We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #3 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

An hotel with pedigree, the world famous Oriental Hotel Bangkok, this hotel has history, many famous people have stayed in this hotel over the years, fine dining throughout, our room had butler service, only complaint they don't have a club floor similar to the Horizon Floor in the adjoining Shangri-la Hotel so no freebie drinks early evening. hotel located looking on to the river with plenty happening to keep you entertained. Lord Jims restaurant wort a visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a forward looking room near the river view. go for the butler service if you can get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,344 - 2,348 of 4,392 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

I want to start with a confession: I am biased!
Have been staying at the hotel severeal times a year for the last 30+ years and loved each and every stay and each new stay it is still something I look forward to. Almost like going home, no other luxury hotel does give me that feeling. Everything is just perfect from the moment I am greeted by the hotel staff at the airport, until I am accompagnied to the checking counter on my way out. The hotel offers tranquil and discrete luxury. The staff is incredibly friendly and tries hard to please.

I absolutely cannot confirm the negative impressions I have been reading in this section. However having observed the behaviour of some guests over the years I suspect there might have been a clash of culture. In Thailand like in other countries it helps to understand the basics of the local culture. After all there is sufficient publications around explaining the differences. I also strongly recommend to ask oneself a simple question befor complaining about insufficient command of the english language by the staff: how many foreign languages do I speak fluently?

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My partner and I are huge fans of this fabulous hotel and have stayed many times but after all the travel advisories against visiting Bangkok wondered whether we should divert to another city . We checked with the hotel who told us that it was safe to come and they were absolutely right . We arrived on November 4 , went quickly through immigration and were met by the hotel's excellent car service who whisked us to the hotel in no time . The hotel is functioning completely normally and is as wonderful as always .

We had a reviving jet lag massage at the superb hotel spa across the river and then an excellent dinner on the terrace of the Verandah restaurant overlooking the river . Today we have been lying by the pool where we had lunch before crossing the river on the hotel boat to the gym.

The staff are so warm and welcoming and although many of them have been affected by the flooding are very glad that guests are still arriving . The hotel is providing support to its staff and their families at this difficult time and I'd urge anyone planning to visit Bangkok to keep to their plans and treat themselves to a stay at this superb hotel .

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GXWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The best hotel i have EVER stayed in and 50% of the accolade has to go to the absolutely amazing staff!

We had a truly fabulous experience, the staff were beyone anything i have ever experienced. They knew our name, our floor and room without asking. We were greeted warmly and welcomingly and made to feel very much at home for our 3night stay. Trips were arranged for us, dinners booked, cars arranged at a moments notice. The food was fabulous and the array of restaurants covered every requirement you may have and to the highest of standards. Nibbles by the pool brought at regular intervals also made you feel very much appreciated!

The Mandarin Oriental comes highly recommended!! Thank you for making our holiday so wonderful!!

Room Tip: Ask the lovely reception staff and i am sure they will do whatever they can to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anny020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I arrived at 5 o'clock after much travel throughout SE Asia for business and was greeted with such kindness and professionalism at the airport (by hired car facilitator and chauffeur). Then, at hotel door, a repeat performance, as well as at the desk, at the spa and roaming throughout the hotel. Great attention to detail in terms of amenities, turn down service, and stocked mini bar. (Call me silly, but every once in a while a beer and chips from the mini bar after a bath just hit the spot.) Room was lovely and perfect for one. Nice linens, pretty and useful furniture areas and a fabulous bath/shower arrangement and decor. Interesting blue tile choice. Bold. Booked two spa treatments upon arrival and had no problems (not recommended to be so last minute, but glad to know it could be done effortlessly). I had the short neck/shoulder massage and pedicure. Beautiful spa treatment rooms; spa located across the swollen river and reached via special boat with lovely trim and lights. Best pedicure ever and nine days later, still no chipping. Plus, I'm a runner so she had something tough to work with. I would definitely stay at the Mardarin Oriental (MO) in Bangkok or a MO elsewhere based on this experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_Steelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 890 in Bangkok
8,628 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 890 in Bangkok
4,564 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 890 in Bangkok
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: RM1,730 - RM3,080 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing