We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Extra Cost”

Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Look for Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure on yahoo to find our website for more info. Please email or call to reserve before you come down to our office. If you are looking for an authentic Thai thing to do, our canal tour is the one! Because boats on canals were used as transport traditionally, many interesting sites are along the water way. Our tour stops at: Morning Fresh Produce Market(Weekend altered with a canal-side floating market), Orchid Nursery in Green Rush, Hidden Forest Temple, Traditional Thai House (the Artist's House). We can also arrange custom tours around water ways.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We were staying by one of Bangkok's main piers (Sathorn). We must have had 10 guys a day offering river and canal tours for as little as 1,500 bath ($50 bucks) for two passengers to tour the rivers and canals for who knows how long. I was thinking about it and then my wife did some research and came up with the Small Teak Boat tour.

I'm sure glad she did because all those guys do is race you up and down the river or through the canals. No narration; just a boat ride. We saw tons of them while we took our adventure.

I didn’t feel like trying to figure out how to use Bangkok’s train to get to the tour starting point. For 100 baht ($3) the tour company arranged for a guide to come to our hotel and take us to the dock. At 8:00 am, a little Thai girl showed up in the lobby. Marisa greeted us in a very soft voice. I thought I would never be able to hear her on the tour, but the volume of Marisa’s voice increased with the ambient noise, so I generally had no trouble hearing her.

My wife, Marisa the guide and I quickly left the hotel and did the 5 minute walk to the nearest train station. The cost of a ride is determined by the distance you travel, so Marisa showed us how to calculate the fare and buy a ticket. I’m confident that we can use the train system now so the $3 charge for the hotel pickup was money well spent.

It was a 5 stop 10 minute train ride followed by another 5 minute walk to the pier where we met Chai, our boat driver. It would be just the four of us for the day which I really liked. I hate listening to somebody ask a bunch of irrelevant questions while we have to wait on for all their dumb questions to be answered. We climbed onto the boat one at a time, with directions to sit in the middle of the seat.

To make a long story short, over the next 5.5 hours we visited a market, a fancy marble temple, a monastery where the monks try to live as simply as possible, an orchid farm and an “artist’s house”. We also ate lunch. Probably spent two to two and a half hours on the boat and the remainder on land. Marisa was great. Gave us enough information but not too much. Answered all our silly questions.

Tour highlights:

• At the market, I saw some pretty high quality baseball caps selling for 100 baht ($3) each so Marisa helped me buy one.
• The canals are full of fish. They jump out of the water as the boat drove by. Marisa says that sometimes the fish jump right into the boat.
• The canals contain lizards that can grow to 3 meters long and 100 kg (220 lbs)

Over the course of the day Marisa bought us some waters, paid any and all admissions and lunch too. The cost was 5,000 baht plus 100 baht for the hotel pickup. Way more than 1,500 bath for a race through the canals but this was soooooo much better! I'd recommend it to anybody.

1  Thank Stremma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Owner at Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Stremma,

You said it best!

Thank you for coming

Tom and the Pandan Tour Teams,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"orchid farm"
in 123 reviews
"artist house"
in 52 reviews
"puppet show"
in 77 reviews
"pandan tours"
in 39 reviews
"forest temple"
in 27 reviews
"floating market"
in 83 reviews
"mr tee"
in 8 reviews
"sunset tour"
in 8 reviews
"bangkok canals"
in 9 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 41 reviews
"brilliant tour"
in 6 reviews
"morning market"
in 7 reviews
"thai culture"
in 30 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 15 reviews
"local market"
in 22 reviews
"klong tour"
in 6 reviews
"catfish"
in 13 reviews
Filter

74 - 78 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018

This was such a great tour to experience a diverse overview of Bangkok culture! We enjoyed visiting a temple with ornate decorations, and one that was more community driven. It was fun motoring along the canals to see villages and shops - everyone waved and smiled to each other in passing!

Our lunch stop was some of the best food we ate during our time in the city! We followed our tour guide as she walked through the market and let her select food items for us, rather than picking the "tourist friendly" foods. Best decision of the day!

It was also interesting to see a beautiful orchid garden that grows for local and international sale! The artist colony was an interesting way to cap a fascinating day of Thai culture, and would definitely recommend!

1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Owner at Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Jessica M,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to see your review here. If everyone that took our tour put such a great review like this we would come out with such a big smile to bring you along the canals.

The Land of Smiles is the most accurate description of Thailand, don't you agree.

Tom and the Pandan Tour Teams,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This 6 hour canal trip is a bit pricy by Bangkok standards but is good value. We did a private small boat tour. Anan, the guide, met us at the sky train station and walked us to the pier. Both he and the captain were helpful getting in and out of the boat at the various stops. In addition to explaining the sites and the fundamentals of buddhism, Anan shared his love of rock and roll, singing oldies but goidies, and inviting us to sing along (which we did, badly). the tour inclues a temple and museum with a beautiful italian glass stupa, A floating market where we had a great lunch With the locals, an orchid farm, forest temple, and an artisans house with a puppet show. If you are on the weekend tour, choose lunch at The floating market, lots of choices and good local food. If you have more than 2 or 3 days in Bangkok, this your is a great way to get away from the crowded city and see a different side of local life.

2  Thank mcmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom P, Owner at Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi mcmash,

Thank you so much for the song to our ears review you sing here for us.
I didn't know Khun Anan was such a great singer of Rock and Rolls. We at the office will make him sing a song for us next time we have a company meeting!

Please come again to try our other tour when you are in Bangkok.

Tom and the Pandan Tour Teams,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful day with Tee hopping from market to temple to orchid farm to a tiny town to a home stay lunch (best meal of our trip!) and an authentic Thai puppet show. Tee bought us pineapple with chili sugar at the market, and fried banana and purple sweet potato from a boat-vendor in the canal. He took us on a walk through a small village which was not part of the normal tour, where we saw more up close and fed canal fish. The boat component itself was a major highlight, seeing all sorts of different types of homes, temples, shops, and all the while getting explanations and descriptions (and jokes!) from Tee. The boat driver was excellent also, slowing down when I was taking pictures of whatever shrine, home, or giant water monitor lizard caught my fancy. Tee also made sure to take pictures of us to remember it by, which was great!

1  Thank ailouron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Anan was quite the tour leader! We took a private tour for four adults (myself, husband, step-daughter and her husband) for four hours in the afternoon. This is a most brilliant tour to take to explore a different side to Bangkok. It’s most unlike the hustle and the bustle of the centre. Floating down the canals is like being transported to the jungle! You will see a more traditional side of life. Small boats peddling food for the locals, an artists area, a magnificent and quiet temple replete with a stunning emerald tower inside, orchid farm, traditional houses on stilts, hungry catfish and we even spotted a moniker lizard (huge and glorious). But really, the day was made by the guide, Anan. He couldn’t have entertained us more, he couldn’t have more informative or kinder. He was just a great all round guy who also had fabulous English skills. At the end of the tour he went out of his way to guide us to the right sky train station to get a boat to our next destination. He even got off the train and showed us the correct exit etc. A brilliant brilliant day. Thanks Anan. He speaks words of wisdom. Let him be. (-:

2  Thank Globetrotter1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Small Teak Boat Canal Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing