We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$76
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$172
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banyan Tree Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$197
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GLOW Pratunam(Bangkok)
US$135
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam(Bangkok)
US$116
US$105
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,669)
Filter reviews
4,669 results
Traveller rating
3,990
488
120
38
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,990
488
120
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo baracross the riverfloor butlerauthor's loungechina housesala rim naamlord jimbest hotels in the worldgrand dameriverside terracegarden wingthai restaurantbutler serviceview of the riverchao phraya riverhotel boatpool staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,803 - 2,808 of 4,669 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2009

What an amazing hotel! It's not the standard of the hotel in itself - although that is certainly very high too, with it's classic and luxurious style. But it is the amazing level of service with the constant, unobtrusive attention to the guests that really sets it apart from any other hotel I've stayed in!
It's a very comfortable and extremely well kept hotel, but like any other big luxury hotel, the authentic feel of Thailand is somewhat missing, especially on the food side. The hotel restaurants are good, but made for an international/western palate. Those interested can always find authenticity in the small alleys/sois just outside the hotel, sprinkled with local food stalls, shops and food markets.
The Oriental's location is central and very good, on the Chao Praya river, with hotel boats constantly crossing the river to the hotel's spa, fitness center etc, and also taking you to the nearby Skytrain station, if you want to avoid the limousine being caught in traffic.
The hotel's history and the level of service at the Oriental is an experience, and definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed here as part of our honey moon and founf this hotel truly amazing. Right from stepping out of the taxi when we were presented with fresh flowers and welcoming door staff. Check in was easy and we were in our room in minutes. The rooms themselves are quite luxurious with a king size bed and good view of the river. After being in our room for less than a few minutes our butler introduced himself and brought us a refreshing drink each - there is a button at the side of the bed to call him should you need anything else during your stay!

We were invited to a complementary cocktail party in the Authors Lounge which was great - free flowing drinks and canapes accompanied by a guy on a piano.

Breakfast was brilliant and was served by the side of the river which was a nice way to start the day.

This hotel is posh and doesn't like people in shorts after 6pm and there are signs in the door to warn back packers to stay away. You have to wear a robe to the hotel pool (which is also great) as walking down in your swimming trunks would be frowned upon! Prices are quite high for food and drink but then this is supposed to be one of the best hotels in the world. We ate in the Chinese restaurant which is part of the complex and the food was excellent as was the setting - I would highly recommend it.

Location wise it is next to the river but not much else - Bangkok is such a spralling city I cant imagine any of the hotels being that close to everything!

All in all, the hotel staff cant do enough for you, even to the extent of not letting you turn your own key to the room door! However, it is expensive but definitely worth it for a treat!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulh454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

If you can afford to stay here, it's a 'must do' in Bangkok. We stayed in the Gore Vidal suite on the 14th floor, which had sensational views of the river and a spacious, plush interior - very indulgent!

Was a little surprised to find crumbs on the lounge and a long black hair in the basin when we checked in....but from thereon, cleaning was more acceptable.

The butler was very attentive (perhaps a bit too enthusiastic at times, as we found ourselves creeping along the hallway on the odd occasion in an effort to avoid his attention!). To be fair, we may have utilised his services more appropriately had we been there on business - but being on the last stint of our holiday, we had no shoes suitable for polishing nor clothes worth washing. Still he did book us a very good table at Le Normandie - which we thoroughly enjoyed - highly recommended if you can afford to pay a bit extra.

In room dining was excellent (the roast chicken and pea soup with truffle oil were very yummy) and food at the Verandah and terrace was also exceptional.

Service was very attentive and friendly - they obviously train their people to use guest surnames associated with room numbers, as everyone seemed to know who we were - and as a bonus, it wasn't stuffy or pretentious.

The limousine service offered was worthwhile - providing a very relaxing, hassle-free transfer to and from the airport.

After reading some of the trip advisor reviews, I was a little concerned that this hotel may have been a bit too serious about itself and that the staff would be 'legends within their own hotel' - but I was relieved to find that this wasn't the case. Service is excellent and without attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This was the last stop of our honeymoon last november and what a way to finish it off. Without doubt one if not the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The service was fantastic and this was tested with the issues surrounding the closure of the airport at the time due to the political protests. We were delayed for 4 days and the staff were great with regular updates and in the end it was the hotel who offered us a place on a chater flight out of the country. We could have still been there until christmas had this not been the case, although when we got home we wondered why we left. We could have stayed here for months. Service was second to none. We loved the pool area and spa. The hotel is luxury personified and there is not much more you can say.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyGilmore101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

After staying two nights at this world renowned property, I can only say that it is only the brand that remains now. I was literally pained to see the legendary charm of this hotel just vanishing in thin air. All the staff I met, except the housekeeping, had a certain air of superiority. Once I arrived at the hotel, the bellboy didn't even offer to carry my bag..(because I arrived in a taxi? ) and after check in I was directed to the elevator by a swing of the hand..Do you mind escorting me to the room ? This in the very beginning made me upset. After that at every encounter with the staff, right from the restaurant (Le Normandie) to Concierge, I could feel a distinct condescending attitude.The facilities, especially the spa was great though! But I was really put off by the staff attitude and would like the management to look into it to restore its old glory.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pheerakarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews