We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite hotel and superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #3 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2014

We always travel with the American Express Centurion benefits so some of our reviews may be shifted toward the top, but what we found this time is a real pearl which should not be missed. The attention to details goes that little step ahead which makes you feel really special. The service is superior, as well as the quality of the rooms (we had a river view suite) and the dedication the staff gives to special requests (a private tour guide, a birthday cake and flowers).
During our visit (December 2014) there were some ongoing maintenance works at the Verandah (close to the swimming pool): some noise but really well managed in terms of work time and disruption to the day-to-day life in the hotel.
Pros: the hotel terrace restaurant (on the other side of the river, easily reached by the hotel shuttle service) cannot be missed. The suites are quite spacious and the facilities/amenities of excellent quality. Service to die for. Food and drinks as you would expect in this sort of accommodation. Breakfast is excellent, with good food variety and a pleasant view on the river.
Cons: the location is fine, but some of the surroundings are very Bangkok-ish. Nothing against that, but a romantic walk in the evening outside of the hotel can somehow spoil the entire poetry. Several simple things are definitely overpriced, but in line with the expectations. Wi-Fi is charged (not terribly expensive, but a bit of a surprise considering the status of the hotel).

We did not visit the Spa and I suspect it was a mistake. Life is sometimes tough: we will visit again. Absolutely an hotel to keep on the list if you go.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winder226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,292 of 4,397 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2014

We booked the MO for 3 nights to begin the first leg of our 2 week honeymoon. From start to finish, the service was sublime. I normally don't revisit cities I have already been to and explored, but we will definitely return in the future. Check in was swift, with staff carrying this out in our room. We were upgraded to a sea view room with a balcony, offered upgraded spa treatments and invited to complimentary evening cocktails. We had dinner at sala rim, the terrace and enjoyed breakfast at the verandah, all of which were excellent. The spa was also amazing! Staff were literally out of this world in terms of attention to detail and service. If you have the opportunity to come to Bangkok, do not look past the amazing MO.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

When deciding which hotel to stay at for our brief two day stop over in Bangkok on our Honeymoon there only seemed to be one option. We read all the reviews and the word of mouth so decided to go with it.
To be honest Bangkok is quite a bizarre place - great if you have a couple of months to get to know it but a bit disorientating if only there for a few days. The oriental was a perfect place to get our bearings.
The staff were perfect- they knew our names and couldn't do enough for us
We were upgraded to an authors suite which is bigger than our London flat!
Wouldn't hurry back to Bangkok but would highly recommend the hotel

Room Tip: Get married!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

This is our third afternoon tea taken here in three years, the service is always stunning, the food is just amazing & plentiful & the splendour of the hotel is breathtaking, make sure you book around 2 weeks before the day you want to have your afternoon tea it really is that popular !, after tea take a stroll along the river to the rear of the hotel for a romantic walk, take Mozzi spray though, you have been warned !!. Make sure you take a good look into the water, don't miss the huge catfish that rise to the surface every few seconds, it's facinating !!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonymr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2014

I've stayed here when I travelled to Bangkok for a few times. This time I tried their Mandarin Room and also their Executive Suite - good as always. I particularly like their Mandarin Room, which is spacious. But what continues to impress is their service - unbeatable!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,638 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 891 in Bangkok
4,568 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: RM1,731 - RM3,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing