We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #3 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed.

Outstanding service throughout the hotel including - butler services, housekeeping, restaurants, pool, concierge, check in and reception.

Excellence at its best.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to room with a view of the river ! Well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AABTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear AABTravel,

Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is a true delight to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel as well as to learn that you received amazing service provided by our colleagues.

Once again, we appreciate your generous feedback and hope to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok for another memorable stay.
Best wishes,

Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 4,394 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel, never dissapoonts me.
Excellent staff, solved any single issue at the moment. Beautiful riverside restaurants and easy access to key spots in the city. Peaceful room for an excellent night rest.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rinty2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Rinty2015,

Thank you very much for sharing a feedback following your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and all the information you've shared for future guests.

We are pleased to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us as well as our rooms and riverside restaurants. We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok for another memorable stay.

Best wishes,

Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We read before we booked that this was the best hotel in Bangkok and it didn't disappoint. The attention to detail, service levels and general quality were world class. The staff were helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The view from the room was something else (we went for a deluxe city view) and they'd thought of every amenity. It was the little touches that made this hotel, e.g. everyday they would place a new bowl of exotic fruit in your room with a note/ factsheet on what it was and how to eat it. The hotel bar felt like an old 'cigar and whisky' place and a live lounge/ jazz singer completed the atmosphere. Breakfast was wide and varied, catering to every taste. Ironically, the best Thai food was not in the hotel, but plenty of little restaurants nearby if you don't mind a 5-10 minute walk. The chauffeur service is expensive but the car and driver are worth the cash. It also has a boat service which will take you in to Asiatique (with one change). Although there were some kids around, the hotel catered very much to adults, so perfect for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Odette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Odette B,

On behalf of the entire team at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, we thank you very much for the time you have taken to share this detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are grateful for your kind words.

It is a true delight to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel as well as to learn that you were impressed with the service rendered by our colleagues. We await with pleasure the opportunity to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok again in the not too distance future.

Best wishes,

Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

One of the top notch hotels in Bangkok and the world. It is unique in its style and represents a bit yesterday's glory. Most recognized top hotels of today are very different style tending to a much more modern design. The Mandarin Oriental though conserves their own colonial Chic interior, combined lush greens and garden and impeccable service level. That is appreciated. But it also comes with a price level. And at the value side the amazing Grand old hotel loses quite some ground to St. Regis and Co in Bangkok. Personally I bring my money to one of the other top 5 star hotels where the rooms and suites are bigger, have a better layout and provide a more homey feeling. If you are in the quest to get away from that and enjoy being transported into a different time the Mandarin Oriental is maybe the best option in Bangkok of not one in the world to do so... For a price.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank MZPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear MZPP,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely delighted to learn that you had enjoyed our property, the service rendered by our colleagues as well as our history.

We will make sure that our standards of service are maintained and continually improved to meet and exceed your expectations during your future visits. On the behalf of our team, I hope to welcome you back at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok very soon.

Best wishes,

Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Went back to the MO after 10 years. At that time my experience was not so good, but their service has improved so much. Wow! From the fast track at the airport to the flawless check-in, butler service, front desk and restaurants: they all definitely deserve their 5 stars or more. The location is still one of a kind: at the riverfront, and right in the city centre where you can easily walk to shops and restaurants. Stayed in the river wing, where it's easy to imagine the hotel's historic past. Highlight was the oriental tea service, high tea adapted to thai cuisine. One area for improvement might be the pool: completely overtaken by screaming and splashing children. So much that my iPad on which I was trying to read a book got almost 'drowned' by their splashes. A quiet adult pool would certainly be an asset.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CateauNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Hotel Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear CateauNL,

It is such a pleasure for us to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest and I am pleased to hear that you were impressed with our Oriental service, the food, as well as the quality of the hotel facilities. Your comment on the pool is well noted and will be taken on board for future improvement.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and we already look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes,

Franck Droin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 890 in Bangkok
8,630 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 890 in Bangkok
4,565 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 890 in Bangkok
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: RM1,725 - RM3,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing