as well as access to all other parts of Bangkok.

Room Tip: The hotel is away from the main street so traffic noise is not an issue.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrequentTravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

It is our brand promises to provide good location and great atmosphere for our guest's convenience and we thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed our prime location as well as the view, our breakfast and cleanliness.

Again we thank you for your positive comments and for recommending our hotel and we look forward to having you again soon for another ibis experience !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We decided to stay here based on many positive reviews on this and other sites, which unfortunately raised expectations which were quickly dashed.
The positives:
A stunning riverside location with outdoor pool and good views from the rooms and gardens and convenient location. Staff proactively dealt with issues and attempted to resolve the problems.
The negatives:
The property is non-smoking but this rule is largely ignored and there was a pervasive smell of smoke greeting guests in the corridors and by the lifts.
Soundproofing between the rooms is non-existent. The first night we were kept awake by the TV left on next door, followed by a late night marital 'discussion' on one side and drinking and shouting on the other side.
We had booked for 3 nights and were tempted to leave after the first night. The hotel offered us a quieter end room on the same floor with partial riverview. We thought at least in this room we might have noise only one side so gave it a try. We were awakened at 23.00 by shouting in the corridor from a major argument being carried out in the corridor by a couple with door slamming and threats of violence. Noise also carried up from the pool area which was supposed to shut at 19.00 but was still being used at midnight.
We decided to move after these incidents and to its credit the hotel knocked off our extras (meals in the restaurant) against our pre-payment for the third night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterKRej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your review and your compliments on our location, facilities, nice view, and our proactive staff.

We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience that might cause during your stay with us. We will take your comment to discuss with the hotel management team for improvement.

We hope to welcome you again at any ibis hotels in Thailand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were so excited when we arrived at this hotel, as the location is awesome, and there is an amazing view over the river. We had to take a transfer from the hotel (free every 30 min) or a taxi to the Skytrain. We got ripped off by taxis, and if you ask them to turn on the meter you should pay no more than 49 Baht to get to the station.

The room was small but comfortable; the breakfast - shocking. We paid extra to include breakfast and the food was cold, undercooked and there was no variety. We wanted to sit outside at the area overlooking the river, and every single table was dirty, while staff were standing around doing nothing. When we tried to complain, no one could understand English.

My tip: avoid breakfast at this hotel entirely and head somewhere else for your morning cuppa!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lauren0597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Bangkok Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

We appreciate that you liked our nice location, scenery, shuttle service and room. ibis aims at providing our guests with good quality, warm services, and great value!

We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We have already discussed with the hotel management for the immediate improvement. Your comments are very important to us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews